Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
New versions of AppleALC, Lilu, WEG, VirtualSMC are out. Will test later this week.
Seems like VirtualSmc.efi it's not included in latest update
VirtualSmc.efi is not needed any longer; its functionality is incorporated into the new OpenCore.efi.

Screen Shot 2020-01-13 at 9.21.11 AM.png


I'll update the OpenCore mini-guide in a day or two.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Also note that you should not use AptioMemoryFix.efi. Instead, use the latest OcQuirks/FwRuntimeServices from the ZIP file attached here. Just delete AptioMemoryFix.efi from CLOVER/drivers/UEFI and copy all three files from the attached ZIP into the same folder. You must have EmuVariableUefi.efi (or EmuVariableUefi-64.efi) as well.

Should I remove OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi too?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, after follow caerfully all steps, I


Should I remove OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi too?
Yes, we should remove that too.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Your profile must be filled out first before doing anything else as per the site rules.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/account/account-details

Should look something like this:

View attachment 444797

My apologies, updated and fixed. Any UAD users have any ideas for my issue? Re-quoted below for ease.

I have a Apollo x8p and an Octo Satellite. I'm getting the device not found error code -38 after 2 mins every time I open a loaded up session in Ableton with DSP usage 90%+. Any ideas on this?

My build is almost exactly the same apart from the processor being a 9900k. All my BIOS settings are what was recommended here. It seems like a bandwidth issue on the TB bus because the plugins will consistently drop off as if they can't see the device or something.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
After follow caerfully all USB creation steps (including OcQuirks-for-Designare-Z390 files), I have reached the same point as before:couldn't allocate rutime area.

Could be something related to recent downloaded LILu and WEG? I'm reading they'r not tested yet.

EDIT: with previous versions (december 2 releases) I get same error.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After follow caerfully all USB creation steps (including OcQuirks-for-Designare-Z390 files), I have reached the same point as before:couldn't allocate rutime area.

Could be something related to recent downloaded LILu and WEG? I'm reading they'r not tested yet.
Can you please post a screenshot of the CLOVER folder with the ACPI/patched, kexts/Other, and drivers/UEFI folders expanded?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can you please post a screenshot of the CLOVER folder with the ACPI/patched, kexts/Other, and drivers/UEFI folders expanded?

Yes! Thank you.

EDIT: removing virtualSMC.
EDIT2: virtualSMC removed, same error.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-01-13 19.04.06.png
    Screenshot 2020-01-13 19.04.06.png
    171.8 KB · Views: 68
  • config.plist.zip
    2.6 KB · Views: 37
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes! Thank you.

EDIT: removing virtualSMC
This looks okay.
  • Please check if slide=0 is included in config.plist --> Boot Arguments.
  • If slide=0 is present and you're still getting Couldn't allocate runtime area, then perhaps we should try OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi temporarily, as follows:
    • Delete the following:
      • OcQuirks.efi
      • OcQuirks.plist
      • FwRuntimeServices.efi
    • And add this one:
      • OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi
 
Top