Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,210
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ
...
Results:
  • Test 1: Success
  • Test 2: Success
  • Test 2, Increase DVMT to 128MB/MAX: Success
  • Test 2, Increase DVMT to 1024MB/MAX: Success
  • Switch to OpenCore and mirror quirks (except DisableVariableWrite) with test 2: Fail
  • Test 2, Switch back to Clover, set DVMT back to 64MB/128MB defaults: Success
Odd that I can boot with the port of OpenCore's quirks + iGPU but then switch back to OpenCore with the same quirks except DisableVariableWrite (their replacement of EmuVariableUefi).
Test 3 has been added to the Experiment. Unfortunately, another failure when booting from PCIe NVMe. Booting from USB, SATA, and Thunderbolt dock is okay.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
So here's another question. As I read up on generating SSDTs. I currently have the iGPU disabled. But this is what's confusing to me. In image #1 GFX0 in Hackintool is showing the GPU Name as Vega 20 [Radeon VII] - which would obviously come after "I" for intel.

When I open MaciASL and look at the Device Properties (image #2) I can grab the hex for the model and in image #3 it translates to Intel UHD 630.

So, to clarify, is MaciASL decompiling from... (the BIOS?) and showing GFX0 according to the hardware but then clover, (using WEG?), is telling the OS that GFX0 is, in fact, the Vega 20 [Radeon VIII]?

Just trying to learn more... ;)
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,210
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
So here's another question. As I read up on generating SSDTs. I currently have the iGPU disabled. But this is what's confusing to me. In image #1 GFX0 in Hackintool is showing the GPU Name as Vega 20 [Radeon VII] - which would obviously come after "I" for intel.

When I open MaciASL and look at the Device Properties (image #2) I can grab the hex for the model and in image #3 it translates to Intel UHD 630.

So, to clarify, is MaciASL decompiling from... (the BIOS?) and showing GFX0 according to the hardware but then clover, (using WEG?), is telling the OS that GFX0 is, in fact, the Vega 20 [Radeon VIII]?

Just trying to learn more... ;)
Please see bottom half of Post #9891 above.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
The guide for this is located here:
Another way to check:
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and find GFX0 under PEG0 or PEG1. Click on GFX0.
  • On the right you'll find a large VBIOS dump so scroll all the way down.
  • You should see something like this:
View attachment 435564
Awesome, so I guess things are all "Ok" since the model is reporting as AMD Radeon VII (the same as in About this Mac). But I'm still going to study up on SSDTs and such. ;)
 

Attachments

Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Please try again after adding the following entries to Clover Configurator --> Boot Arguments:
Code:
shikigva=32
shiki-id=Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94
View attachment 435567
That did the trick! Thank you. Videoproc said h.264 acceleration is enabled now and FCPX is running better. HEVC still doesn't work - is there anyway to fix that? I think I read somewhere that only the imac pro sysprofile works for that??
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
That did the trick! Thank you. Videoproc said h.264 acceleration is enabled now and FCPX is running better. HEVC still doesn't work - is there anyway to fix that? I think I read somewhere that only the imac pro sysprofile works for that??
This is the same thing I'm dealing with. Switching from 19,1 to iMacPro1,1 with the iGPU enabled to get HVEC support but still have a fast editing experience in FCP timeline. I think the answer is that you have to switch to iMacPro1,1.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
@Jrad07

Once post-installation is done (starting with MultiBeast and then fine-tuning manually) as described in the Guide, the system will be bootable without the USB flash disk. If the macOS SSD is not the default boot disk, you can enter BIOS Setup and set the correct boot order. You can also try pressing F12 at the BIOS Splash Screen and checking whether the macOS SSD is among the boot options listed.
Thank you for the info :)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
The guide for this is located here:
Another way to check:
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and find GFX0 under PEG0 or PEG1. Click on GFX0.
  • On the right you'll find a large VBIOS dump so scroll all the way down.
  • You should see something like this:
View attachment 435564
Success!!! Thank you SOOOOO!!! much @CaseySJ and @djx8605 and @JimSalabim. I think I have FINALLY gotten things working optimally using iMac 19,1. It turned out that it was a naming issue for my Radeon VII. Since I had never gotten around to RTFM from the quoted resource above by CaseySJ for renaming devices, I'd been using this Hackintosh since August without the iGPU.

Well, I've now got the iGPU working along with the dGPU. Both iGPU and dGPU show up now in System Information -> PCI (see image). FCP does, in fact, now choose the dGPU for timeline rendering. Both H.264 and HEVC are now hardware based and I'm able to bump up my DVMT thanks to FwRuntimeServices.efi and OcQuirks.efi. I still need to evaluate if FCP/Compressor are using the iGPU or the dGPU. It seems like the dGPU so far. My win is that the iGPU is enabled and the dGPU is being used for timeline editing.

While I had never used Darwin dumper, it was @djx8605 who clued me into what I would consider to be the easiest process for renaming devices if you have Hackintool available. I've outlined the steps in the images below.

I love this learning process and I'm grateful to those who are helping to share the information! I hope this helps others learn more too. My preferred Plist editor can be purchased alone or as part of a nice bundle on the App Store. It comes with a CSV and JSON editor too. All of them are really clean and great for a developer like myself.
 

Attachments

Top