Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks. How do I validate High Current is working properly?
The best way is to connect an iPad and see whether it begins to charge.
Second, since I am only using one of the internal USB ports, does it make sense to disable the other and re-enable one of the externals?
Sure. If you know the name of the port to disable the port to enable, it's easy to modify the USB SSDT. If you'd like my help, just post the USB SSDT you're currently using and mention the affected port names.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
The best way is to connect an iPad and see whether it begins to charge.

Sure. If you know the name of the port to disable the port to enable, it's easy to modify the USB SSDT. If you'd like my help, just post the USB SSDT you're currently using and mention the affected port names.
Since you posted a disassembled file in the Fractal setup, I should be able to simply make changes there and replace the SSDTs file, correct?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
234
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Unfortunately that's not correct. If you search this thread for posts by "joevt" you will find a number of detailed technical posts regarding this issue. The bottom line is that we cannot trust the resolution information provided by macOS in some places. For a true 5K monitor (5120 x 2880) driven by a single DP-In, the actual frame buffer resolution is 4096 x 2304 (9.4M pixels). This is more than 1 million more pixels than a 4K monitor, but still a little less than true 5K.

The 34" LG monitor that you are considering (5120 x 2160) is 11M pixels, which is more than the 9.4M pixels that a full 5K monitor receives from this motherboard. That is why I don't think this system will provide full 5120 x 2160 resolution through the Thunderbolt port.

However, if you buy a Gigabyte GC-Alpine Ridgle (not GC-Titan Ridge) then you will be able to drive this monitor at its full resolution via Thunderbolt 3. The nice thing about the GC-Alpine Ridge is that:
  • Even though it needs a Thunderbolt Header connection to the motherboard (THB_C) -- and the Designare Z390 does NOT have this header -- we don't have to worry about it!
  • Just connect 2 DisplayPort cables from the AMD Graphics Card to the 2 DP-In ports and you should be good to go.
  • However, we should not expect any other Thunderbolt devices to work because the THB_C header is missing. Only Thunderbolt 3 monitors can be expected to work.
The reason to stay away from the newer GC-Titan Ridge is because:
  • The Titan Ridge controller on the card is the same as the Titan Ridge controller on the motherboard.
  • The motherboard will disable the built-in Titan Ridge controller because it sees a duplicate device. The Gigabyte firmware should be smart enough to support both controllers, but I don't think it does.
  • So the on-board Thunderbolt ports may not work.
Thanks for the time and effort you put for once again Casey!! :)
So as far as I can understand, I can run 34WK95U (5k2k) at 4k res (only horizontal 4k, vertical as I have found shall be around 1600) without issues at 60hz right? I think I can try that and see if Im happy with the results. If not, then I can buy a Gigabyte Titan Ridge tb3 controller and plug 2 DisplayPort cables from my rx580 to mini dp ports of the controller. Then I connect a tb3 cable from controller's tb3 connection to the the monitor's tb3 port. I lose of course designare's tb3 ports but Im staying with an additional tb3 port from controller to plug in my Lacie 2Big DAS system. Is it sure that all these are going to work without any issues and out of the box?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
234
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
I just received my new DAS Lacie 2Big Dock Thunderbolt 3 12Tb edition. It works great and Blackmagic Disk Speed Test gives me read and write speeds similar to real macs through tb3 connection! Here are the results both on Raid0 and Raid1 configurations.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac mini
Need some urgent help.

Just finish a colour grading job on DaVinci Resolve 16 Studio Version, everything works well except for rendering.
It will render well for awhile and then lock up the the whole computer. Sometimes it lock up at 15% and other time close to finishing like 90%. The only way out is to reboot the computer.
Originally, I thought it was the iGPU causing the problem so I disable the iGPU in the Bios and changed my original
Mac mini8,1 to iMacPro 1,1. Unfortunately, render still lock up the computer.

Btw, when it crashes, the mouse can still move around but otherwise nothing works. MacOS also didn't display a crash message.

I'm using a Sapphire Nitro Vega 64 in slot 2 PCIE.

Any advise is much appreciated.

@CaseySJ
For Pro Apps - Option 1 (No iGPU)

iMacPro 1,1
Platform ID (not needed)
BIOS-IGFX Disabled
Injectintel + Disabled

I don't understand the below. How do I go about changing it? Thanks
No WEG properties
Lilu Whatevergreen
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
RX 580
Would you mind posting your config.plist? Also curious what you have in L/E and Kexts/other.
Here is a copy of my config.plist (FYI, I have screen brightness enabled via F1/F2) and screenshots of Kexts/other and L/E.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
After many weeks using my hackintosh, I discover some small strange problems.

1) USB on my tower case (Be Quiet Silent Base 601)

IMG_7878.jpg


If I connect something in the the USB A and after a USB key in USB B, the USB A stop working. But it depend which USB Key I connect in. With other keys, I don't have this problem.

2) Bluetooth card The Fenvi FV-T919

IMG_7881.jpg


If I install the Bluetooth card in the PCIe x1 adapter, Bluetooth is not working. I have to insert in the last PCI slot. Can you explain me why ?

3) Loosing bluetooth signal

I sometimes feel that the Bluetooth signal is weak and my apple keyboard disconnects itself. I have to get him closer to the tower. However I'm not far from my tower. As if the signal was having trouble getting out or there was interference. Yes I know there is a post talking about this but nothing changed using Wifi 5 GHz. Is it maybe a problem of my tower case ? How to improve the signal ?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Need some urgent help.

Just finish a colour grading job on DaVinci Resolve 16 Studio Version, everything works well except for rendering.
It will render well for awhile and then lock up the the whole computer. Sometimes it lock up at 15% and other time close to finishing like 90%. The only way out is to reboot the computer.
Originally, I thought it was the iGPU causing the problem so I disable the iGPU in the Bios and changed my original
Mac mini8,1 to iMacPro 1,1. Unfortunately, render still lock up the computer.

Btw, when it crashes, the mouse can still move around but otherwise nothing works. MacOS also didn't display a crash message.

I'm using a Sapphire Nitro Vega 64 in slot 2 PCIE.

Any advise is much appreciated.

@CaseySJ
For Pro Apps - Option 1 (No iGPU)

iMacPro 1,1
Platform ID (not needed)
BIOS-IGFX Disabled
Injectintel + Disabled

I don't understand the below. How do I go about changing it? Thanks
No WEG properties
Lilu Whatevergreen
First thing that comes to mind is to check CPU temperatures while rendering. If temps are getting to near critical levels, the system may halt.

For iMacPro 1,1 we should delete all IGPU properties from Clover Configurator --> Devices --> Properties. That's the meaning of "No WEG properties".
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the time and effort you put for once again Casey!! :)
So as far as I can understand, I can run 34WK95U (5k2k) at 4k res (only horizontal 4k, vertical as I have found shall be around 1600) without issues at 60hz right? I think I can try that and see if Im happy with the results. If not, then I can buy a Gigabyte Titan Ridge tb3 controller and plug 2 DisplayPort cables from my rx580 to mini dp ports of the controller. Then I connect a tb3 cable from controller's tb3 connection to the the monitor's tb3 port. I lose of course designare's tb3 ports but Im staying with an additional tb3 port from controller to plug in my Lacie 2Big DAS system. Is it sure that all these are going to work without any issues and out of the box?
I recommend the GC-Alpine Ridge instead of the GC-Titan Ridge. When you install either of these cards, only a Thunderbolt 3 monitor is expected to work. We cannot expect any other Thunderbolt devices to work because we are not connected the THB_C header. No one has tested this to determine which devices will and will not work, so you will be taking a chance.

With the GC-Alpine Ridge, the on-board Thunderbolt controller will still work, which means all other Thunderbolt devices will still connect. But with GC-Titan Ridge, you will lose the on-board controller.
 
Top