Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
71
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @CaseySJ your guide and your help is fantastic in the community, thanks.
I have a doubt, built with Designare, I9 .. etc .. My question is still GPU issue, I bought the 580RX.
But always comes to me the question of switching to a Radeon VII, my main use is Photoshop and Lightroon.
Switching to Radeon VII will I improve the performance of these applications?
Maybe other friends have already gone through the 580RX and bought the Radeon VII and can also tell me something about it.
Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,591
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Guys,

First i want to thank @CaseySJ and all you here for this amazing community!

I have just build my new Hackintosh and followed all the steps for this build. But, when booting, it skips the BIOS and CLOVER boot screen and loads directly to Mojave when I connect my monitor to the RX 580.
I can only see the BIOS splash screen when connecting my monitor to the iGPU.

Maybe some one can help me to solve this issue so i can display the BIOS splash screen and clover screen with my RX 580.
...
Hello @karimidos, this problem may be due to your BIOS setting:
  • Set Initial Display Output to PCIe 1 Slot instead of IGFX.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,591
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Casey! I have GA-Z87X-UD7-TH - can you share ssdt.aml for your z77 board?
Hello @shallmc,

As you can see from my signature line below, I have only (a) Gigabyte Designare Z390 and (b) Asus X99 Deluxe II. Are you looking for a Thunderbolt hot-plug SSDT for your Z87X-UD7-TH motherboard?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @CaseySJ it's already set like this... and the same issue... it does not show the BIOS and Clover boot screen.
When i turn on the computer it send video signal to the Monitor when Mojave loads the welcome screen to login.
It completely skips BIOS and Clover.

The initial Display Output is set to PCIe 1 Slot not to IGFX

What else can causes the problem ?

Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,591
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys,

I have built my hackintosh from the hardware and relying on some parts of this guide, everything works perfectly ... Congratulate the creator of the post ...

For purely cosmetics I would like to optimize the boot and leave it exactly the same as any genuine apple computer. When I select the Apple Mojave partition inside the Clover boot (picture1), then the apple logo appears correctly, after a few seconds appear purple stripes across the screen (picture 2), as if there was an error graph, then, the screen is completely black (picture3), after a few seconds, the end of the MacOS load appears (picture 4) and finally the Mojave screen appears to log in to the system (picture 5).

Does anyone know how to go from picture 2 without the graphic errors to picture 5 directly, not showing pictures 3 and 4?

My hackintosh works great, I am very happy with his performance, I would like to solve this error to complete the performances to 100%.

My Hackintosh works in Mojave 10.14.6 with a Gigabyte Z390 Designare, i9 9900k and a Sapphire Plus AMD RX580.

The Rx 580 is perfectly recognized into Mojave 10.14.6, its performance in applications such as Final Cut Pro, etc. is very good.

Thanks for your help.

PICTURE 1
View attachment 419089

PICTURE 2
View attachment 419090

PICTURE 3
View attachment 419091

PICTURE 4
View attachment 419092

PICTURE 5
View attachment 419093
Hello @wiinilo,

I believe you can bypass the Clover Boot Menu and jump directly to the Apple boot screen by setting Timeout to -1 as shown here:
Screen Shot 2019-07-28 at 3.25.21 PM.png
But we cannot jump from Picture 2 to Picture 5. Even a real Mac has this "interruption" but the screen does not go black during that interruption. The interruption occurs when the default VESA graphics driver (non-accelerated) gets released and the AMD accelerated driver gets initialized. This is perfectly normal.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,591
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @CaseySJ it's already set like this... and the same issue... it does not show the BIOS and Clover boot screen.
When i turn on the computer it send video signal to the Monitor when Mojave loads the welcome screen to login.
It completely skips BIOS and Clover.

The initial Display Output is set to PCIe 1 Slot not to IGFX

What else can causes the problem ?

Thanks
Sometimes the BIOS will instantly flashback to version F3 so it's a good idea to check BIOS settings again. Namely, BIOS version should be either F6 or F7. Quickly double-check your BIOS settings.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,591
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @CaseySJ your guide and your help is fantastic in the community, thanks.
I have a doubt, built with Designare, I9 .. etc .. My question is still GPU issue, I bought the 580RX.
But always comes to me the question of switching to a Radeon VII, my main use is Photoshop and Lightroon.
Switching to Radeon VII will I improve the performance of these applications?
Maybe other friends have already gone through the 580RX and bought the Radeon VII and can also tell me something about it.
Thanks
Hello @Rag, although the Radeon VII is significantly better than the RX 580 on paper, real world performance with Photoshop and Lightroom is affected by the quality of drivers and quality of the software itself. I would encourage you to search this site and the net for benchmarks.

Any Photoshop/Lightroom users want to chime in?

Radeon VII vs RX 580
  • 3840 cores vs 2304 cores
  • 64 ROPS vs 32 ROPs
  • 240 Texture Mapping Units vs 144
  • 16GB High Bandwidth Memory (4096 bits wide) vs 8GB GDDR5 Memory (256 bits wide)
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sometimes the BIOS will instantly flashback to version F3 so it's a good idea to check BIOS settings again. Namely, BIOS version should be either F6 or F7. Quickly double-check your BIOS settings.
The BIOS was F7, and i have changed it now to F6 to see if i can solve the issue but without luck .... it still skips BIOS and Clover and send video signal to the monitor when Mojave welcome screen shows up.
I have tried with all 3 display outs of the RX 580: Display Port, HDMI and DVI and with all happens the same. I have 2 RX 580 and it happens with both. So I don't think it's a GPU issue...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,591
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
The BIOS was F7, and i have changed it now to F6 to see if i can solve the issue but without luck .... it still skips BIOS and Clover and send video signal to the monitor when Mojave welcome screen shows up.
I have tried with all 3 display outs of the RX 580: Display Port, HDMI and DVI and with all happens the same. I have 2 RX 580 and it happens with both. So I don't think it's a GPU issue...
For the Sapphire Nitro+ it might be a good idea to try enabling CSM Support in BIOS. And Above 4G Decoding should also be enabled (BIOS).
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
71
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @CaseySJ Thanks

For your answer about Radeon VII, I will try to research, I understand that it is complex and depends a lot on the software that each one uses, in some cases it can make no difference, this is my doubt, spend on a more expensive board and not get any results .

Now another question, why not enable Bios ULTRA FAST BOOT? Is there any problem ? because I already enabled and had no problem, but I would like to know why the recommendation to leave disable.

Thank you
 
Top