Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,183
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
So my PCI area doesn't even show anything Built In other than the Titan Ridge. Does that mean something is missing? The other entries are likely from my CalDigit TB hub. The About this Mac does show AMD Radeon VII but I don't think that's what you're talking about. Since I'm not running an RX 580 I did not include that in my patched folder.

Do you have a link where I can learn about changing the device name? I guess I need to learn about making SSDTs.
The guide for this is located here:
Another way to check:
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and find GFX0 under PEG0 or PEG1. Click on GFX0.
  • On the right you'll find a large VBIOS dump so scroll all the way down.
  • You should see something like this:
Screen Shot 2019-11-11 at 7.53.49 PM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,183
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ I seem to have a problem. I followed all instructions and thought all was well, Preview (from the finder and the app) does not work I have a Vega 64 and use FCPX regularly so I switched to the imac 19,1 headless profile. VideoProc shows that h.264 and HEVC are not hardware enabled. Did i mess up when switching the profile?

Im on 10.14.6
Please try again after adding the following entries to Clover Configurator --> Boot Arguments:
Code:
shikigva=32
shiki-id=Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94
Screen Shot 2019-11-11 at 7.57.21 PM.png
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
You don't have to use an SSDT. Just add the info to Clover's Devices Properties section.
Easiest way, launch latest version of Hackintool, select the PCI, export it. Then use the generated clover plist section and grab just the info you need, E.G. The section for your graphics card. Once you add that to your existing config.plist and restart, you should get the card to show up in PCI devices. The alternative way is to of course create an SSDT, but I find Clover's injection method works faster, especially if you are just "testing" :)
Once you have the PCI section inserted in your config.plist, you can change any of those strings to say whatever you want, so you can test different names.

BTW, if you have IGPU enabled, it should also show up in your PCI list, so you can also include that section in Clover, so you can also rename it to say something different if need be. However, be aware that if you already have a section in your config.plist for the IGPU (such as the Ig-Platform_ID), then you need to add the property values in that section, don't double them up by adding the same PCI device again ;)
Awesome, thanks! I love learning more cool stuff. I will give this a try.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,183
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ
...
Results:
  • Test 1: Success
  • Test 2: Success
  • Test 2, Increase DVMT to 128MB/MAX: Success
  • Test 2, Increase DVMT to 1024MB/MAX: Success
  • Switch to OpenCore and mirror quirks (except DisableVariableWrite) with test 2: Fail
  • Test 2, Switch back to Clover, set DVMT back to 64MB/128MB defaults: Success
Odd that I can boot with the port of OpenCore's quirks + iGPU but then switch back to OpenCore with the same quirks except DisableVariableWrite (their replacement of EmuVariableUefi).
Test 3 has been added to the Experiment. Unfortunately, another failure when booting from PCIe NVMe. Booting from USB, SATA, and Thunderbolt dock is okay.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
So here's another question. As I read up on generating SSDTs. I currently have the iGPU disabled. But this is what's confusing to me. In image #1 GFX0 in Hackintool is showing the GPU Name as Vega 20 [Radeon VII] - which would obviously come after "I" for intel.

When I open MaciASL and look at the Device Properties (image #2) I can grab the hex for the model and in image #3 it translates to Intel UHD 630.

So, to clarify, is MaciASL decompiling from... (the BIOS?) and showing GFX0 according to the hardware but then clover, (using WEG?), is telling the OS that GFX0 is, in fact, the Vega 20 [Radeon VIII]?

Just trying to learn more... ;)
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,183
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
So here's another question. As I read up on generating SSDTs. I currently have the iGPU disabled. But this is what's confusing to me. In image #1 GFX0 in Hackintool is showing the GPU Name as Vega 20 [Radeon VII] - which would obviously come after "I" for intel.

When I open MaciASL and look at the Device Properties (image #2) I can grab the hex for the model and in image #3 it translates to Intel UHD 630.

So, to clarify, is MaciASL decompiling from... (the BIOS?) and showing GFX0 according to the hardware but then clover, (using WEG?), is telling the OS that GFX0 is, in fact, the Vega 20 [Radeon VIII]?

Just trying to learn more... ;)
Please see bottom half of Post #9891 above.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
The guide for this is located here:
Another way to check:
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and find GFX0 under PEG0 or PEG1. Click on GFX0.
  • On the right you'll find a large VBIOS dump so scroll all the way down.
  • You should see something like this:
View attachment 435564
Awesome, so I guess things are all "Ok" since the model is reporting as AMD Radeon VII (the same as in About this Mac). But I'm still going to study up on SSDTs and such. ;)
 

Attachments

Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Please try again after adding the following entries to Clover Configurator --> Boot Arguments:
Code:
shikigva=32
shiki-id=Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94
View attachment 435567
That did the trick! Thank you. Videoproc said h.264 acceleration is enabled now and FCPX is running better. HEVC still doesn't work - is there anyway to fix that? I think I read somewhere that only the imac pro sysprofile works for that??
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
That did the trick! Thank you. Videoproc said h.264 acceleration is enabled now and FCPX is running better. HEVC still doesn't work - is there anyway to fix that? I think I read somewhere that only the imac pro sysprofile works for that??
This is the same thing I'm dealing with. Switching from 19,1 to iMacPro1,1 with the iGPU enabled to get HVEC support but still have a fast editing experience in FCP timeline. I think the answer is that you have to switch to iMacPro1,1.
 
Top