Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
858
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@joevt I use the Z390 and the 5 SATA ports of the board itself. Thanks
If you use a M.2 drive, it needs to be NVMe and only the M2P slot can be used. None of the 5 SATA drives should be connected to "SATA3 0". They should be connected to SATA3 1,2,3,4,5

Delete the raid, and test each drive individually. Which benchmark are you using? Blackmagic or AJA are simple enough. Create a raid with 2 drives, then 3, then 4, then 5. Check the speed of each size to see how it the raid scales.

Install pciutils and use "sudo lspci -nnvv" to check the link width and speed of all your PCIe devices in the chain. You could also try my pcitree.sh script which may be easier to read.
#127
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
63
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Casey/Hackers

I have not seen BruceX Scores better than 7s-ish,
I was wondering if this was just coincidence or the test is too short for new systems.

Wanting to upgrade to a Designare / 9900k system, trying to see if it will be any faster.
I recently got two RX580s to work in my old X79/4930k system, and the scores are surprisingly good.

Attached is an updated BruceX Test,Could you please run this :)
Standard 5k
5K X5 (which is just 5 copies of the original)
New 8k Version

My System (ProRes 422)
Mojave 10.14.6 | Final Cut Pro X 10.4.6 | Dual RX580's
Bruce-X - 5K . <9s
Bruce-X - 8K . <20s
Bruce-X - 5K X5 >41s
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
909
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just performed four successful sleep/wake cycles in a row (no darkwake). Each cycle consisted of:
  1. Apple Menu --> Sleep (user triggered sleep instead of idle sleep)
  2. Let the system sleep for 30 to 40 seconds
  3. Press key on keyboard to invoke Stage 1 Wake (partial wake)
  4. Wait 10 seconds
  5. Press key again to invoke Full Wake (monitor turns on, login prompt appears)
  6. Then use the system normally for 5-10 minutes
  7. Return to Step 1 three more times
Uh. My rig immediately wakes at the first keypress. Anyway, now sleep(via menu) worked 5 times in a row. With darkwake=0.
Only thing, after some wakes it takes a while before my mouse and keyboard become active again.
 
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
294
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@joevt I haven't got the txt from my friend that got the new LG 5k with a 2017 MBP. BUT I got another .txt from another friend who has the old LG 5k with a 2016 MBP. Attaching it here
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
731
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
Just performed four successful sleep/wake cycles in a row (no darkwake). Each cycle consisted of:
  1. Apple Menu --> Sleep (user triggered sleep instead of idle sleep)
  2. Let the system sleep for 30 to 40 seconds
  3. Press key on keyboard to invoke Stage 1 Wake (partial wake)
  4. Wait 10 seconds
  5. Press key again to invoke Full Wake (monitor turns on, login prompt appears)
  6. Then use the system normally for 5-10 minutes
  7. Return to Step 1 three more times
the only issue I've had with sleep is after a (seemingly) random number of cycles, when I wake it I've lost audio ("internal speakers", rear green port). the fix is a restart.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
355
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
FYI. I found that darkwake=10 is the solution. Takes a bit longer to wake from sleep but unlocks with my Apple Watch every time now.
This is interesting, I'm using Darkwake=0 and my Watch will unlock my Hack just fine. I do have proximityWake set to 0 (off) so it's not waking up automatically when I walk in the room, but I hit a key or bump the mouse I'll get a fully up and ready (logged in) computer with in seconds.
 
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
294
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@joevt and this is another one, new 2019 LG Ultrafine 5k with MBP from 2016. Sorry I'm yet unable to find someone with both 2018 MBP and 2019 LG Ultrafine :(
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
858
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@joevt I haven't got the txt from my friend that got the new LG 5k with a 2017 MBP. BUT I got another .txt from another friend who has the old LG 5k with a 2016 MBP. Attaching it here
EDID product number 5b11. Year 2017. Serial number starts with 7.

The EDID of the first connection contains timing info for a single cable connection (640x480, 2160p, 1440p, 4096x2304, 3200x1800). For dual cable connection, it has tiling info that identifies itself as the left side 2560x2880 pixels. The EDID for the second connection is similar to the first but is reduced to just the tiling info that identifies itself as the right side 2560x2880 pixels.

@joevt and this is another one, new 2019 LG Ultrafine 5k with MBP from 2016. Sorry I'm yet unable to find someone with both 2018 MBP and 2019 LG Ultrafine :(
EDID product number 5b74. Year 2019. Serial number starts with 9. Both EDID's are similar to the corresponding EDID's of the 2017 model except for two timing differences:
1) 4096x2304 is replaced with another 3840x2160 timing. The timing is now set to Preferred and the pixel clock for this timing is 522.600 MHz where the first 2160p timing is 522.610 MHz.
2) The 2560x2880 tile timing has an increased back porch and therefore a higher pixel clock of 483.36 MHz instead of 469.170 MHz.

I don't see any indication of any DisplayPort 1.4 HBR3 support. If there was any in the 2019 model, it probably would have showed somewhere even if it was connected to a 2016 MBP. But never can be too sure.

I like the EDID from AGDCDiagnose because it seems to be original from the display. The EDID from SwitchResX can include overridden information and SwitchResX can't seem to get the EDID from the second connection of a dual link or dual cable display.

Since both connections have the same product and vendor ID and date of manufacture, there is no way to override the EDID of the second connection using the /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides method. Well, there's a mtdd file for dual link/dual cable displays as well as the main override file for the display. The overrides folder for LG displays (1e6d) has overrides for both 5b11 and 5b74. I think 5b10 and 5b7b are 4K displays.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
294
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@joevt Yes the first .txt file is from a friend who got the old 5k + another 4k, the LG 27UK850 (but I think it's connected through a caldigit tb3 dock)

Since both connections have the same product and vendor ID and date of manufacture, there is no way to override the EDID of the second connection using the /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides method. Well, there's a mtdd file for dual link/dual cable displays as well as the main override file for the display. The overrides folder for LG displays (1e6d) has overrides for both 5b11 and 5b74. I think 5b10 and 5b7b are 4K displays.
Thanks so much for the amazing explanation. I'm not entirely sure what you mean when talking about the override but I hope it doesn't mean anything wrong for making the display to work at 5k on a hackintosh haha
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
@JingleDjango
[...]I set the Apollo as my main driver and was able to record / playback a large session at 32 samples and 64 samples via thunderbolt with no problems.[...]
Maybe it's a problem with Protools? Do you have any other DAWs installed on your computer to test?
I tried the same thing in Ableton this morning: I set the buffer to 64 samples and armed a track for recording. No freezes or stuttering there so I guess it's a Pro Tools thing. Still a bit disconcerting.
 
Top