Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
*** Beta Testers Needed ***
Purpose:
  • To test a modified version of EFIClone with Carbon Copy Cloner on Catalina. The modified EFIClone will operate in TEST mode. It will not make any changes to your system other than create a log file.​
Prerequisites:
  • Must have macOS Catalina 10.15 installed.
  • Must use Carbon Copy Cloner version 5.1.12 (latest).
Procedure:
  • Launch Carbon Copy Cloner
  • Download the attached EFIClone-v3-test.sh script
  • Open a Finder window and navigate to the folder containing the script
  • From the Utilities menu, select Reveal CCC's Scripts folder
    • Screen Shot 2019-06-02 at 6.38.02 AM_resize.png
  • When the CCC Scripts window opens in Finder, copy EFIClone-v3-test.sh to the Scripts folder as shown:
    • Screen Shot 2019-10-13 at 4.13.28 PM.png
  • You will need to authenticate the file copy operation by entering password when requested.
  • From the CCC Utilities menu, select Secure CCC's Scripts folder
    • Screen Shot 2019-06-02 at 6.39.02 AM_resize.png
  • Select your Source and Destination disks as you normally would.
  • Then look at ADVANCED SETTINGS and scroll down to AFTER COPYING FILES.
    • Screen Shot 2019-10-13 at 4.18.10 PM.png
  • If a previous script name appears here, click the X next to it to remove it. You will then see a single "folder" icon in its place. Click that folder icon.
  • This will open a file selection dialog showing all scripts in the CCC Scripts folder.
  • Select EFIClone-v3-test.sh
  • Now double-check the configuration.
    • Is the Source disk selected correctly?
    • Is the Destination disk selected correctly?
  • If so, click the Clone button.
    • Remember that the EFIClone script is hard-coded to run in TEST mode.
      • No files will be copied or deleted.
      • Instead, it will generate a log indicating what it would do.
  • When the cloning operation completes, you will find EFIClone.log in this folder:
    • /System/Volumes/Data/Users/Shared
  • You may examine the EFIClone.log yourself to make sure that it contains a listing of all files in the EFI partitions of the Source and Destination drives.
    • And please upload a copy of that file. You may compress it first.


Here we can see that Test Mode is active:
Screen Shot 2019-10-13 at 4.29.03 PM.png

This is the change that allows the script to run under Catalina. CCC sets the DestinationVolume to the new Catalina "data" volume, so we have to check for that and instead specify the System volume name by removing the " - Data" suffix.
Screen Shot 2019-10-13 at 4.35.53 PM.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think that I use a previous version of CCC. Maybe the problem?
No because we've all been using previous versions of CCC for months. I really hope you can recover from this data loss. Without having a detailed breakdown of the steps that were taken, it's going to be difficult to pin down the cause.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ

I just created a custom SSDT UIAC for my Z390 AORUS Ultra. Attached with this post. Sharing so anyone else who wants to follow my map can use it.
...
Awesome, thank you for sharing!
  • As @trs96 pointed out, your USB 3.x Super Speed (SS) ports are missing.
    • Insert a USB 3 flash disk or other device into each of the non-black USB ports (blue, red, yellow) and you'll find them.
  • Do you have the NZXT H510i or the non-RGB H510?
EDIT: Just saw the updated post. Nicely done!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
Dell 7010
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Awesome, thank you for sharing!
  • As @trs96 pointed out, your USB 3.x Super Speed (SS) ports are missing.
    • Insert a USB 3 flash disk or other device into each of the non-black USB ports (blue, red, yellow) and you'll find them.
  • Do you have the NZXT H510i or the non-RGB H510?
EDIT: Just saw the updated post. Nicely done!
Hang on, still testing.. so might need a few more updates
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,481
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Hang on, still testing.. so might need a few more updates
Nice work RPH. Glad to see you're taking CaseySJ's graduate level hackintosh course. You've chosen a really great teacher.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
Dell 7010
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
UPDATED SSDT FOR Z390 AORUS ULTRA ATTACHED
Also, I had to remove all the other SSDT files provided by Casey which corresponded to DESIGNARE. They seemed to be conflicting with my AORUS Ultra SSDT.

My patched folder now only has one SSDT - SSDT-Z390-AORUS-ULTRA-UIAC.aml

Wow, it was a great first time learning experience. It was frustrating at times but thankfully all the good work has already been done by several folks, therefore, it was all about reading and patiently trying several options. In the end everything worked as expected.
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,481
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
My patched folder now only has one SSDT
One more small change. HS13 "UsbConnector" value of 0xFF (255 in decimal) because it's an internal USB 2 header. Casey uses Zero for his internal USB headers. That is another option you could use.
Screen Shot 14.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
Dell 7010
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
One more small change. HS13 "UsbConnector" value of 0xFF (255 in decimal) because it's an internal USB 2 header. Casey uses Zero for his internal USB headers. That is another option you could use.
View attachment 430431
trs96 Sir, thank you for pointing that out. I didn't change the types in USBMap tool, actually didn't even bother to look closely. I think I've got it fixed now. Updated the file above.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,

Here is my EFI with 0.5.1.
I don't useUSBInjectAll, I've made an injector kext for USB mapping for my own configuration and needs. However, I've changed that, and added USBinjectall in this folder. I've also removed some of the kexts I used, such as Virtual SMC plugin kexts, and AGPMInjector for my graphics card in accordance to the SMBIOS profile I've used.

In case you want to add more kexts, or remove kexts, disable/enable, I suggest you read the documentations for that.

The SMBIOS System Profile is for iMac 1,1. You might want to change it.
I've turned off "Show Picker", in this case, the boot picker won't be accessible, and it will boot "instantly"*, without you choosing the drive. With the boot policy of 983299 (APFS). If you want to change this, then I suggest you read the documentations. I would suggest you to read the documentations either way, regardless.

[NVRAM]: I don't get NVRAM issues at all. But many people do with Z390. Especially with OpenCore. In this case, I haven't added any NVRAM emulation solution. And if this is needed, then I would refer you to the documentations.


I suggest you keep your clover, and test this on another drive.

**OpenCore is at its beta stages, and is only recommended for advanced users. Users who're willing to spend some time to read the OpenCore documentations and to test OpenCore. Whilst it won't really break your system to try it, use it at your own risk.**

To be honest, I always feel guilty posting my EFI folder. I strongly stand by an individual learning experience. I support guide-makers and their guides. I believe a person should know how their computer is running their OS, especially when they are doing something such as hackintoshing. Usually people would add and replace the EFI folder, which limits their learning experience to the fullest. I stand by documented reasonings for each tiny configuration. This said, I certainly hope people who use this EFI would not just use it without learning about OpenCore, and knowing what is in it.

Kudos to CaseySJ for the guide. I know CaseySJ is fine with me posting OpenCore EFI folders, but in in any case he changes his mind, I don't mind him removing my post, or the folder from my post.
I referenced your config with mine and the documentation.

In my case nothing gets the native NVRAM working, though I didn't expect it to. It may be a very specific case that it works for you. I setup the LoginHook and emulated NVRAM and left it at that.

I was able to get a refined minimal config going through testing. As few patches/quirks/etc as necessary to work on my build. Also was able to do the same with Clover after finding out I could remove a lot of things there and my system still work.

There are 2 issues I am having though. I've tried various options in the process of troubleshooting, trying additional configuration options, and reducing unnecessary options, but they persist.
1. I'm assuming OpenCore has some way at the picker to have a default boot but I haven't figured out how to set that up if it exists. Since it shows my USB drives before my NVME if I were to let the time expire it would default to USB despite NVME boot. I might be completely wrong of this existing.

2. Sleep mode doesn't work. I don't know if you use sleep mode at all, but if you do, did you have any issues?
In my case I can put the PC to sleep, and it will power off. I can then press a key to wake it, but then it boots to the BIOS screen as if it was a fresh boot and I get a report crash for Sleep Wake EFI. Sleep works in Clover even after I made a minimal config there. I removed all the Clover RC scripts and preference pane awhile back so it isn't that conflicting.
 
Top