Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello! Really appreciate you help! In my case the issue was in BIOS settings – I switched 'TBT Host Router' to 'One port' and enabled 'Thunderbolt Boot Support' – don't know which one of these two solved the issue.

X3hsoSZ.png
It might be Thunderbolt Boot Support, because TBT Host Router should be set to Two Ports unless you want to sacrifice the second port! But good to know that the device is finally connecting.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,719
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @dadest,

My understanding of UAD's Thunderbolt-based Apollo devices is that they do not need to operate on USB 2.0. So HS08 and HS13 are not needed. Your latest settings look okay (there is no HS08 or HS13).

But we typically have to do this:
  • Install latest UAD macOS drivers.
  • Install latest UAD firmware on the Apollo itself.
If any UAD Apollo owners are reading this, please provide some connection advice...

Here I am! I think you've got them all listed.

You'll here a few clicks as it connects and matches the sample rate your computer is asking for. I believe it's about 3 clicks. When you only here two it's a no go.

I used to have to unplug the computer and drain the caps then turn on the Apollo until all the clicks happen. Then plug in the computer and boot.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
131
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Casey, first of all I want to thank for all your work. Built my hackintosh this last week and it was a smooth build and install thanks to you. My UAD Apollo has been working flawlessly, which was my main concern.

I would like to ask you about temps.

My build is using the 9900KS with a AOI Corsair H115i PRO all inside a Raidmax Delta Prime case.

The radiator is mounted in the front pushing hot air out. I've replaced the radiators fans to Noctua ones. And the original fans are on top of the case pulling air from the outside. And there's another fan in the back push air out.

But even though there are 5 fans running, my CPU goes to 100 celsius when benchmarking using Geekbench, Cinebench, and when running Folding@Home to help medicine. The fans runs faster, I've changed the fan curves in BIOS and they seem to follow the curve, but is not enough to prevent the CPU from getting to 100 celsius.

Is it normal? Am I doing something wrong?

Thank you again.

There may also be an issue with mounting pressure.
Personally I just resolved some temperature issues with my Kraken X72. Turns out the standoffs included in the 1151 mounting kit are a tiny bit too high and thus prevent proper contact with the CPU heatspreader. It's enough to where cooling works but contact is not optimal and performance suffers.
I fixed this problem by adding a set of washers between the backplate and the motherboard, which increased pressure sufficiently.
I went from running in the high 90's to low 80's without changing anything else (this is with the processor at 5.1GHz all-core drawing about 200 Watts).
From your screenshot I see you're pulling about 170 Watts, which the cooler should be able to stomach, so if you've checked all other things already mentioned by Casey, mounting pressure would be my next guess.
Given that most AIOs are based on Asetek units, I suspect this may be your issue here as well.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some results after using your Clover EFI on my Test Bench:
  • When I first booted the system with your Clover EFI, my Thunderbolt port speeds were reduced to 20 Gbps and DSB1/DSB4 device trees corresponding to Thunderbolt ports 1 and 2 would not populate.
  • At first I tried to isolate the problem by editing out and modifying various elements of your SSDT, but eventually gave up.
  • Then I replaced only your Thunderbolt SSDT with mine, and everything worked.
  • This means that the Thunderbolt SSDT that we use in the main build guide does not work and should not be used after enabling Thunderbolt Bus.
Instead, please do this:
  • Download the Thunderbolt SSDT located in the Thunderbolt DROM Micro-Guide for Designare Z390.
  • Copy it as-is into the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder. (Let's stick with Clover for now.)
  • Move or delete the existing Thunderbolt SSDT from that folder.
  • Reboot and check System Information --> Thunderbolt. Feel free to post relevant screenshots with UIDs blacked-out.
  • Eventually, replace the UID with a custom UID.
View attachment 457011 View attachment 457012
I had put the old Thunderbolt SSDT back in the Clover folder after I had tried it already with the one from the DROM Micro-Guide (with a custom UID), because it had not worked. Sorry, I just forgot to replace it again, when I posted the folder. But good to know that the one from the main build guide will not work. I have tried it with the SSDT from the DROM-Micro-Guide for Designare Z390 as-it-is now. Same result :(
Bildschirmfoto 2020-03-25 um 22.16.12.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Done and just feel stupid. As I had to read the thread better. System is working really great except the shutdown. Is this normal? And if not. Maybe you can help. Thanks!
Shutdown time can vary a lot from system to system and even session to session. A shutdown time of 10 seconds is perfectly normal. It's shorter than my main Designare Z390 system.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had put the old Thunderbolt SSDT back in the Clover folder after I had tried it already with the one from the DROM Micro-Guide (with a custom UID), because it had not worked. Sorry, I just forgot to replace it again, when I posted the folder. But good to know that the one from the main build guide will not work. I have tried it with the SSDT from the DROM-Micro-Guide for Designare Z390 as-it-is now. Same result :(
View attachment 457037
Let me send you mine via Private Mail, so we can do an exact apples-to-apples comparison.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I just updated to Catalina 10.15.4, without problem.
Before I updated clover to 5107, weg lilu and appealc were at the lastest version.
At this moment everything seems works well
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
View attachment 457030View attachment 457031
I must also mention that i got it working by placing the SmallTreeIntel82576.kext in the Libraries /Extentions folder instead of the Clover/Kexts/Other folder which got me thinking maybe its something in my plist not injecting the kext , but wouldn't the other kexts also not work if that was the case ? when i did that i checked IORegistryExplorer again and there was another little branch under the FakePCIID showing the i211 linked also to the SmallTreeIntel82576 i have now removed the SmallTreeIntel82576.kext from Libraries /Extentions and placed it back into Clover/Kexts/Other and again the i211 dosent work ..
Please copy the attached kext to your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder and remove any other SmallTree kext. Then remove any USB install disk or MacOS backup disk and make sure the computer boots from the EFI folder of the correct internal macOS SSD.

After logging in, run Terminal and type this:
Code:
kextstat | grep -v apple
Please post screenshot.
 

Attachments

  • SmallTreeIntel82576.kext.zip
    71.5 KB · Views: 44
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
70
Motherboard
Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Shutdown time can vary a lot from system to system and even session to session. A shutdown time of 10 seconds is perfectly normal. It's shorter than my main Designare Z390 system.

actually weird because with every build shutdown was almost instant. After catalina it takes a longer time then what I was used to...Thanks for the reply!
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please copy the attached kext to your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder and remove any other SmallTree kext. Then remove any USB install disk or MacOS backup disk and make sure the computer boots from the EFI folder of the correct internal macOS SSD.

After logging in, run Terminal and type this:
Code:
kextstat -i | grep -v apple
Please post screenshot.
Screenshot 2020-03-25 at 11.41.39 PM.png
Thanks Casey Done and Done (Still dosen't work)
 
Top