Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,382
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm a bit scared to continue with things like Messages, iCloud, FaceTime before nvram functions as it should. Furthermore, I need nvram to fully get OpenCore to work
Messages, FaceTime, and iCloud are working with Clover + EmuVariableUefi. Because EmuVariableUefi is incompatible with OpenCore, I agree that NVRAM is an issue there.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
113
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Messages, FaceTime, and iCloud are working with Clover + EmuVariableUefi. Because EmuVariableUefi is incompatible with OpenCore, I agree that NVRAM is an issue there.
I also want nvram to emulate a real Mac as much as possible: my old Hack and my laptop also have nvram working, I'm a bit scared of what might happen w/o it.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900k
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
In addition to Inject Intel, please add the fake ID in Devices (IntelGFX = 0x12345678) and set ig-platform-id to 0x3E9B0007 from the pop-up menu in the Graphics section of Clover Configurator and try again.

If it still fails, add the boot argument -wegoff and try again.

Right on, will try tonight. Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Because you have two 32GB DIMMs, the problem might be related to memory. Suggestions:
  • Remove one DIMM and run the macOS installer.
  • If it still fails, do you have 8GB or 16GB DDR4 DIMMs?
    • If so, try those instead of 32GB modules.
  • Let us know if it still fails.
Hey, thanks for the help.
Heres what i tried:
  • started from scratch with a new 16gb flash drive instead of the 32 i was using (no good)
  • used the catalina installer version of clover, along with replacing the files you suggested (no good)
  • tried booting with one stick of ram (slot a1, no good)
Will try tonight:
  • buying a brand new USB stick
  • going to try to use older ram I have laying around in a smaller package.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,382
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, thanks for the help.
Heres what i tried:
  • started from scratch with a new 16gb flash drive instead of the 32 i was using (no good)
  • used the catalina installer version of clover, along with replacing the files you suggested (no good)
  • tried booting with one stick of ram (slot a1, no good)
Will try tonight:
  • buying a brand new USB stick
  • going to try to use older ram I have laying around in a smaller package.
No need to buy another USB flash drive -- the problem is most likely elsewhere.

Is your motherboard on BIOS F6 or newer?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
No need to buy another USB flash drive -- the problem is most likely elsewhere.

Is your motherboard on BIOS F6 or newer?
One thing I noticed, and I've tried it both ways, but just thought id mention it. When you select the 19,1 model in the configuration tool, there's a NEW model that pops up that is different than the one that is shown in the first post. Not sure that would make a difference. Also, someone had mentioned to me at the office here that I may have to manually set the RAM speed in the BIOS. Could that be an issue if theres a mismatch or would the bios have picked that up automatically?
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
rx5700xt
Super excited about the success!
and thanks again for the port multiplier, getting one right now!
And yes, i can only install Catalina with the checked InjectIntel and fakeid as 0x12345678, just like @heyelly mentioned before.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,382
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Experimental Mini-Guide for swapping from Clover to OpenCore on Catalina 10.15.1

This guide is experimental, I haven't tested everything yet, I take no responsibility if this breaks your setup, use at your own risk. This is by no means ready for production, as a sysadmin would say.
...
Thank you for this guide. I expect to compare your setup against the one I created this past weekend, with an effort to make it work with an AMD 5700-series GPU. SMBIOS will be iMacPro1,1 because FwRuntimeServices continues be problematic with iGPU enabled. I'll also try iMac19,1 with iGPU disabled (yes, a Frankenstein configuration, but then all Hacks are Franks...).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,382
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Super excited about the success!
and thanks again for the port multiplier, getting one right now!
And yes, i can only install Catalina with the checked InjectIntel and fakeid as 0x12345678, just like @heyelly mentioned before.
Good feedback. When we set IntelGFX (under FakeID) to 0x12345678 and we enable InjectIntel, it disables the iGPU driver called AppleIntelFramebuffer. This means no iGPU acceleration and you may see various image artifacts on screen. But fear not because once Catalina is installed, we can go back and undo this (i.e. uncheck InjectIntel and remove 0x12345678). That should restore acceleration to the iGPU.

Will have to put this into the Catalina Mini-Guide shortly...

UPDATE: done.
 
Last edited:
Top