Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
235
Motherboard
MSI GS75 Stealth 10SF - OC
CPU
i7-10750H
Graphics
Intel UHD graphics, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It’s not necessary to modify the default Gigabyte DSDT in any way for Windows (because it is already configured for Windows). But at this time OpenCore does not have an option to specify different configurations for different operating systems. Clover, for example, only injects SSDTs/DSDTs when booting macOS. A future version of OC might resolve this.


Man, and I was even willing to upgrade to F8 to give this a try... But as I have both Win 10 and 7 on here and need them operational, that's a no go... Please keep us posted on the development of this issue, as Clover is definitely not behaving for me now, won't boot the last booted volume option, which is annoying when you are testing and troubleshooting and having to constantly reboot to the same OS :)

Thanks guys for the work and effort put in thus far!
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
@CaseySJ - firstly thanks for all your hard work - I just completed my first Hack build - followed your guide & did a fresh install of Catalina 10.15.1. I love it and this thing is a beast.

Everything seems to be running great however I don’t seem to have anything showing in System Report for Thunderbolt. One of my main aims was to build a Thunderbolt 3 compatible so I can invest in a Thunderbolt RAID storage device. I don’t have a Thunderbolt 3 device to test with yet but under the system report it is totally blank.

I am running updated F8 BIOS on the Z390 and installed all of the files in your fresh Catalina install pack - am I missing something?

Thanks again!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
385
Motherboard
Asus X299 DELUXE II
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Modest contribution...

The memory is well recognized in 4 sticks of 32GB.
I used the hairyconipiton technique.
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2019-12-22 à 16.00.10.png
    Capture d’écran 2019-12-22 à 16.00.10.png
    42.4 KB · Views: 135
  • Capture d’écran 2019-12-22 à 16.03.54.png
    Capture d’écran 2019-12-22 à 16.03.54.png
    33.4 KB · Views: 150
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
200
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision D
CPU
i7k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It shows up under PCI . Your looking in the wrong place probably. Thanks


@CaseySJ - firstly thanks for all your hard work - I just completed my first Hack build - followed your guide & did a fresh install of Catalina 10.15.1. I love it and this thing is a beast.

Everything seems to be running great however I don’t seem to have anything showing in System Report for Thunderbolt. One of my main aims was to build a Thunderbolt 3 compatible so I can invest in a Thunderbolt RAID storage device. I don’t have a Thunderbolt 3 device to test with yet but under the system report it is totally blank.

I am running updated F8 BIOS on the Z390 and installed all of the files in your fresh Catalina install pack - am I missing something?

Thanks again!
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,161
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ - firstly thanks for all your hard work - I just completed my first Hack build - followed your guide & did a fresh install of Catalina 10.15.1. I love it and this thing is a beast.

Everything seems to be running great however I don’t seem to have anything showing in System Report for Thunderbolt. One of my main aims was to build a Thunderbolt 3 compatible so I can invest in a Thunderbolt RAID storage device. I don’t have a Thunderbolt 3 device to test with yet but under the system report it is totally blank.

I am running updated F8 BIOS on the Z390 and installed all of the files in your fresh Catalina install pack - am I missing something?

Thanks again!

This is normal. My TB works for lots of devices, yet system report shows nothing. Beware, stuff that needs proper TB networking will not work(eg NAS connected via TB)
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
200
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision D
CPU
i7k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Casey, system is a champ and looks awesome! I installed the MSI 5700 XT after borrowing a Powercolor, but I was wondering going forward if you think this card will cause problems every time I need to update the OS? I guess it’s hard to know these things but was thinking of getting a different card to reduce future grief. :)

Thanks for all your work! System is awesome!
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
@tdcam - Now I do feel a bit daft! yes there it is under PCI! Thanks....

Now time to research what Thunderbolt 3 storage to buy!
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,720
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The EFI was originally configured for use with the standard DSDT. After the modified version was posted by @hylkepylke all of those SSDTs became unnecessary except for Thunderbolt. (By the way I’m not sure if Thunderbolt hot plug works. It needs to be tested.)

That answers a lot for me, thanks.

FWIW, my Thunderbolt behavior remained consistent when switching to OC.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
74
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Man, and I was even willing to upgrade to F8 to give this a try... But as I have both Win 10 and 7 on here and need them operational, that's a no go... Please keep us posted on the development of this issue, as Clover is definitely not behaving for me now, won't boot the last booted volume option, which is annoying when you are testing and troubleshooting and having to constantly reboot to the same OS :)

Thanks guys for the work and effort put in thus far!
I am still on F6 with OC. Everything seems to work great. You can still use F12 in BIOS to boot to Windows. So far I can see lots of positives - e.g., long term sleep works flawlessly for the first time. It mostly worked with Clover, but I had occasional wakes in the middle of the night (with screens staying dark). Like @CaseySJ I miss some of Clover's bells and whistles, but not much.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2011
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hey @CaseySJ out of curiosity I got sucked down into the "learn more stuff" tunnel. Are you familiar with this log parser called Consolation? I just found it in the rabbit tunnel. Pretty cool tool. He's got some other stuff too like a xattr UI.

Hey @digumo and @CaseySJ - I checked the BIOS stuff and didn't see any discrepancies (or anything else that seems like an obvious candidate for a reason why bootup is so slow.

Non-kernel things like restoring apps - is that a likely cause?
 
Top