Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designaire-F8
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
MacBook Air
I'm not sure if this adds any value or not... but I'm now configured as iMac 19,1 in headless configuration. When I sweep back and forth through my FCP timeline, iStats Menu shows my RX 580's processor is pegged - no activity shows up in the "Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Mobile)" section. I guess I have the whatcha-ma-callit, SSDT?, thingie that renames the graphics card with an "AMD" preface. Is it possible the Vega cards aren't alphabetically listed first, like my SSDT-renamed AMD RX 580 is?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ But isn’t exporting as HEVC in QuickTime Player encoding? See screenshots.
View attachment 435540View attachment 435541
In my “reorganize” post I stated QuickTime playback as being okay. Rereading your original post, I see that you did mention QuickTime export so I’ll need to fix the reorganize post a second time. :)

This is actually the reason for the reorganize post — to make all these little distinctions very clear.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
102
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
I have HEVC with iGPU disabled and Vega 64 and SMBIOS is iMAC19,1

View attachment 435547
I'm still on 10.14.6 and I've never been able to get HEVC working with dGPU and 19,1. I doubt this is a Vega 64 vs VII issue (but then maybe it could be), but do you remember what you did to get the HEVC support or was it just always working?

Also, just a quick question, but I had to find this out for myself... Have you clicked that refresh button between opening/closing VideoProc? When playing with various configurations I found it wasn't automatic.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
102
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
I'm not sure if this adds any value or not... but I'm now configured as iMac 19,1 in headless configuration. When I sweep back and forth through my FCP timeline, iStats Menu shows my RX 580's processor is pegged - no activity shows up in the "Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Mobile)" section. I guess I have the whatcha-ma-callit, SSDT?, thingie that renames the graphics card with an "AMD" preface. Is it possible the Vega cards aren't alphabetically listed first, like my SSDT-renamed AMD RX 580 is?
@CaseySJ how do I check for the name? I currently have my iGPU disabled, but are the ??? the result of not having a valid SSDT? I need to learn more about those. Is it because the one in the list is starting with Vega 20 and not AMD?
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm not sure if this adds any value or not... but I'm now configured as iMac 19,1 in headless configuration. When I sweep back and forth through my FCP timeline, iStats Menu shows my RX 580's processor is pegged - no activity shows up in the "Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Mobile)" section. I guess I have the whatcha-ma-callit, SSDT?, thingie that renames the graphics card with an "AMD" preface. Is it possible the Vega cards aren't alphabetically listed first, like my SSDT-renamed AMD RX 580 is?
@CaseySJ how do I check for the name? I currently have my iGPU disabled, but are the ??? the result of not having a valid SSDT? I need to learn more about those. Is it because the one in the list is starting with Vega 20 and not AMD?
System Information --> PCI will state the name of your AMD GPUs. The SSDT can be removed at any time to see what happens when the alphabetical order is reversed (i.e., when "Intel UHD 630" comes before "Radeon RX 580").

The RX580 SSDT renames the device from Radeon RX 580 to AMD RX 580. Because "A" in AMD comes before "I" in Intel, the SSDT allows apps to prioritize the AMD RX 580. By removing the SSDT, the name goes back to Radeon RX 580 or maybe RX 580, where "R" comes after "I".
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
111
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ

System Configuration:
  • Catalina 10.15.1
  • BIOS F8 with MSR 0xE2 unlocked
  • Intel i9-9900K
  • Corsair Vengenace LPX 2 x 16GB + 2 x 32GB 2666MHz DIMMs with XMP Profile 1
  • Clover v5098 (press "A" at Clover Boot Menu to determine your Clover version)
  • EmuVariableUefi and FwRuntimeServices both copied to CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folder
  • Using VirtualSMC instead of FakeSMC
  • SMBIOS iMac19,1
  • iGPU enabled with headless platform ID 0x3E980003
  • Lilu and WhateverGreen installed only in CLOVER/kexts/Other with Inject Kexts set to Detect.
  • M2M (top M.2 slot) = WD SN750 Black PCIe NVMe 1TB (Windows 10)
  • M2P (bottom M.2 slot) = WD SN750 Black PCIe NVMe 1TB (macOS)
  • Sapphire Pulse OC RX 580 in PCIe Slot 1
  • Aquantia 10G Gaming NIC in PCIe Slot 3
  • Broadcom BCM4360CD + Adapter WiFi/BT card in top x1 PCIe slot
  • Original Intel CNVi WiFi/BT module still installed; using NO-CNVW SSDT to disable.

Test Conditions:
  • Turn off USB drive for CCC backup (wanted to test NVME only)
  • slide=0 enabled in all cases
  • Make new config.plist without shiki bootargs
  • Boot macOS NVME drive
  • dart=0 debug=0x100 keepsyms=1 slide=0 vsmchbkp=0 -disablegfxfirmware
Results:
  • Test 1: Success
  • Test 2: Success
  • Test 2, Increase DVMT to 128MB/MAX: Success
  • Test 2, Increase DVMT to 1024MB/MAX: Success
  • Switch to OpenCore and mirror quirks (except DisableVariableWrite) with test 2: Fail
  • Test 2, Switch back to Clover, set DVMT back to 64MB/128MB defaults: Success
Odd that I can boot with the port of OpenCore's quirks + iGPU but then switch back to OpenCore with the same quirks except DisableVariableWrite (their replacement of EmuVariableUefi).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Out of curiosity, is the viewing of DRM content on TV app broken in Catalina still? Have read various reports that people just get a black screen when trying to view DRM content on the new TV app...
Let me check this tonight. I still have shikigva and shiki-id boot arguments, so need to remove and test.
Confirmed -- The TV app in 10.15.1 works properly with DRM movies. Shikigva and shiki-id are still in effect.
 
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@CaseySJ I seem to have a problem. I followed all instructions and thought all was well, Preview (from the finder and the app) does not work I have a Vega 64 and use FCPX regularly so I switched to the imac 19,1 headless profile. VideoProc shows that h.264 and HEVC are not hardware enabled. Did i mess up when switching the profile?

Im on 10.14.6
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
102
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
System Information --> PCI will state the name of your AMD GPUs. The SSDT can be removed at any time to see what happens when the alphabetical order is reversed (i.e., when "Intel UHD 630" comes before "Radeon RX 580").

The RX580 SSDT renames the device from Radeon RX 580 to AMD RX 580. Because "A" in AMD comes before "I" in Intel, the SSDT allows apps to prioritize the AMD RX 580. By removing the SSDT, the name goes back to Radeon RX 580 or maybe RX 580, where "R" comes after "I".
So my PCI area doesn't even show anything Built In other than the Titan Ridge. Does that mean something is missing? The other entries are likely from my CalDigit TB hub. The About this Mac does show AMD Radeon VII but I don't think that's what you're talking about. Since I'm not running an RX 580 I did not include that in my patched folder.

Do you have a link where I can learn about changing the device name? I guess I need to learn about making SSDTs.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
204
Motherboard
HP Probook 450 G6-Clover
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
So my PCI area doesn't even show anything Built In other than the Titan Ridge. Does that mean something is missing? The other entries are likely from my CalDigit TB hub. The About this Mac does show AMD Radeon VII but I don't think that's what you're talking about. Since I'm not running an RX 580 I did not include that in my patched folder.

Do you have a link where I can learn about changing the device name? I guess I need to learn about making SSDTs.
You don't have to use an SSDT. Just add the info to Clover's Devices Properties section.
Easiest way, launch latest version of Hackintool, select the PCI, export it. Then use the generated clover plist section and grab just the info you need, E.G. The section for your graphics card. Once you add that to your existing config.plist and restart, you should get the card to show up in PCI devices. The alternative way is to of course create an SSDT, but I find Clover's injection method works faster, especially if you are just "testing" :)
Once you have the PCI section inserted in your config.plist, you can change any of those strings to say whatever you want, so you can test different names.

BTW, if you have IGPU enabled, it should also show up in your PCI list, so you can also include that section in Clover, so you can also rename it to say something different if need be. However, be aware that if you already have a section in your config.plist for the IGPU (such as the Ig-Platform_ID), then you need to add the property values in that section, don't double them up by adding the same PCI device again ;)
 
Top