Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello people

I am having problems with the Wifi network of this motherboard. From what I read, Mojave doesn't support Intel's Wifi network natively, so I want to swap for the BCM94360CS2 WiFi / BT card.

My question is if I can remove the original Intel CNVi card and put the BCM94360CS2 WiFi / BT card in its place, ie in the same slot?


Another question, but in relation to TB3. For the device to appear in the System Report, do I need to have something plugged into the motherboard's TB3 output?

Thanks for the help!
A good starting point is to read through the guide on page one of this thread. Most questions can be answered in the guide that CaseySJ has put together.

From the guide on page one.
The Intel CNVi WiFi/Bluetooth card that comes preinstalled on this motherboard is not compatible with Mojave, but it's not necessary to remove the card. A natively-compatible BCM94360CS2 WiFi/BT card can be piggybacked onto a suitable PCIe x1 adapter (see Components) and installed into an available PCIe x1 slot. The CNVi slot, moreover, is not pin compatible with NGFF M.2 cards, but it may be pin compatible with NGFF Key-E M.2 cards. I have not tested this so I cannot attest to its suitability on this motherboard.

The Intel CNVi card connects Bluetooth to USB port HS14. And the PCIe adapter with piggybacked BCM94360CS2 module should be connected to the motherboard USB 2.0 header (F_USB) located next to the FAN_PUMP header. This header consists of USB 2 ports HS11 and HS12. A custom SSDT, applied in post-installation, therefore disables HS14 and enables both HS11 and HS12.
I have been using the BCM94360CS2 WiFi/BT with PCIe adapter card for 7 months with no issues.
Currently it seems that the Fenvi FV-T919 is the preferred WIFI/BT solution.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
1. I am thinking of getting 'Sapphire Radeon Nitro + RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI DVI Dual DP W/BP (UEFI) 256-bit 2.2slot Active'. Do you have any comment on the compatibility? Will I be able to use all the ports or is there some type of limit on the type/number of ports used?
I've been using this very card in this specific Hack for a few months now and it's worked without a hitch.
I do not use all the ports and haven't tested them all, but I can confirm that it is recognized properly in macOS and has never caused any system glitches or instability.

Note: My signature specifies the Pulse because they don't have the Nitro+ available in the dropdown list, so I picked the closest alternative.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,615
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello people

I am having problems with the Wifi network of this motherboard. From what I read, Mojave doesn't support Intel's Wifi network natively, so I want to swap for the BCM94360CS2 WiFi / BT card.

My question is if I can remove the original Intel CNVi card and put the BCM94360CS2 WiFi / BT card in its place, ie in the same slot?
The Intel CNVi is fully supported in Windows so we should leave it installed. Simply purchase a Fenvi FV-T919 or FV-HB1200 instead. Both of these are plug-and-play compatible with macOS.

Another question, but in relation to TB3. For the device to appear in the System Report, do I need to have something plugged into the motherboard's TB3 output?
The Thunderbolt section of System Information will always say No Drivers are Loaded until we can somehow activate Thunderbolt Bus on Titan Ridge and Alpine Ridge controllers. So at this time we rely on IORegistryExplorer to show us which devices are connected to the Thunderbolt ports.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,615
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I relied on the guide and installed Mojave without any problems. I am using AMD RX Vega 64 8GB 8176 MB as iMac Pro (2017).

A few minutes after launching mac, the mac system freezes completely. It will not move at all after a while. The mac cursor is not moving at all, the upper right time is not changing. There is no pattern even if freeze occurs. You can not see the forced termination of the finder. Commands and periods also don't work. I'm forced to quit by pressing and holding the power button.

I do not know what causes such strange problems.

I compress EFI and paste it here.
Please give me some advice to solve it.

Thank you.
Unfortunately your configuration has a lot of significant problems:
  • You are using SMBIOS iMacPro1,1. This machine uses an Intel Xeon processor that has no on-board IGPU, so we should delete the iGPU section from devices --> properties.
  • You have older versions of the SSDTs in CLOVER/ACPI/patched
  • You have every conceivable kext in CLOVER/kexts/Other
  • With Mojave 10.14.5 and later, we should not use any Vega SSDT.
  • You have not installed SSDT-DESIGNARE-Z390-NO-CNVW.aml
  • You are using FakeSMC with KGP's sensor kexts for the X99 board. These kexts are not recommended/compatible with latest Mojave release.
  • EmuVariableUefi-64 is missing.
Attached is a modified CLOVER folder that fixes all of these issue. It uses latest VirtualSMC instead of FakeSMC. To install, please do this:
  • Boot your system with the USB Install Disk so that you can boot and login to Mojave.
  • Using Finder, go to /Library/Extensions folder and delete FakeSMC.kext and any of the sensor kexts such as:
    • ACPISensors.kext
    • CPUSensors.kext
    • GPUSensors.kext
    • LPCSensors.kext
  • Then run Kext Utility to rebuild kernel cache.
  • Now mount EFI Partition of Mojave SSD using Clover Configurator ("Mount EFI" option on left side panel).
    • Backup existing CLOVER folder
    • Replace it with the attached CLOVER folder (rename it to just "CLOVER")
    • Remove USB Install Disk
    • Reboot
    • Is the system stable?
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,615
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi CaseySJ,

Super Thanks for your help! It turned that the Mojave I was using was corrupted (I run Unibeast on a 10.13 machine with a mojave image downloaded on a different machine). Everything works now.

I have two very fast questions:

1. I am thinking of getting 'Sapphire Radeon Nitro + RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI DVI Dual DP W/BP (UEFI) 256-bit 2.2slot Active'. Do you have any comment on the compatibility? Will I be able to use all the ports or is there some type of limit on the type/number of ports used?
You should be able to use all ports, but may need to enable CSM Support in BIOS. The Sapphire Pulse is recommended over the Nitro+.

2. I do not want to get banned but is there a way to support your great effort and work you have done? Perhaps donation/patreon or something like that?
Thank you for the sentiment! You're always welcome to contribute to the site itself (upper left corner of webpage).
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Deisgnare Z390
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hi @mobi, @CaseySJ and everybody else!

Thanks to your great help I could do it, it was indeed a firmware problem and updating solved it.

Now, I got that installed but as soon as >I was into the initial mojave configuration (after three automatic reboots) I could hear MOjave's voicehelper but screen was black and could see only the mouse. I switched off, disconnected my Radeon VII and rebooted with HDMI into the Designare. Now I could see everything perfectly and set up the OS. I did my multibeast work, copy and pasted the POst installation files into the EFI folders but when I rebooted MOjave wouldn't load nor with nor without Radeon VII.

Any idea why this is happening?

Thank you very much for your superprecious help. hope I could reciprocate somehow!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,615
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @mobi, @CaseySJ and everybody else!

Thanks to your great help I could do it, it was indeed a firmware problem and updating solved it.

Now, I got that installed but as soon as >I was into the initial mojave configuration (after three automatic reboots) I could hear MOjave's voicehelper but screen was black and could see only the mouse. I switched off, disconnected my Radeon VII and rebooted with HDMI into the Designare. Now I could see everything perfectly and set up the OS. I did my multibeast work, copy and pasted the POst installation files into the EFI folders but when I rebooted MOjave wouldn't load nor with nor without Radeon VII.

Any idea why this is happening?

Thank you very much for your superprecious help. hope I could reciprocate somehow!
Some comments and suggestions:
  • After post-installation, the on-board HDMI port will likely turn off. But if you have a USB-C to DisplayPort cable, it should work with either of the two Thunderbolt ports on the back panel.
  • Nevertheless, the intent here is to activate the Radeon VII.
  • In BIOS, please check that Initial Display Output is set to PCIe 1 Slot.
  • You should be able to boot with the USB install disk (press F12 during BIOS splash screen) so try that and log into Mojave. Then mount EFI Partition of Mojave SSD and compress/upload the CLOVER folder.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your explanation really helps me. Thank you. Well, there are three things I do not know. One is to boot the system with the usb installation disk. Is this not good enough to start up mac normally? How do I create a USB installation disk and boot it?

And how do I rebuild the kernel cache?

Is the extenstion file SSD-System-Library-Extention?

Please forgive my elementary questions. sorry.

Thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
629
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
** Interim Update: Thunderbolt Local Node and Thunderbolt Bus **

First of all, don't get too excited. :)

Second of all, the screenshots below were taken on my Asus X99 Deluxe II Hackintosh. They show a complete Thunderbolt device tree!
  • Thunderbolt Local Node --> Successful
    • ThunderboltIPPort defining en6 (Thunderbolt Ethernet Bridge)
    • ThunderboltDPOutAdapter for Target Display Mode
    • AppleThunderboltPCIDownAdapter and AppleThunderboltPCIUpAdapter
  • Thunderbolt Bus --> Successful
    • Notice that Thunderbolt section of System Information does not say "No drivers are loaded". Instead, it displays the Thunderbolt Bus
I have a 2012 MacBook Air with Thunderbolt 2. So later this week I will attempt:
  • Hack-to-Mac Thunderbolt Ethernet connection
  • Hack-to-Mac TargetDisplayMode
  • Hack-to-Mac TargetDiskMode
Fine Print:
  • This only works with the Asus ThunderboltEx II card. It will not work with Asus ThunderboltEX 3.
  • I have the ThunderboltEx II Dual.
  • This card only works on Asus X99 motherboards.
  • Hot plug is not yet working. I just installed the card after approximately 3 weeks of wait (shipped from China via Ali Express) so have not fine-tuned the setup.
  • I have attached a PowerColor Gaming Station eGPU(via Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter) that includes USB 3 ports and an Ethernet port.
    • The USB ports and Ethernet port are working properly!
    • eGPU is not working. Might have to enable CSM Support.
If you were wondering why I built an "ancient" X99-based Hackintosh, this is the answer.

Now the hard part begins. I'll analyze the DSDT/ACPI tables to see if there's anything we can learn. But my suspicion is that the Thunderbolt 2 Falcon Ridge controller is treated differently by macOS Thunderbolt drivers, and it may not require any assistance from the BIOS/Firmware. This could mean, therefore, that any lessons learned from this experiment may not apply to Titan Ridge.

View attachment 419263

Close-up of IORegistryExplorer:
View attachment 419269

Close-up of Thunderbolt section of System Information:
View attachment 419268
Thunderbolt Ethernet Bridge device automatically added to the bottom of the list:
View attachment 419264
anxious to try a TB2 card in my AORUS Pro. I purchased that MB since I don't have any TB devices and at the time had no immediate plans to acquire any. however, a little experimentation is always fun for this retired engineer.

a superficial search returns the SuperMicro AOC-TBT-DSL5320 as using the Falcon Ridge controller, but I have no idea if this card is proprietary to a Supermicro MB or will work with any "TB-ready" mobo. https://www.supermicro.com/manuals/other/AOC-TBT-DSL5320.pdf

will await your reaction before buying one. I believe the AORUS Pro has the correct MB connections for an add-in TB card.
 
Last edited:
Top