Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,746
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Hang on, still testing.. so might need a few more updates
Nice work RPH. Glad to see you're taking CaseySJ's graduate level hackintosh course. You've chosen a really great teacher.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
Mobile Phone
iOS
UPDATED SSDT FOR Z390 AORUS ULTRA ATTACHED
Also, I had to remove all the other SSDT files provided by Casey which corresponded to DESIGNARE. They seemed to be conflicting with my AORUS Ultra SSDT.

My patched folder now only has one SSDT - SSDT-Z390-AORUS-ULTRA-UIAC.aml

Wow, it was a great first time learning experience. It was frustrating at times but thankfully all the good work has already been done by several folks, therefore, it was all about reading and patiently trying several options. In the end everything worked as expected.
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,746
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
My patched folder now only has one SSDT
One more small change. HS13 "UsbConnector" value of 0xFF (255 in decimal) because it's an internal USB 2 header. Casey uses Zero for his internal USB headers. That is another option you could use.
Screen Shot 14.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
Mobile Phone
iOS
One more small change. HS13 "UsbConnector" value of 0xFF (255 in decimal) because it's an internal USB 2 header. Casey uses Zero for his internal USB headers. That is another option you could use.
View attachment 430431
trs96 Sir, thank you for pointing that out. I didn't change the types in USBMap tool, actually didn't even bother to look closely. I think I've got it fixed now. Updated the file above.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,

Here is my EFI with 0.5.1.
I don't useUSBInjectAll, I've made an injector kext for USB mapping for my own configuration and needs. However, I've changed that, and added USBinjectall in this folder. I've also removed some of the kexts I used, such as Virtual SMC plugin kexts, and AGPMInjector for my graphics card in accordance to the SMBIOS profile I've used.

In case you want to add more kexts, or remove kexts, disable/enable, I suggest you read the documentations for that.

The SMBIOS System Profile is for iMac 1,1. You might want to change it.
I've turned off "Show Picker", in this case, the boot picker won't be accessible, and it will boot "instantly"*, without you choosing the drive. With the boot policy of 983299 (APFS). If you want to change this, then I suggest you read the documentations. I would suggest you to read the documentations either way, regardless.

[NVRAM]: I don't get NVRAM issues at all. But many people do with Z390. Especially with OpenCore. In this case, I haven't added any NVRAM emulation solution. And if this is needed, then I would refer you to the documentations.


I suggest you keep your clover, and test this on another drive.

**OpenCore is at its beta stages, and is only recommended for advanced users. Users who're willing to spend some time to read the OpenCore documentations and to test OpenCore. Whilst it won't really break your system to try it, use it at your own risk.**

To be honest, I always feel guilty posting my EFI folder. I strongly stand by an individual learning experience. I support guide-makers and their guides. I believe a person should know how their computer is running their OS, especially when they are doing something such as hackintoshing. Usually people would add and replace the EFI folder, which limits their learning experience to the fullest. I stand by documented reasonings for each tiny configuration. This said, I certainly hope people who use this EFI would not just use it without learning about OpenCore, and knowing what is in it.

Kudos to CaseySJ for the guide. I know CaseySJ is fine with me posting OpenCore EFI folders, but in in any case he changes his mind, I don't mind him removing my post, or the folder from my post.
I referenced your config with mine and the documentation.

In my case nothing gets the native NVRAM working, though I didn't expect it to. It may be a very specific case that it works for you. I setup the LoginHook and emulated NVRAM and left it at that.

I was able to get a refined minimal config going through testing. As few patches/quirks/etc as necessary to work on my build. Also was able to do the same with Clover after finding out I could remove a lot of things there and my system still work.

There are 2 issues I am having though. I've tried various options in the process of troubleshooting, trying additional configuration options, and reducing unnecessary options, but they persist.
1. I'm assuming OpenCore has some way at the picker to have a default boot but I haven't figured out how to set that up if it exists. Since it shows my USB drives before my NVME if I were to let the time expire it would default to USB despite NVME boot. I might be completely wrong of this existing.

2. Sleep mode doesn't work. I don't know if you use sleep mode at all, but if you do, did you have any issues?
In my case I can put the PC to sleep, and it will power off. I can then press a key to wake it, but then it boots to the BIOS screen as if it was a fresh boot and I get a report crash for Sleep Wake EFI. Sleep works in Clover even after I made a minimal config there. I removed all the Clover RC scripts and preference pane awhile back so it isn't that conflicting.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
I referenced your config with mine and the documentation.

In my case nothing gets the native NVRAM working, though I didn't expect it to. It may be a very specific case that it works for you. I setup the LoginHook and emulated NVRAM and left it at that.

I was able to get a refined minimal config going through testing. As few patches/quirks/etc as necessary to work on my build. Also was able to do the same with Clover after finding out I could remove a lot of things there and my system still work.

There are 2 issues I am having though. I've tried various options in the process of troubleshooting, trying additional configuration options, and reducing unnecessary options, but they persist.
1. I'm assuming OpenCore has some way at the picker to have a default boot but I haven't figured out how to set that up if it exists. Since it shows my USB drives before my NVME if I were to let the time expire it would default to USB despite NVME boot. I might be completely wrong of this existing.

2. Sleep mode doesn't work. I don't know if you use sleep mode at all, but if you do, did you have any issues?
In my case I can put the PC to sleep, and it will power off. I can then press a key to wake it, but then it boots to the BIOS screen as if it was a fresh boot and I get a report crash for Sleep Wake EFI. Sleep works in Clover even after I made a minimal config there. I removed all the Clover RC scripts and preference pane awhile back so it isn't that conflicting.

Hi,

I'm glad you're trying out OpenCore. I hope the experience is teaching you a lot.

I don't let the config.plist stay minimal to any level, when I share my config.plist or entire EFI folder.
The reason is that I actually do not condone uploading EFI's for one to use. I am actually going against myself when I do it. I just feel OpenCore is a thing people should be aware of, and that might be the reason why I upload my EFI Folder, when someone asks for it.

Anyhow. I digress...

I don't keep the config.plist minimal because it actually keeps a persons learning experience less, when they don't know what the other functionalities are, despite them not being on. Because when going through the config.plist, eventually they'd have to read everything. Mustn't forget that OpenCore changes every month, and that is also why I wouldn't keep a config.plist I'd upload to a minimal level. Specially when I stand by the learning experience.

When it comes to my NVRAAM working natively. I am not sure why my NVRAM works natively. I've spoken to others with Z390, and they have NVRAM issues. As of now, according to what vit9696 said last time about NVRAM and 300 series boards. It isn't really their primary goal to have it fixed straight away. Eventually they will though, if someone else doesn't do it before them. My friend and I, we've tried every possible way to test why my NVRAM works. We've tested it so much, as if we didn't want it to work (crazy). But it can depend on various things, even your UEFI version.

Answer to your problem #1
When it comes to the time expiring, you can setup more time, or even setup having no time limit.
Your booting issue, not having the default boot is most likely because you haven't gone through scan policy. I have mentioned this in my post where I've uploaded my OpenCore EFI Folder 0.5.1. Also, you might want to read about "RequestBootVarRouting".

• Scan Policy
•RequestBootVarRouting

Answer to your Problem #2
My sleep works well, and even restart and on/off. My sleep didn't work when I first started using OpenCore. I forgot how I fixed it, but it was less to do with OpenCore. I also found that having AGPMinjector kext helped for it.

I'll come back to the sleep issue with an edit on the same post.


I don't mean any ill intent telling you this. And I apologise beforehand if I offend you. But I don't think you followed the documentation to an understanding satisfactory level. This is why I wouldn't make a config.plist I upload to be minimal, because if it was, people wouldn't see what OpenCore has to offer entirely. Especially if they don't read the documentations.

Now, this doesn't mean you didn't read it at all. Sometimes people read documentations and go through what they might think is right for their hardware, but not to a full level. And the documentations of OpenCore aren't exactly an easy OneTwoThree guide to go through, they are manuals and configurations, definitions of each function. It can be overwhelming.

I feel like you're a person who'd rather like to get the learning experience, and be able to independently hackintosh to some level. To actually know what makes your MacOS run on your third-party non Apple hardware. And that is why I feel it is important to refer to the documentations.

I will try to help with OpenCore to the best of my knowledge and effort, if I can. However, let us not forget that OpenCore is on its public beta. The OpenCore's aim is to release updates every month. It changes drastically every month. Something new comes and goes all the time. Because of this fact, I don't think OpenCore should be the main focus of this thread, other than being a hot-topic to mention from time to time, something to anticipate for when the time arises, a test topic. Just like the topic of testing a beta version of MacOS. I feel it'd be wrong to push OpenCore to the guide and its thread, simply because of where OpenCore is today.

Generally saying, when you touch something that isn't released as a final version, it is mostly on you as a person to deal with it. Though you might not find it tough to work with OpenCore, but it might be more time consuming and knowledge requiring at the moment. 
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac mini
Some people have reported many bugs Resolve had with various hardware. The latest Resolve updates should have sorted that out (you downloaded the latest version?).

The iGPU should be inactivated, as CaseySJ indicated, as an active iGPU can make Resolve less stable.

The 475% CPU usage you report is a little bothersome. It should be more like 80 to 95% during max use. I may have missed it, but are you over-clocking? If so, perhaps lower the settings. (If at 5 GHz, maybe try 4.3 or 4.5 GHz.) And, have you set the AVX in BIOS to something like 3, rather than leaving at Auto? That might help.

In looking at the DaVinci spec requirements (here), you should be fine. In the preferences section, you can specify how much RAM is used by Revolve. I've also heard that selecting DNxHR SQ in the optimized media preferences section may help reduce CPU overhead (but at a cost rendering time and storage space).

Are you over-clocking the RAM? I've seen stability improvements by decreasing the DDR4 speed, in 200MHz steps, from the maximum rated speed. The overall loss in computer speed by the reduction is trivial vs the potential for improved stability.

Another source for Resolve crashes in inadequate file permission. Maybe give Resolve full access permission in System Preferences/Security & Privacy/Privacy/Accessibility section. And also check the permissions of the folder where files are being read and written to: highlight folder and right click for "Get Info". Then, at bottom of this window, allow "Read & Write" for all users.
@rj510
I'm back in the studio after my vacation.

I tried setting the AVX in BIOS to 3 and it's still crashes on render. I've also try setting 0 with the same result.
Sometime it crashes at 2%and other time at 50 to 80% point, very random. I also tried rendering to different codec.
When it crashes, it will lock up the machine and the only way out is to reboot.

Permission on disk is set to both read and write and I have also try rendering to other hard drive.
Resolve has full permission in System Preferences/Security & Privacy/Privacy/Accessibility section.

There's no OC on CPU and RAM.
I have 32GB of RAM and have limit Resolve memory usage to 24GB.
I'm using the Studio Version of Davinci Resolve 16.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Very good -- let's try the following (no guarantees, but something that should be done nevertheless):
  • Copy USBInjectAll.kext to CLOVER/kexts/Other. If you don't have this, then future boot into Recovery volume may fail or a macOS update may fail.
  • The open the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder and do this:
    • Move or delete the existing file SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V2.aml
    • Replace it with the attached file SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V3-HS11-INTERNAL.aml
      • Based on your IOReg output, Bluetooth is connected to HS11 and an ITE Tech device is connected to HS12.
      • HS11 has therefore been set to Internal
      • HS12 is still set to External
    • Also copy the attached file SSDT-EC.aml to the same folder.
  • Then reboot.
Again, there's no guarantee this will fix the issue with Rig Manager and USB ports, but let's give it a try.
@CaseySJ I followed all of this, and I think it made a difference: I have to push Rig manager much harder and browse through many more rigs until I get the crash.
 
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M-ITX/ac
CPU
i5
Is there a motherboard that can use the same UEFI folder like Z390 Designare but still cheaper?
Hy!

Can anyone help me?
Is there any motherboard that can use the same UEFI folder like Z390 Designare but still cheaper?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,543
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hy!

Can anyone help me?
Is there any motherboard that can use the same UEFI folder like Z390 Designare but still cheaper?
Gigabyte’s Z390 AORUS Ultra is a good alternative. See post 8631 above for USB SSDT. Most of the Clover configuration will be the same as Designare Z390. Just have to replace some SSDTs — we can help you with that once you decide on a particular motherboard.
 
Top