Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Trying to update to 10.15.4. Have updated clover, lilu, whatevergreen, and AppleALC. After the first reboot it continued for a while then failed with some message about Bless could set boot device property or something like that. I restarted and booted from the install volume and it then failed with "Mac OS could not be installed... The installer resources were not found.... Any ideas?
Try this:
  • Reboot.
  • At the Clover Boot Menu, choose the option to Boot macOS from Catalina (do not choose the "install" option).
  • Sign in and go to About this Mac.
  • What version is running?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
70
Motherboard
Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Trying to update to 10.15.4. Have updated clover, lilu, whatevergreen, and AppleALC. After the first reboot it continued for a while then failed with some message about Bless could set boot device property or something like that. I restarted and booted from the install volume and it then failed with "Mac OS could not be installed... The installer resources were not found.... Any ideas?

Try to wait after the first install. It looks like it fails. Just wait till the computer totaly shuts down. Hit the power button after the shutdown. Welcome screen appears. Maybe this helps!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Try this:
  • Reboot.
  • At the Clover Boot Menu, choose the option to Boot macOS from Catalina (do not choose the "install" option).
  • Sign in and go to About this Mac.
  • What version is running?
It says 10.15.4! Weird! Can I trust that? Everything seems to be running OK. If it's all good, how do I go about deleting the boot volume for "Install"

Edit: I never saw a welcome screen. Wasn't asked to sign in to iCloud etc.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900KS
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX580
Run the pump at full speed all the time, set the rest of the fans to run on normal should be enough as they will ramp up to top speed if the CPU calls for it.

What kind of thermal paste did you use?

Is the pump running?

Will try to set the pump to maximum. I can't really tell if the pump is running, but it seems so. There's nothing visual at the pump itself that shows pump action. The iCue app (when I boot windows) can read pump rpm around ~800, but there's no way to know for sure.

I ordered some new thermal paste (Arctic MX4). I was using the pre-applied one from Corsair.

Is that the price we pay for 8 cores pegged to 5 GHz!!?? :) Some things to check:
  • Does the Corsair come with pre-applied thermal paste? I tend to wipe the stock thermal paste and replace it with a high quality alternative. I've tried both Arctic MX-4 and Thermal Grisly (either Kyronaut or Conductonaut).
  • Do the fans and pump on the Corsair appear to ramp up and down in accordance with dynamic load?
  • What temps do you see under more idle conditions? Such as when simply browsing this website?
Here's my test bench with an Intel i5-9600K (6 cores, no hyper threading). CPU temps never exceeded 43C on a single BeQuiet! Dark Rock air cooler with one fan.

View attachment 456893

Thank you Casey! I'll try to use a new thermal paste, ordered some Arctic MX-4. The fans are ramping up and down when I push the CPU but there's no way to know if the pump is following them. In idle conditions it's around 38 celsius.

I'll try the new thermal and report back.

Additionally, I've been having trouble accessing iCloud preferences in System Preferences. I get a "could not load iCloud preference pane" message.

There may also be an issue with mounting pressure.
Personally I just resolved some temperature issues with my Kraken X72. Turns out the standoffs included in the 1151 mounting kit are a tiny bit too high and thus prevent proper contact with the CPU heatspreader. It's enough to where cooling works but contact is not optimal and performance suffers.
I fixed this problem by adding a set of washers between the backplate and the motherboard, which increased pressure sufficiently.
I went from running in the high 90's to low 80's without changing anything else (this is with the processor at 5.1GHz all-core drawing about 200 Watts).
From your screenshot I see you're pulling about 170 Watts, which the cooler should be able to stomach, so if you've checked all other things already mentioned by Casey, mounting pressure would be my next guess.
Given that most AIOs are based on Asetek units, I suspect this may be your issue here as well.

I'll check on that too. I remember needing to apply some pressure when tightening the screws of the CPU block, but who knows. Thank you!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,942
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Will try to set the pump to maximum. I can't really tell if the pump is running, but it seems so. There's nothing visual at the pump itself that shows pump action. The iCue app (when I boot windows) can read pump rpm around ~800, but there's no way to know for sure.

I ordered some new thermal paste (Arctic MX4). I was using the pre-applied one from Corsair.

I'll check on that too. I remember needing to apply some pressure when tightening the screws of the CPU block, but who knows. Thank you!

Does the Mac ICue app not pick up the pump have you tried?

Most pumps are not meant to throttle up and down they are meant to run at a steady speed and kept there. I have H105 I only have 8700k cpu but I never see over 30c on Geekbench. Thermal paste is really important with your CPU but I think the pump can run faster then that min runs at 1600 and that your AIO should keep it around 80c under load.

If your mount is anything like mine, I am guessing that it is... You will not need much pressure just tighten them evenly. If the pump feels solid and is not jiggling then it is tight enough if its moving around then keep going.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It says 10.15.4! Weird! Can I trust that? Everything seems to be running OK. If it's all good, how do I go about deleting the boot volume for "Install"

Edit: I never saw a welcome screen. Wasn't asked to sign in to iCloud etc.
We don't see a Welcome screen with this update. Do you have any Hackintosh kexts in /Library/Extensions?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
70
Motherboard
Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Trying to help. My installation went really weird. So thats why I post this. When booted volume from SSD I took a long time to install and it also didnt show the verbose screen. I just looked like my system shut down after install. When I pushed the power button the welcome screen was there. So Again maybe this helps. Weirdest install I had ever. After that install went fine. System works great.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ,

Any thoughts regarding the note in my 'spoiler'?

Thank you!
Are you using a flashed GC-Titan Ridge? If so, is it a modified NVM 23 or modified NVM 43?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
223
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
Are you using a flashed GC-Titan Ridge? If so, is it a modified NVM 23 or modified NVM 43?
It is not flashed. I don't have a backup so I am not confident to do so. I believe the latest driver flashed it to NVM43
 
Top