Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
1
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Hi @kwalter,

I have a question, I have a similar problem.

Did you solve the problem:
2019-08-08 09:21:17.292246+0100 0x71 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (AppleACPIPlatform) [\_TZ.TZ10._STA] (Node ffffff8051c06b10)
2019-08-08 09:21:17.292247+0100 0x71 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (AppleACPIPlatform) [\_TZ.TZ10._STA] (Node ffffff8051c06b10)


Thanks for the help.
 

z4k

Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hmmm, since you have it used, I'd verify the VBIOS are not modified, this could be causing the issues you are talking about, such as fan curves or a corrupt VBIOS that won't launch.

OK something quite strange is happening. The fan "problem" still exists as I mentioned it.

The "Quiet" BIOS on my RX580 which I mentioned earlier didn't work with CSM off, turns out that it works BUT The red light (VGA) on my Designare z390 stays lit and nothing is displayed on the screen until I get to the MacOS login. Not even BIOS screen, no macOS loading nothing. The VGA light on the MoBo remains lit all the way through. Any ideas what that might be? (Checked the clocks on both modes, they are as expected so chances of modified VBIOS are lower)

Fan still never goes higher than 25% (in my standard "Performance" Bios of the GPU) even at 75 degrees. :crazy:

Maybe it’s just the aggressive MacOS fan curve, waiting to ramp up at something like 80? Or is it not communicating correctly with the OS? How are your RX 580 nitro+ special Edition fans spinning?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2019
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, if the user changes the status of the MSR to unlock the NVRAM feature will this also effect the boot volume disk of a Windows partition drive installed on a separate SSD? When the user turns off the msr to 0x0 from 0x1 on the Designare motherboard, would it not also disable the NVRAM on the eGPU or iGPU when booting in a normal windows environment? I hope someone who has a NVRAM eGPU or iGPU and installed BIOS f9b and disabled or changed the msr state to 0x0 and can confirm this does not effect anything on the Windows side as I'm sure other users also have a stable Windows boot drive installed on a SSD on the Designare motherboard.

Please anyone with any information on touching or editing the BIOS can confirm with me everything does work as normal? I would like to proceed, but with warnings and cautions before I edit the BIOS EFI file.

-THANKS IN ADVANCED
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,018
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@xanderevo,

Let's see if the community can help. It seems you've already tried some of the suggestions that have worked in the past:
  • Disable XMP or reduce memory speed to 2666 MHz or 2933 MHz
  • Disable on-board audio
Some questions so others can also help:
  • If you've turned off on-board audio, through which device are you playing audio?
    • HDMI or DisplayPort audio through your monitor?
    • Sound card? If so:
      • Which make/model?
      • How are speakers connected to the sound card?
        • RCA, XLR, ?
  • If you remove the sound card and use on-board audio, do the pops/clicks still occur?

Yeah, do all of that and more:

It sounds like a sample rate change. Like when you open a DAW that has a locked sample rate at 44.1 KHz and you accidentally open another DAW that was last locked at 48 KHz, etc.

Are you using that Clover driver that loads the "startup sound" -IDK what bitrate that file is, nor its sample rate. I'd remove any startup sounds for a DAW machine. Also, disable any and all user feedback sounds, then select "Tink" as the alert sound, then yank the volume slider to zero. FWIW, I never sleep my machines. It's just trouble for audio devices.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
46
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Hmm, I re-checked that just now and it looks like both parameters are set as needed. Could it be that F9b vs F8 is causing the issue? Maybe with some new option toggled somewhere... Here is a picture of the Thunderbolt BIOS page. View attachment 448815
@CaseySJ just in case my reply got buried. I bet it must be a miscongfigured setting on my part (though which, I'm not sure), but it is worth raising in case something deeper/more interesting is going on.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
511
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Agreed! And only a hard reboot makes this happen. A proper reboot (Apple Menu --> Reboot) is not sufficient...

Correct -- ThunderboltConfig is being used by macOS drivers.

Not sure I understand. Which bytes should be 01 and 02?
<00 02 1c 00 02 00 05 03 01 00 04 00 05 03 02 00 03 00 05 03 01 00 00 00 03 03 02 00 03 00 04 00>

I spent most of the time trying to understand why CRMW was failing -- and it is still failing! :) Nevertheless, I attempted to hot plug bot TB3 and USB-C, but unfortunately the system hanged as before with more or less the same ACPI Debug Log messages.

I believe there is something quite wrong in CRMW. Here is a partial log from a cold boot just a few minutes ago:

2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "TBT & USBC already on."
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "UGIO Exit"
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "PCED UPSB- restored flag, THUNDERBOLT_PCI_LINK_MGMT_DEVICE.PRSR"
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: 0x0
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "PCED UPSB- Wait for config space..."
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: { "PCED UPSB- Read VID/DID =", 0x15ea8086, }
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "UPSB PCED Exit"
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "CRMW Enter"
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "CRMW Read Value1"
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: 0x34021
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: "CRMW Write Value1"
2020-02-08 03:30:50. ACPIDebug: 0x4034021

...9 second gap...and CRMW does not return...There should be 2 calls to CRMW from UPSB._PS0()...

2020-02-08 03:30:59. ACPIDebug: { "RTPC NHI0 called with arg: ", 0x0, }
2020-02-08 03:30:59. ACPIDebug: "_PS3 NHI0, Nothing to do!"
2020-02-08 03:30:59. ACPIDebug: "_PS3 DSB0"
2020-02-08 03:30:59. ACPIDebug: "DSB0 PCDA"

As shown in spoiler below, I added a Mutex and extra logging to CRMW.
Code:
            Method (CRMW, 5, Serialized)
            {
                 Acquire (CRMX, 0xFFFF)
//                 Sleep (200) // sleep 200ms to wait for ACPI Debug to catch up (or something like that!)
                Local1 = One
                DBG1 ("CRMW Enter")
                If (((GGOV (FPG0) == FP0L) && (\_SB.PCI0.RP05.UPSB.AVND != 0xFFFFFFFF)))
//                If ((\_SB.PCI0.RP05.UPSB.AVND != 0xFFFFFFFF))
                {
                    Local3 = Zero
                    While ((Local3 <= 0x04))
                    {
                        Local2 = CIOR (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2)
                        If ((DerefOf (Local2 [Zero]) == Zero))
                        {
                            Local2 = DerefOf (Local2 [One])
                            DBG1 ("CRMW Read Value1")
                            DBG1 (Local2)
                            Local2 &= ~Arg4
                            Local2 |= Arg3
                            DBG1 ("CRMW Write Value1")
                            DBG1 (Local2)
                            Local2 = CIOW (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Local2)
                            If ((Local2 == Zero))
                            {
                                Local2 = CIOR (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2)
                                If ((DerefOf (Local2 [Zero]) == Zero))
                                {
                                    Local2 = DerefOf (Local2 [One])
                                    DBG1 ("CRMW Read Value2")
                                    DBG1 (Local2)
                                    Local2 &= Arg4
                                    If ((Local2 == Arg3))
                                    {
                                        DBG1 ("CRMW Success")
                                        Local1 = Zero
                                        Break
                                    }
                                    Else
                                    {
                                        DBG1 ("CRMW Mismatch with Arg3")
                                    }
                                }
                                Else
                                {
                                    DBG1 ("DerefOf second CIOR != Zero")
                                }
                            }
                        }
                        Else
                        {
                            DBG1 ("DerefOf first CIOR != Zero")
                        }

                        Local3++
                        Sleep (0x64)
                    }
                }
                Else
                {
                    DBG1 ("CRMW - UPSB.AVND == 0xFFFFFFFF")
                }
                DBG1 ("CRMW Exit")
                 Release (CRMX)
                Return (Local1)
            }

Thanks! Will do this now.
Hi @CaseySJ
You should also try make a Reset when booting with no devices connected and see If TNode/ TBus appears.

About ThunderboltConfig trying patch, this is the last following bytes :
replace : <00 02 1c 00 02 00 05 03 01 00 04 00 05 03 02 00 03 00 05 03 01 00 00 00 03 03 02 00 03 00 04 00>
by : <00 02 1c 00 02 00 05 03 01 00 04 00 05 03 02 00 03 00 05 03 01 00 00 00 03 03 02 00 01 00 02 00>
I don't think that Mutex is needed or something like Sleep () for ACPIDebug, you should only modify included PLIST file on ACPIDebug by changing PollingInterval property value from 100 to 10. As default, I might be at 100ms polling time. Changing to 10ms might improve Debug log.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
511
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Wow thank you so much. I'm excited to play along and understand more as you all work. Just to recap.

Replace _L6F in DSDT with XL6F. (Found it by searching "Method (_L6F")

Replace the GPE method content on the SSDT with your new content above.

Change these:
FPGO to FPGN
FPLV to FP0L


Correct?
Hi @NorthAmTransAm
half right half wrong !
Change these:
FPGO to FPGN >> Right
FPLV to FP0L >> Wrong
rather FP0L to FPLV
There is two variable couple for Tbt Force power, depending on ACPI Bios firmware:
either FPG0/FP0L (this a zero, not O)
or FPGN/FPLV
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
511
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Ok now I'm getting it! So would we call this one 35?

BTW, this is most a learning experiment. I have a spare EX3 card and want to be familiar with this stuff. Thanks!

View attachment 448934
@NorthAmTransAm
You have an Alpine Ridge card, you shouldn't try modifying Thunderbolt firmware, TNode/Tbus should appears with only right SSDT-TbtOnPch.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus Dominus Extreme
CPU
3175X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
How the SSDT-TbtOnPch should be configured for Alpine Ridge PCIe? @Elias64Fr
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64 + RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hei @CaseySJ thank you for your very good build description. I managed to have my first Hackintosh/PC built done and its running pretty stable for about half a year now.
Everything was working perfectly with exception of Thunderbolt Bridge and DRM/Netflix on Safari which doesn't bother me cause I use my Ipad for this anyway so I can watch in 4k.
All my Thunderbolt Audio Interfaces (Clarett 2Pre TB2, UAD Apollo Twin TB2) work with hotplug without any problems, also daisychaining them via the UAD DSP works fine. I also tried my old Presonus Firestudio mobile Firewire Audio Interface and it workt with the Apple TB3->TB2 , TB2->Firewire 800 , Firewire 800->Fire 400 adapters. I also managed to connect my Presonus Studiolive 32R Mixer via AVB (Audio Video Bridging) but only via the Thunderbolt 3 Port (TB3->TB2 and TB2->Ethernet Adapter).
I also didn't have any Problems with any Updates and dual boot with Windows 10, with Windows and MacOs installed on separate NWME SSDs Windows on Disk 0 and MacOs on Disk 1.

But since a few days after I changed some things my WIFI card isn't working anymore. I changed everything I knew back but it's still not working. The Problem is that I can't activate the Wifi even though the card shows up. Bluetooth is still working fine and so Handoff, but features like Sidecar and directly importing Fotos... from my ios device don't work anymore cause of the broken wifi. I have this card : WTXUP für Broadcom BCM94360CS2 1200 Mbps 802.11ac PCI-E Wireless WiFi Adapter WLAN Karte Bluetooth 4,0 für MAC Hackintosh Windows and it worked fine till then. It's installed in the lowes pcie bus and to the internal USB hub. I tried different Kexts to fix it but could't get it back working.
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 11.57.57.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 11.57.57.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 99
  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 11.58.40.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 11.58.40.png
    921 KB · Views: 105
  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 11.59.23.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 11.59.23.png
    399.6 KB · Views: 105
  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 12.14.21.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-02-10 um 12.14.21.png
    495.3 KB · Views: 99
  • EFI.zip
    37.9 MB · Views: 161
Top