Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
  • Are you installing Catalina or Mojave?
  • What version of Clover are you using? (At the Clover Boot Menu press F1 to see version.)
  • What is the make/model of your monitor?
  • Are you connecting via HDMI or DisplayPort?
  • You may also compress and upload the CLOVER folder from EFI partition of the USB install disk.
I am trying to install Mojave 10.14.6
Clover Version : Global Edition 5.9.1.0
Monitor is Samsung 27 inch curved display, Model Code : LC27F591FDWXXL, Version no: FD08
Iam Connecting via HDMI of MSI RX 580
EFI is attached.

Thanks for looking into my issues.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 41

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am trying to install Mojave 10.14.6
Clover Version : Global Edition 5.9.1.0
Monitor is Samsung 27 inch curved display, Model Code : LC27F591FDWXXL, Version no: FD08
Iam Connecting via HDMI of MSI RX 580
EFI is attached.

Thanks for looking into my issues.
Your configuration looks fine, but some suggestions:
  • Lilu and WhateverGreen are old versions. Please update to latest versions from here and here.
  • Please check Clover version by pressing F1 at the Clover Boot Menu.
    • Global Edition 5.9.1.0 refers to Clover Configurator, not Clover boot loader!
  • Which version of UniBeast did you use to create the USB Install Disk?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Sapphire RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
THANK YOU all so much for this guide

Just finished my first build using this guide and after a minimal amount of troubleshooting it seems everything works! So far the only thing weird is the dock behavior. Autohide doesn't quite work (dock hide/unhide requires a mouse click) and magnification doesn't work
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
THANK YOU all so much for this guide

Just finished my first build using this guide and after a minimal amount of troubleshooting it seems everything works! So far the only thing weird is the dock behavior. Autohide doesn't quite work (dock hide/unhide requires a mouse click) and magnification doesn't work
Glad to hear it. Are you using the right settings in System Preferences --> Dock?
Screen Shot 2020-02-14 at 9.54.02 AM.png
Regarding your profile:
  • Please enter your motherboard make or model name such as "Designare Z390".
  • And the type of AMD GPU such as RX 580.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Sapphire RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the reply,

Yeah, the settings are OK and the dock works(ish). It just won't appear unless I mouse click on the edge where the dock is docked. Mouse over just doesn't' seem to do it.

A more complete profile in progress complete.
 
Last edited:

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
Your configuration looks fine, but some suggestions:
  • Lilu and WhateverGreen are old versions. Please update to latest versions from here and here.
  • Please check Clover version by pressing F1 at the Clover Boot Menu.
    • Global Edition 5.9.1.0 refers to Clover Configurator, not Clover boot loader!
  • Which version of UniBeast did you use to create the USB Install Disk?
i will update the lilu and WhateverGreen to the latest.
I couldn't find the clover version anywhere after pressing the F1. However on the right corner of the screen its written "5102, booted from EFI"
UniBeast Version is 9.3.0

also attaching the screen before the Blank white screen (Mouse pointer is visible, but it vanishes if clicked any button).
at this point the Graphics card's Fans stop working.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200214_231713.jpg
    IMG_20200214_231713.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 38

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,201
Your configuration looks fine, but some suggestions:
  • Lilu and WhateverGreen are old versions. Please update to latest versions from here and here.
  • Please check Clover version by pressing F1 at the Clover Boot Menu.
    • Global Edition 5.9.1.0 refers to Clover Configurator, not Clover boot loader!
  • Which version of UniBeast did you use to create the USB Install Disk?
I got it. Clover version is 2.5k rev 5102.
Build: 2019-12-30
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got it. Clover version is 2.5k rev 5102.
Build: 2019-12-30
In the CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, you have VirtualSMC.kext but you're missing these two:
  • SMCProcessor.kext
  • SMCSuperIO.kext
Both of these are in the same ZIP file as VirtualSMC. You can download the ZIP from here.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey,

I thought this might be the fix for my one last little issue...

I have a Radeon VII and I need to use integrated graphics to drive my 3rd monitor. Programs like Final cut and others know to use the Radeon VII but for some reason, Fusion 360 wants to use the intel integrated. I thought this might be my fix, but as you can see, my card is called "AMD Radeon VII" (so first alphabetically). Is there any other way to tell a program not to use the IGPU? There is no configuration for that in Fusion 360
There are 2 parts to this answer that I can find:
  • In Activity Monitor --> Energy we can check whether an app is utilizing a high-performance GPU. If the Requires High Perf GPU is Yes, then the app is already using the Discrete GPU.
    macos-high-sierra-activity-monitor-requires-high-perf-gpu.jpg
  • In Finder, select your application and choose File--> Get Info. Some applications will let you select a GPU here, but I have not tested this myself. It may only work with eGPU. It's explained by Apple here.
    Screen Shot 2020-02-14 at 11.10.37 AM.png
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
I9
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folder contains VirtualSmc.efi, but your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder contains FakeSMC.kext. This is a mismatch.

It would be a good idea to:
  • Backup the system.
  • Then switch to VirtualSMC instead of FakeSMC.
Please follow the mini-guide for this, located here.

Thank you brother everything is working A1 now! Many thanks!

Is there a guide on how to keep your Hackintosh up to date with all the kext, drivers, clover, etc etc ?
 
Top