Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,941
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I add this flag and removed nvidia and here what happened
I think I misunderstood your situation:
  • Are you using the IGPU to drive your monitor?
  • If so, are you using HDMI or DisplayPort?
Anyway, if you are in fact using the IGPU, then use the attached config.plist instead. The previous one was setting up headless mode where iGPU will NOT display video signal. The new one attached here will enable video output from all of these ports on the rear IO panel:
  • HDMI port
  • Thunderbolt port 1 (USB-C) -- this provides DisplayPort
  • Thunderbolt port 2 (USB-C) -- this also provides DisplayPort
By the way, in your original post you said:
Hi, @casey! I install Mojave 10.14.6 and followed your guide. I have some problems with my Intel 630. Please take a look.
  • You did not tell me what you were trying to accomplish.
  • You just said you had problem with Intel 630, so I turned it on and set it to headless mode (will not connect to monitor).
So this message is for everyone who asks for help:
  • I cannot read your mind. I will never be able to read your mind.
  • It is your responsibility to clearly and completely describe the problem you're facing, what you're trying to accomplish, what actions you have already taken, and any other relevant information -- to the best of your ability.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
43
Motherboard
STRIX B250F GAMING
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Everything is pretty much working flawlessly on my build, but the audio level is still quite a bit lower than my other Macs. Is there anyway to turn the gain up on the onboard audio?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Z390 designare
CPU
I9-9900k
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce 1060 6gb
I think I misunderstood your situation:
  • Are you using the IGPU to drive your monitor?
  • If so, are you using HDMI or DisplayPort?
Anyway, if you are in fact using the IGPU, then use the attached config.plist instead. The previous one was setting up headless mode where iGPU will NOT display video signal. The new one attached here will enable video output from all of these ports on the rear IO panel:
  • HDMI port
  • Thunderbolt port 1 (USB-C) -- this provides DisplayPort
  • Thunderbolt port 2 (USB-C) -- this also provides DisplayPort
By the way, in your original post you said:

  • You did not tell me what you were trying to accomplish.
  • You just said you had problem with Intel 630, so I turned it on and set it to headless mode (will not connect to monitor).
So this message is for everyone who asks for help:
  • I cannot read your mind. I will never be able to read your mind.
  • It is your responsibility to clearly and completely describe the problem you're facing, what you're trying to accomplish, what actions you have already taken, and any other relevant information -- to the best of your ability.
Sorry for misinformation yes I am using IGPU to drive my monitor because I have Nvidia 1060
Thanks alot for your Help @CaseySJ Finally it works
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,941
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Everything is pretty much working flawlessly on my build, but the audio level is still quite a bit lower than my other macs. Is there anyway to turn the gain up on the onboard audio?
Which audio port are you using?
  • The green one on the back?
  • The one on the front of your PC case?
  • Also, what audio Layout ID are you using? Typically we use either 16 or 7.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
60
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's also possible that the file indicated below is the .dsl file instead of the .aml file. Please right-click on it, select Get Info, and uncheck the Hide extension flag. Now you'll see the extension of the file.
You mean SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V3? You are right, it is a .dsl file. Rename it, or do something else?

Does SSDT-DESIGNARE-Z390-NO-CNVW.aml do the same thing as NO-CNVW SSDT?

efi3.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,941
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
You mean SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V3? You are right, it is a .dsl file. Rename it, or do something else?

View attachment 434804
We must delete it and copy the .aml version of that. It's also in the ZIP file. Okay, I can see where the confusion is coming from. I'll have to unhide those filename extensions and re-upload the ZIP. Will do that tomorrow.

Screen Shot 2019-11-06 at 6.59.13 PM.png
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
245
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Trying to get my new Sapphire Pulse 5700 XT to boot. Has anyone gotten it to work? If so, how?

Edit: Never mind. I figured it out. I still had Shikigva=60 in my config. Once I deleted that, it boots fine. Thanks!

Edit 2: Actually, I spoke too soon. I had to do one more step. Had to remove Inject ATI and Oronico frame buffer from the Graphics section. Now it boots up reliably.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
60
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
We must delete it and copy the .aml version of that. It's also in the ZIP file. Okay, I can see where the confusion is coming from. I'll have to unhide those filename extensions and re-upload the ZIP. Will do that tomorrow.
Yeah maybe that would make your guide idiot proof. Making me a … never mind.

Copied the R6 .aml file into the EFI folder and Bluetooth working fine now.

Your willingness to help less savvy people with this stuff so quickly is very cool. Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2019
Messages
104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Looking for help, my hackintosh suddenly won’t power up, when the power supply is turned on the designaire board illuminates white, that’s all i get no video or post and no power light.

Thoughts on where to start?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
750
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Awesome!
  • Do not install Windows 10 at this time. It's not necessary for initializing the GC-Titan Ridge.
  • Connect the Thunderbolt header cable to the motherboard.
Here's your homework assignment! After you make the changes I can check everything for you.
  1. IOReg shows that Thunderbolt is attached to RP21.
    View attachment 434765
    • Because this is a Thunderbolt 3 card with two USB-C connectors, it means you also get two USB ports that support both USB 2 and USB 3 protocols. Hence, notice the lower part of the above screenshot where I've marked the two USB 2 and two USB 3 ports.
      • Notice in BLUE that each port has an address (ADR) from 1 to 4. This will be needed shortly.
        • ADR 1 and ADR 2 are for USB 2 as shown
        • ADR 3 and ADR 4 are for USB 3 as shown
  2. Now let's look at the original DSDT.aml. Let's find RP21 in that file, using MaciASL:
    • When we expand the RP21 section we see this:
      View attachment 434768
    • Now we must check if there are any pre-defined DEVICEs under RP21. We can see above that yes indeed there is already a device here named PXSX.
    • By convention, Apple's Thunderbolt SSDT names the first device as UPSB and creates all sub-devices under this all-important top-level UPSB device.
    • But the right now PXSX is taking up that space, so in a moment we will get rid of PXSX.
  3. Now we're ready to modify the Thunderbolt hot-plug SSDT. We start by downloading KGP's SSDT from the X299 repository on GitHub. The file name is SSDT-X299-TB3HP.dsl. And we edit it with MaciASL.
    • Don't worry about the name of the file. You can change it later.
    • We also need to download SSDT-DTPG.aml. No changes will be made to this file, but we will need to open it in MaciASL and save it in .aml format.
    • Note that .dsl files are disassembled files, which means they cannot be used. They must be compiled into ACPI Machine Language (.aml) format. This is done in MaciASL by simply doing File --> Save As... and choosing the ACPI Machine Language Binary output file format.
  4. Let's have a look at the standard KGP Thunderbolt hot plug SSDT:
    • Notice that for the X299 system, the Thunderbolt root path is _SB_.PC01.BR1A. But on your board, it is _SB_.PCI0.RP21.
    • Also notice that on KGP's X299 system, there happen to be 2 default devices in BR1A called SL01 and PEGP. This is why the two red boxes are (a) referencing those devices, and (b) setting their ADR to 0, which in effect disables them. Only when those device have been disabled are we ready to create our own UPSB device.
      View attachment 434774
    • So you will need to modify the two red boxes to (a) reference _SB_.PCI0.RP21 and _SB_.PCI0.RP21.PXSX.
    • And then you'll need to modify the second red box to change the address of PXSX to 0.
  5. We're nearly done. We must now adjust our USB ports. We do that by expanding the XHC5 (XHC is the USB Controller) section as shown here:
    • Notice on the left side that the hot plug SSDT defines 4 USB ports SSP1, SSP2, HS01, HS02. And if we click on SSP1 we will see on the right side in blue that its ADR is set to One.
      View attachment 434779
    • But this is not quite right. Because if you go back to the first screenshot above, you'll see that the two USB 2 ports have address 1 and 2. And the two USB 3 ports actually have addresses 3 and 4.
    • So we must change the address of SSP1 to 3, and SSP2 to 4.
    • And we must change the address of HS01 to 1 and HS02 to 2.
  6. Now we should save the .dsl file and then save it as a compiled ACPI binary file by selecting File --> Save As... --> ACPI Machine Language Binary.
  7. Finally, we can test hot plug by copying both the hot-plug SSDT (.aml file) and the SSDT-DTPG (.aml file) to the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder and rebooting. It would be good to examine the IORegistryExplorer output.
Hi, I'm getting return errors when I try to save or compile this: I've replaced the BR1A with RP21 but I got this when using Save As... Is it because I'm working from a real Mini? I know that my Hack TB is on RP21...
 

Attachments

Top