Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7 2600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Yeah I put into sleep manually from Apple menu item a couple of times and no problem waking system back up.

At work and Hack is at home so can't work on this now, but I don't think there is an explicit sleep setting in System Preferences any more, seems like it is a toggle keying off display sleep setting, "Prevent computer from sleeping automatically when the display is off." I do have that unchecked right now so system should be sleeping after 15 minutes, I think. I guess I can also try forcing system to stay 'awake' overnight and see if that makes a difference. Or putting it to sleep manually and see if it makes it through the night, I s'pose.

Searching the Internet I see a few cases of people having this problem, but at a glance didn't find an answer, just suggestions that possibly a hardware issue (mobo battery or mobo or PSU, my PSU is a new Corsair AX850, so I did not scrimp there) or BIOS problem.

One other person with this problem found that exiting BIOS without saving changes brought the same error screen up, but saving changes and exiting (which is maybe similar to me forcing the boot drive) gave a successful boot (GA-Z170). Which seems kind of strange. A Steve99 on a Gigabyte forum a couple of years ago, I'll have to register there to try to send him a note to see if he ever figured it out.
Hi,
Some days ago I reported the same weird behavior on shutting/sleeping. (Yes, I followed all the points in this guide.) I have a Mojave (latest) Intel SSD in the upper M.2 slot and a SATA SSD with Win 10. A WiFi/BT card is sitting in the lower PCIe slot.

The problem appeared on BIOS F6, and, since I have updated to F8, it persists. Most of the time, I can't get the computer to boot, only the white LED on MB is on. Sometimes, after shutdown, the "on" button on my case does not have any effect at all, and I have to pull out the power cord from the PSU first! I have to take out the CMOS battery and keep it for a few minutes with power cable disconnected from PS. Only then, I can boot and get into BIOS again and load my preset. I also tried removing the WiFi card and my "feeling" is, that the problem might be alleviated. I then tried to stuck in the same PCIe slot a M.2 adapter with another Intel 660p SSD, and the boot problem immediately returned. I thought that the MB is failing but now other users are appearing with the exact same problem. Also, if I switch the SSD to the lower M.2 slot, it fails.

I will do some more testing with different combinations and report back. Open for other suggestions, of course.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
221
Motherboard
HP Probook 450 G6-Clover
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,
Some days ago I reported the same weird behavior on shutting/sleeping. (Yes, I followed all the points in this guide.) I have a Mojave (latest) Intel SSD in the upper M.2 slot and a SATA SSD with Win 10. A WiFi/BT card is sitting in the lower PCIe slot.

The problem appeared on BIOS F6, and, since I have updated to F8, it persists. Most of the time, I can't get the computer to boot, only the white LED on MB is on. Sometimes, after shutdown, the "on" button on my case does not have any effect at all, and I have to pull out the power cord from the PSU first! I have to take out the CMOS battery and keep it for a few minutes with power cable disconnected from PS. Only then, I can boot and get into BIOS again and load my preset. I also tried removing the WiFi card and my "feeling" is, that the problem might be alleviated. I then tried to stuck in the same PCIe slot a M.2 adapter with another Intel 660p SSD, and the boot problem immediately returned. I thought that the MB is failing but now other users are appearing with the exact same problem. Also, if I switch the SSD to the lower M.2 slot, it fails.

I will do some more testing with different combinations and report back. Open for other suggestions, of course.
What do you mean by when you move the SSD, it fails? You mean it doesn't boot, it doesn't turn on?

Also, is your Windows OS working fine? (sleep/shutdown/restart)
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 570, GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
TLDR: Need help with RX470

So I followed this guide and got all the way until the end of post install, and copied the AML files for RX 580 slot 2 even though I have a RX 470... and upon reboot I can't get anything to work.

So a couple caveats are I'm using a i9-9900K, and have an GTX 1070 in slot 1, and have an Intel 600 NVMe, and no WiFi/BT, and BIOS is on R7. I couldn't get the install to complete until clearing CMOS and loading optimized defaults and turning XMP on, that's it, and install completed. Post install MultiBeast took hours, but afterwards GFX accel seemed to be working, but no HDMI audio, and basically nothing else showed up under devices or Ethernet or USB or TB3... all forgivable really, because with GFX accel it was totally usable. I feel like I should have rebooted here even though the guide said not to, because it was good enough for me, for now, but I finished the guide and now it won't boot into anything but recovery, no matter the combinations used in clover, also clover fails to boot windows if that could be relevant some how I dunno.

So... long story short for a 1st time hackintosher here, is how did you create the post-install aml for the 580, so I can do it for the 470. There is also the possibility that the intel drive is bad, if I get nowhere I'll pick up a new NVME and rx 580 to complete the guide 1to1, but I plan on keeping the gtx1070 installed, which didn't seem to matter since it was just recognized as display and when booting off it exclusively worked minus its features. I suspect the NVME is toast because of how long everything took. Install took 3+hrs, MultiBeast post install took 2+hrs, boot-ups would sometimes be <2m, and sometimes 10+m, and sometimes I would get frozen on some error on boot that would happen 2x in a row and then stop happening completely. Are any of these times normal or symptoms normal?


P.S. I also feel like it's worth mentioning that after my install froze for the second time with ALL specified BIOS settings, on BIOS R7, I couldn't get into the BIOS anymore, nor did the splash screen ever appear. A CMOS hard reset was all I could do to get back in, after which the 2 applied settings above allowed the install to complete.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,502
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
TLDR: Need help with RX470

So I followed this guide and got all the way until the end of post install, and copied the AML files for RX580 slot 2 even though I have a RX 470... and upon reboot I can't get anything to work.

So a couple caveats are I'm using a 9900K, and have an GTX 1070 in slot 1, and have an intel 600 nvme, and no wifi/bt, and BIOS is on r7. I couldn't get the install to complete until clearing CMOS and loading optimized defaults and turning XMP on, that's it, and install completed. Post install multibeast took hours, but afterwards GFX accel seemed to be working, but no HDMI audio, and basically nothing else showed up under devices or ethernet or usb or tb3... all forgivable really, because with gfx accel it was totally usable. I feel like I should have rebooted here even though the guide said not to, because it was good enough for me, for now, but I finished the guide and now it won't boot into anything but recovery, no matter the combinations used in clover, also clover fails to boot windows if that could be relevant some how I dunno.

So... long story short for a 1st time hackintosher here, is how did you create the post-install aml for the 580, so I can do it for the 470. There is also the possibility that the intel drive is bad, if I get nowhere I'll pick up a new NVME and rx 580 to complete the guide 1to1, but I plan on keeping the gtx1070 installed, which didn't seem to matter since it was just recognized as display and when booting off it exclusively worked minus its features. I suspect the NVME is toast because of how long everything took. Install took 3+hrs, multibeast post install took 2+hrs, boot-ups would sometimes be <2m, and sometimes 10+m, and sometimes I would get frozen on some error on boot that would happen 2x in a row and then stop happening completely. Are any of these times normal or symptoms normal?
Someone else just reported a boot problem with the Intel 600 NVMe (presumably the 660p), but let's defer that for a moment. Instead:
  • The RX 580 SSDT is not needed. Its only role is to rename the device for alphabetical order purposes. Your RX 470 is natively supported in macOS Mojave and Catalina.
  • The Nvidia GPU should be removed from the system during installation and post-installation. The RX 470 can be installed in either Slot 1 or Slot 2.
  • Although not strictly necessary, it is still advisable to disconnect Windows drives if you're facing strange boot problems.
  • After post-installation it's possible to reinstall the Nvidia GPU by using both the SSDT that renders it invisible to macOS and adding a boot flag for extra measure. This can be done later.
  • It is also advisable to install Mojave 10.14.6 if you're using UniBeast and MultiBeast. Those tools are in the process of being updated for Catalina, but are not yet ready.
If despite these suggestions you continue to experience hours-long installation, basic boot failures and other strange anomalies then we might suspect the Intel 660p.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 570, GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Someone else just reported a boot problem with the Intel 600 NVMe (presumably the 660p), but let's defer that for a moment. Instead:
  • The RX 580 SSDT is not needed. Its only role is to rename the device for alphabetical order purposes. Your RX 470 is natively supported in macOS Mojave and Catalina.
  • The Nvidia GPU should be removed from the system during installation and post-installation. The RX 470 can be installed in either Slot 1 or Slot 2.
  • Although not strictly necessary, it is still advisable to disconnect Windows drives if you're facing strange boot problems.
  • After post-installation it's possible to reinstall the Nvidia GPU by using both the SSDT that renders it invisible to macOS and adding a boot flag for extra measure. This can be done later.
  • It is also advisable to install Mojave 10.14.6 if you're using UniBeast and MultiBeast. Those tools are in the process of being updated for Catalina, but are not yet ready.
If despite these suggestions you continue to experience hours-long installation, basic boot failures and other strange anomalies then we might suspect the Intel 660p.
SUCCESS... mostly. So firstly it was definitely the Intel 660p NVME which was to blame. I must have got a bad batch because that's 2 of 2 that's junk. I went through the whole process start to finish under an hour with Samsung 960 Evo 1TB.

However, post install only half worked. It installed Ethernet, USB, gfx, and boot loader. The audio appeared after the post install reboot, but PCI and Thunderbolt remain empty. I also appears that no onboard video was found either. None of these are issues for me, and it's also worth noting I have no BT/WIFI which might be why FaceTime/iMessages dont seem to work, but again no issue for me. Overall I'm thrilled and completely satisfied with your guide. Thank you.

PS. It might just be an issue with BIOS R7 or maybe there's a step missing, but I couldn't get Boot from Mac OS from Mojave to work without hitting space and selecting Inject kexts from clover.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designaire-F8
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
MacBook Air
The adage if it ain't broke don't fix it is both a blessing and a curse. Maintaining a working status quo is the wiser decision in circumstances where mission critical uptime is necessary. But if time permits, change can be made in a safe manner if we start with a full bootable backup and proceed with care (i.e. not rush it).
I decided to switch to iMac 19,1 and apply the platform-id patch, and it was pretty uneventful. I upgraded to F8 BIOS too just for good measure.

The only thing is my bruceX time increased by a second or two. Just to be sure I wasn't imagining things, I double checked my Geekbench4 score and it dropped too (by 400 for single core, ~1000 for multicore). I (stupidly) didn't do a performance test in between the iMac 19,1 switch and the F8 BIOS flash, so I have no idea which change ended up knocking my numbers a bit... but I saved my old iMac 18,3 config.plist and might try going back to see what happens.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
@CaseySJ

I will use Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB drive for Catalina. Can I use Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB as a backup drive?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
it's interesting. I just saw about the new BIOS F8 on the Gigabyte website, and I'm on F7. any problem with the F8 beside the F7?
my main issue is to make my Universal Audio Apollo (Silverface) with TB1 extension card work. I have another Universal Audio Apollo (Silverface) with TB2 extension card that work perfectly with Apple TB2 - TB3 adaptor ( you can add that to the compatible list)
I tried also to connect the apollo with the TB1 as a slave in a daisy chain to the apollo with the TB2 but still, the TB1 apollo not connected. so I thought maybe there is something in the F8 that maybe can make that work
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,502
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@zangiamit91

The F8 BIOS has been working well -- no issues. However, Gigabyte has not enabled Legacy Mode for Thunderbolt 1 devices in the latest BIOS. Although Gigabyte can technically enable this mode, they are not permitted or authorized by Intel to do so. Unfortunately for us, this means Titan Ridge-based systems have extremely limited compatibility with TB1 devices.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
64
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Debug was on!! ,( probably got checked when I was fighintg to get VirtualSMC (any version after 1.06) to work in my system, btw I got that sorted out after experimenting with Bios F8 and going back to F6)

So far in 4 attempts to boot , just the first one after disabling debug got stuck , the others no problem

Thanks a lot @CaseySJ !!
Back to square one, today again "scan entries"....
 
Top