Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 16, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
I9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @Rag, although the Radeon VII is significantly better than the RX 580 on paper, real world performance with Photoshop and Lightroom is affected by the quality of drivers and quality of the software itself. I would encourage you to search this site and the net for benchmarks.

Any Photoshop/Lightroom users want to chime in?

Radeon VII vs RX 580
  • 3840 cores vs 2304 cores
  • 64 ROPS vs 32 ROPs
  • 240 Texture Mapping Units vs 144
  • 16GB High Bandwidth Memory (4096 bits wide) vs 8GB GDDR5 Memory (256 bits wide)
From the research I did, Adobe don’t Optimise their softwear for use with AMD cards like they do with Nvidia cards, the actually performance gain is minimal in real world. I use an Vega Rx64 which can be found easily enough and is about half the price of the now discontinued Vega vii.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
remember to use a PS2 keyboard
I don't think I've had a PS/2 keyboard in 20 years. ;) Also, I find it a bit strange that the DESIGNARE has a PS/2 port yet the AORUS PRO WIFI does not. Wonder how that decision was made? :think:
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-990K
Graphics
Vega 56
I don't think I've had a PS/2 keyboard in 20 years. ;) Also, I find it a bit strange that the DESIGNARE has a PS/2 port yet the AORUS PRO WIFI does not. Wonder how that decision was made? :think:
I did not need a PS2 keyboard
just make a bootable USB drive with the tools Samsung explains in their manual.
Boot with the USB drive and do the steps Samsung stated om screen.
Did it twice, no problems at all, als MacOS runs like a charm on it (it is FAST...)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
8,769
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hum, yes I think so. Some forks also reported a failed bluetooth card with a same model like me. I am no longer surprised :smileintears:

Question 1: How can I put a PCIx1 card into a PCIx16 slot =.,=?
No problem -- just plug it in! It's fully compatible.

Question 2: Can we get the shutdown/ restart works properly? I still cannot figure out. I think I will order the BT card, but meantimes I hope the machine can work stable as a reason for my first ever Hackintosh.
On this motherboard, shutdown and restart are usually solved by installing EmuVariable and rc scripts. If you already have EmuVariable, please check for rc scripts as follows:
  • Run Terminal from the Utilities folder
  • Type ls -C /etc
  • If you see the following, then the scripts are installed:
    • rc.boot.d
    • rc.shutdown.d
Question 3: Can I buy you a coffee :)) ?
Ha! I do love coffee, but you may contribute to the site if you wish.
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
From the research I did, Adobe don’t Optimise their softwear for use with AMD cards like they do with Nvidia cards, the actually performance gain is minimal in real world. I use an Vega Rx64 which can be found easily enough and is about half the price of the now discontinued Vega vii.
@Stewie23

See the Radeon VII has been discontinued because it would ruin Apple's November releases with Mac Pro. These new Apple GPUs that will be 4 in total are pretty much the same as Radeon VII, pulling out or inserting little things, with prices far higher than current Radeon VII.
This was certainly another Apple imposition for this release. So who can get a Radeon VII will now have a license plate for many years.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@FriFlo,

It is possible to make changes to CLOVER configuration without having to boot into macOS or even to modify the EFI folder on another Mac. At the Clover Boot Menu, select the Options icon and explore all of the menus and sub-menus. A lot of changes are possible on the fly. Just realize that any changes made on the fly will not be saved. On the next reboot you will need to make all changes again.

Have you already tried changing SMBIOS to iMacPro1,1? Maybe I asked earlier...
Thanks! I looked through the options in Clover boot menu and found some options, just not the ones I needed to modify. I probably missed something and will look into it again.
I am just home for one day and then back on the road for a week. As soon as I'll get back I will try to change the SMBIOS and then properly check all options and combinations that make sense. I was looking for a more effective way to do that, which is probably gonna be possible through Clove Boot Menu.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
75
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
I did not need a PS2 keyboard
So seems Samsung fixed that stupid bug in the firmware installer that only let you change options with a PS2 keyboard
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
264
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK. I thought so. Does it even make sense to still use Whatevergreen.kext in iMacPro1,1 scenario? I can boot fine without it. I get pink glitchy lines during the boot again, but I don't see any other drawbacks.
Run a benchmark and see if you pick up any performance increase. I picked up 2-3% after averaging. Not sure if WEG is truly part of that increase or not, but there it is..
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Run a benchmark and see if you pick up any performance increase. I picked up 2-3% after averaging. Not sure if WEG is truly part of that increase or not, but there it is..
I did. Very small diff. See attached. Lower score with WEG loaded. Only ran it once tho.
Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 8.13.32 PM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
8,769
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
** Interim Update: Thunderbolt Local Node and Thunderbolt Bus **

First of all, don't get too excited. :)

Second of all, the screenshots below were taken on my Asus X99 Deluxe II Hackintosh. They show a complete Thunderbolt device tree!
  • Thunderbolt Local Node --> Successful
    • ThunderboltIPPort defining en6 (Thunderbolt Ethernet Bridge)
    • ThunderboltDPOutAdapter for Target Display Mode
    • AppleThunderboltPCIDownAdapter and AppleThunderboltPCIUpAdapter
  • Thunderbolt Bus --> Successful
    • Notice that Thunderbolt section of System Information does not say "No drivers are loaded". Instead, it displays the Thunderbolt Bus
I have a 2012 MacBook Air with Thunderbolt 2. So later this week I will attempt:
  • Hack-to-Mac Thunderbolt Ethernet connection
  • Hack-to-Mac TargetDisplayMode
  • Hack-to-Mac TargetDiskMode
Fine Print:
  • This only works with the Asus ThunderboltEx II card. It will not work with Asus ThunderboltEX 3.
  • I have the ThunderboltEx II Dual.
  • This card only works on Asus X99 motherboards.
  • Hot plug is not yet working. I just installed the card after approximately 3 weeks of wait (shipped from China via Ali Express) so have not fine-tuned the setup.
  • I have attached a PowerColor Gaming Station eGPU(via Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter) that includes USB 3 ports and an Ethernet port.
    • The USB ports and Ethernet port are working properly!
    • eGPU is not working. Might have to enable CSM Support.
If you were wondering why I built an "ancient" X99-based Hackintosh, this is the answer.

Now the hard part begins. I'll analyze the DSDT/ACPI tables to see if there's anything we can learn. But my suspicion is that the Thunderbolt 2 Falcon Ridge controller is treated differently by macOS Thunderbolt drivers, and it may not require any assistance from the BIOS/Firmware. This could mean, therefore, that any lessons learned from this experiment may not apply to Titan Ridge.

Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 5.24.42 PM.png


Close-up of IORegistryExplorer:
Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 5.51.42 PM.png


Close-up of Thunderbolt section of System Information:
Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 5.48.02 PM.png

Thunderbolt Ethernet Bridge device automatically added to the bottom of the list:
Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 5.39.34 PM.png
EDIT: In my haste (and excitement) yesterday I completely forgot to credit this to a post on InsanelyMac by user maleorderbride. I wanted to see for myself whether the results he posted were reproducible, and if so, what could be learned.
 
Last edited:
Top