Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
102
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@CaseySJ

FINALLY took your advice...used your wonderful Mojave guide, made a new USB installer and installed a clean Mojave to a new ssd. I was very careful and it worked a treat. Mojave lives again. Upgraded Lilu, WEG etc. From there I downloaded the Catalina installer and ran it. It smoothly did everything it should. I now have a perfectly functioning Catalina...sound, blue-tooth, wifi, and sleep!
Now how do I proceed to get it to my Mojave NVMe. Clone it? There is that clone problem?
Then migrate from b-u?
Sounds dangerous.

Thanks again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2014
Messages
169
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hey guys, non-hackintosh question...

I was experimenting with my build, and I accidentally stripped a screw on one of the NVMe heat sinks. Such an idiot! I also cut one finger with a metal sticker. It was a bloodbath. lol The drive is fine and didn't break anything else, but does anyone know how can I get that screw out so I can replace it with a good one?

Cheers!
Usually for stripped screws the 'nuclear option' I use is a Dremel tool to 're-slot' the head of the screw, and then use a flat-head screwdriver to get it out. But you risk slipping and damaging something else.

Depending on the shape of the screw and whether it has enough of a rough surface for gripping, you could try using some combination pliers or angled pliers?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
I'd like to report that doing a vanilla install of Catalina using this method (except making my own USBPorts.kext in Hackintool as suggested in your spoiler) yields success. However, the rear audio jack on the MB's IO plate does not function, and kernel panic takes place on shutdown.

EDIT: To clarify I've had success using both an upgrade-in-place installation as well as a fresh installation via USB. I took many of CaseSJ's suggestions regarding the config.plist, but changed a lot as well. While the fresh installation wasn't worry-free, most things are working and I'm pretty happy.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
z390
CPU
i9
Graphics
rx580
I followed the guide, and I'm running Catalina with out any major issues, so far. The only issues I have are waking up from sleep. The computer goes to sleep and everything turns off, except the the RAM RGB. When I press a key to wake up, I am not getting anything on my monitor. Same thing when my monitor turns off after set amount of time, and I try to use the PC.

darkwake is set to 0. I deleted the power management files in Library/Preference. I disconnected the Corsair USB from mobo header.

Video card is MSI RX 580.

Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hi everyone,

I was following the Catalina guide, and wanted to change my SMBios to iMac 19,1 from Mac mini and also change to headless before making a backup of my system, and made a mistake somewhere. I was on 10.4.4, which I think matters? I can’t seem to boot my computer at all... clover is giving me the below error. Somebody please help!! T_T thank you in advance!!
Something definitely is wrong with clover. Try doing a vanilla re-installation and make sure you're on r5095.
 
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@CaseySJ

After buying a 2nd TB3 dock (Promise Technology dock) and my Promise Pegasus TB1 RAID drive not working, I am at a loss. Some TB1 drives work and some simply do not. Is there anything I can add to my Designare Hackintosh like a TB1 PCI-E card to get all TB1 devices to work? Even if it is costly I would consider it. Thank you.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
41
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
a long shot, but....

if you have more than one SSD or HD in your system, the one you're trying to mount may not be disk0. if you have multiple drives, try disk1s1, or disk2s2, etc depending on how many drives you have.

I have an m.2 ssd, and a spinning HD. randomly, from boot to boot, my ssd may be assigned disk0 or it may be disk1. I always have to check by opening disk utility. if you can boot your system, open disk utility to see what disk number bios has assigned to the drive your EFI folder is on.
I checked it out, it's the disk0s1. In fact, none of the EFI partitions accept to mount, could it be a permissions problem?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
547
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
PowerColor RX590 Red Devil
Hi everyone,

I was following the Catalina guide, and wanted to change my SMBios to iMac 19,1 from Mac mini and also change to headless before making a backup of my system, and made a mistake somewhere. I was on 10.4.4, which I think matters? I can’t seem to boot my computer at all... clover is giving me the below error. Somebody please help!! T_T thank you in advance!!
in my experience, that message usually means that the SMBIOS you have chosen is from a Mac model that is too old to support the version of OS X you're trying to install. in your config.plist when you switched from iMac19,1 to Mac mini are you sure you chose the right model of Mac mini? I think the suggested Mac mini model for this build is macmini8,1 (but check the guide to make sure).
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
547
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
PowerColor RX590 Red Devil
I checked it out, it's the disk0s1. In fact, none of the EFI partitions accept to mount, could it be a permissions problem?
it is HIGHLY unlikely that your EFI partition has disappeared, but if you can boot your computer launch Terminal and type
diskutil list
and make sure your EFI partition is shown.

if it is shown, I'm out of ideas and hopefully someone smarter than me will chime in with a suggestion.
 
Top