Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ wanted to post some thanks! I used your guide for a fresh Mojave build and everything went extremely smoothly.

What is the difference between the SSDT for your case and the one for the R6? I have the R6 USB-C case and I'm using your original one, everything is fine except for front USB 2.0 since the BT is plugged in there.
That's a good question!
  • At the time it was created, the Fractal Design USB SSDT was enabling both HS11 and HS12 (internal USB 2.0 header) to connect to the two front panel USB 2 ports, whereas the standard USB SSDT was not.
  • But as time went by, we updated the standard USB SSDT to also enable both HS11 and HS12.
  • So now it seems the two SSDTs are more or less the same. It's just a matter of defining which one is for external USB devices and which one is for internal USB devices.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please check the following:
  • In BIOS, is your IGPU's memory allocation set to at least 64MB?
    View attachment 439343
  • Then feel free to compress and upload the CLOVER folder from USB install disk with serial numbers removed from SMBIOS section of config.plist.

Just checked it, and my BIOS allocation is 64MB. I'm uploading a copy of my Clover folder. I was looking based on what you mentioned it your post above. I did not see anything in device properties in config?
 

Attachments

  • EFI iGPU CSJ.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 30
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
113
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX Vega 64
After a long while, I finally got around to getting OpenCore 0.5.3 working on this setup. Thunderbolt is not working, there's no entry under System Information -> PCI / Thunderbolt, but I don't currently use TB so that doesn't bother me. I've disable the iGPU (otherwise I couldn't get past the "error allocating pages" message) and I've switched to iMacPro1,1. Render speeds in Davinci Resolve as just as good as my previous Clover setup on iMac19,1 with iGPU and RX64. If anyone is interested I can write something up to get folks started on switching to OC?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There are just a handful of notable differences in this config.plist. Let me see if I can isolate the key ones. Will report back.

Feel free to post the config.plist from your USB install disk. The prerequisites for iGPU-based installation are:
  • No agdpmod=pikera argument
  • Framebuffer connector patches must be specified in Devices --> Properties, where:
    • Platform ID is set to 0x3E9B0007
    • Device ID is set to 0x3E9B
    • HDMI port is enabled at Index 3 (port 7) with BusID=0x04 and Type=HDMI
    • DP port at Index 1 (port 5) is changed to BusID=0x01
    • framebuffer-patch-enable is set to 0x01
  • WhateverGreen and Lilu are required
  • AMD GPU must be fully removed from the system
  • Connect monitor to HDMI port on rear IO panel

Ok! Here is my iGPU config.plist.

I looked into Device > Properties and I didn't find theses IDs that you mentioned, but I don't know if I'm looking in the right place and even the right things hahahahaha. I'm a complete noob in this part, can you show me a screenshot of it properly configured in clover configurator ?

WEG and Lilu are present in the Kext>Other.

The AMD GPU is fully removed and I switched the PSU off to power cycle it, the mobo's led even change to white when I power it back and it takes longer to boot.

I'm using the mobo's HDMI port, I can access the BIOS and even boot in windows using it, so it is not a connector problem.
 

Attachments

  • iGPU USB Disk config.plist
    7 KB · Views: 42
Joined
Oct 25, 2013
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This might indicate an ACPI error. When you're back, please do the following:
  1. Run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As... Then post that file.
  2. Post screenshots of:
    1. Clover Configurator --> Kernel and Kext Patches.
    2. Clover Configurator --> ACPI.

@CaseySJ

Issue is fixed, in the BIOS settings SATA was not set to AHCI. It was on IRST (Intel Rapid Storage...)
This was changed by something I've installed during the Windows Installation.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i7-9700k
Graphics
iGPU
Hello all,

this is my first Hackintosh build. I followed the mini guide on installing Catalina from scratch and almost everything seems to be working just fine. My goal is to use the PC for home audio recording.

I am using a Focusrite 2i2 2nd Gen Scarllett audio interface which is attached through the back USB ports. It is a 2.0 Audio interface. I have the issue that i am hearing crackling/noise through my studio monitors attached to the interface. The noise sounds like a ground loop hum. It is not there when i restart or turn on the computer but it becomes active some period of time. I noticed that it happens as soon as i launch Logic Pro X for example.

I do not hear the same noise when using headphones on the onboard sound card for example.

I am attaching my config.plist.

i am just using the iGPU over HDMI and no additional GPU is installed. I am also still waiting for the WIFI/Bluetooth card so i have it running on ethernet.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    8.5 KB · Views: 33

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok! Here is my iGPU config.plist.

I looked into Device > Properties and I didn't find theses IDs that you mentioned, but I don't know if I'm looking in the right place and even the right things hahahahaha. I'm a complete noob in this part, can you show me a screenshot of it properly configured in clover configurator ?

WEG and Lilu are present in the Kext>Other.

The AMD GPU is fully removed and I switched the PSU off to power cycle it, the mobo's led even change to white when I power it back and it takes longer to boot.

I'm using the mobo's HDMI port, I can access the BIOS and even boot in windows using it, so it is not a connector problem.
Okay, you're using the correct config.plist. Here's the relevant entry that enables iGPU. Now you know why I don't like to post CLOVER folders in build guides, because the whole thing becomes an opaque black box where no one knows what's inside the files and why...
Screen Shot 2019-12-08 at 8.41.20 AM.png

P.S. Have you made a full bootable backup yet???
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
rx5700xt
Been studying the gIOScreenState problem...
I added the injectIntel and fakeID as UHD630, 0x3E980003
updated to BIOS F8, followed the setup in #1, but with the DVMT allocated set to 128MB
and i also removed the fenvi wifi card and removed the device properties,
this time i got a new error, which is:
** In memory panic stackshot succeeded ** Bytes Traced 254992 **
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello all,

this is my first Hackintosh build. I followed the mini guide on installing Catalina from scratch and almost everything seems to be working just fine. My goal is to use the PC for home audio recording.

I am using a Focusrite 2i2 2nd Gen Scarllett audio interface which is attached through the back USB ports. It is a 2.0 Audio interface. I have the issue that i am hearing crackling/noise through my studio monitors attached to the interface. The noise sounds like a ground loop hum. It is not there when i restart or turn on the computer but it becomes active some period of time. I noticed that it happens as soon as i launch Logic Pro X for example.

I do not hear the same noise when using headphones on the onboard sound card for example.

I am attaching my config.plist.

i am just using the iGPU over HDMI and no additional GPU is installed. I am also still waiting for the WIFI/Bluetooth card so i have it running on ethernet.
Hello @darko1002001

Welcome to the forum and congratulations for getting Catalina up and running with just the iGPU. And this is your first Hackintosh! Honestly, I don't know why so many others can't get this simple little thing done! :) (yes I'm kidding; it's nice to be evil from time to time)
  • Please try connecting your Focusrite to a yellow USB port on the back. Those yellow ports are voltage regulated and may provide more stable current.
  • Believe it or not, I also have the same Focusrite 2i2 Scarlet. I've never even tried to connect it to the Hackintosh, but I'll do that shortly.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @darko1002001

Welcome to the forum and congratulations for getting Catalina up and running with just the iGPU. And this is your first Hackintosh! Honestly, I don't know why so many others can't get this simple little thing done! :) (yes I'm kidding; it's nice to be evil from time to time)
  • Please try connecting your Focusrite to a yellow USB port on the back. Those yellow ports are voltage regulated and may provide more stable current.
  • Believe it or not, I also have the same Focusrite 2i2 Scarlet. I've never even tried to connect it to the Hackintosh, but I'll do that shortly.

IMAO, you’ve been a saint. Yet fair, firm, friendly 98% of the time, and this post has expendaded to help so many be able to get a successful working build out together. So I’m pretty sure ain’t no one batting an eye at some evil from you.
 
Top