Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
9
It might be a good idea to fully activate the UHD 630 ports. Whether this has an impact on the RX 580's ability to drive your HDMI TV is unclear, but it won't hurt and will rule out one additional factor.

The easy way to do this is simply copy and paste the settings below to your config.plist on the EFI partition of your Mojave disk as shown.
Code:
        <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                BwCbPg==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                mz4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>enable-hdmi20</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                BgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
Just need to copy and paste the above code into this section:
Code:
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
    <key>Audio</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <integer>7</integer>
        <key>ResetHDA</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
    --- paste the Properties section right here between Audio and USB ---
    <key>USB</key>
    <dict>
        <key>FixOwnership</key>
        <true/>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
</dict>
After rebooting you can even try connecting the HDMI TV to the HDMI port on the motherboard itself...
OK, so that didn't go well. I'm not sure if I pasted the code into the config.plist correctly though.

The UHD630 wasn't recognised and my LG 5K wen't back to the strange half and half (2 displays recognised) issues from before.

I've attached by config.plist (with SN removed) if you could double check my workings?
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@TheAsocial I'm wondering if you had a chance to try connecting Apple Thunderbolt Display today? Really curious to see your experience with it.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,133
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Also, here is my config.plist before I made the change.
Please try the attached config 2b.plist. The only suspicious settings were (a) ig-platform-id="0x0" instead of having it empty (in Graphics page of Clover Configurator) and (b) InjectIntel=true (which I set to false). The same problem exists in both config 2.plist and config 3.plist.

When we apply framebuffer settings via the Properties section, we should disable IntelGFX, InjectIntel, and ig-platform-id from the Devices and Graphics pages of Clover Configurator. That's because we want WhateverGreen to fully take over those functions. (We don't want Clover injecting any conflicting parameters.)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
173
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Oh yea, I just edited my first Audio Project with it. I do a Podcast for a friend which involves editing, eq'ing and then compressing (the audio) then the files into MP3. This machine is way faster than my old one, and my 2016 MBPro. I did a little comparison and it is on par with an "entry level" iMacPro. With far more storage and RAM. Woo Hoo! Thanks again @CaseySJ and everyone else who helped. Especially the FCP crew.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
306
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys,

I often have a disconnection of Thunderbolt 3 cables. in fact I can not find out if it comes from the hackintosh or the quality of the design in general Thunderbolt 3 / USB-C. if I have the misfortune to touch the connector, it disconnects. It's crazy. If I do not approach the computer, everything is fine. Did you meet this? Or you can safely touch the cable without problem?
I will end up believing that the design / manufacture of USB-C is really crap.
Thank you.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
173
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
My motto: When in doubt, use DisplayPort. It seems to be the least fussy of them all!
LOL, it was weird. When the monitors were dark (HDMI connected), I could see the second one in System Profiler. And I could log in using Chrome Remote Desktop (I HIGHLY recommend using this, it is available after boot and before logging in) if the main one was black. Now with DP all good! I am still using iMac18,3 in SMBIOS.

Jules
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
173
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys,

I often have a disconnection of thunderbolt3 cables. in fact I can not find out if it comes from the hackintosh or the quality of the design in general thunderbolt 3 / USB-C. if I have the misfortune to touch the connector, it disconnects. it's crazy. if I do not approach the computer, everything is fine. did you meet this? Or you can safely touch the cable without problem?
i will end up believing that the design / manufacture of usb-c is really crap
thank you
This happens with my MB Pro, If I bump the cable connected sometimes my drives drop out. I Ended up buying a couple $$ good cables and that helped. It seems to be my MB Pro connectors...
 
Top