Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,541
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Why doesn't Bombich software fix this so that it's done automatically ? Is it because Macs don't have anything important to the booting process on the ESP ?
I’ve been able to make bootable backups with CCC on both of my real Macs (a 2008 Mac Pro and a 2012 MacBook Air) without having to use EFI-Clone or any other post-install script.

As I understand, real Macs don’t need “bootx64.efi” (in the EFI/BOOT folder) because the equivalent boot loader is built into their firmware.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,541
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @CaseySJ, I followed your guide couple months ago to install my first Hackintosh. I also updated it as you made some updates. Last week I tried to change to iMac19,1 but I get kernel panic. The Hackintosh was good and stable with either iMac18,3 or iMacPro1,1 or MacMini8,1. But when I change to iMac19,1 I get the panic.
I've attached couple screenshots of the log. Appologies for the quality.
From the log it's not quite clear to me what is the cause of the panic. Is it the failed to get apfs volume keybag error? Or is it something else?
Can you help please? :)

View attachment 409819
View attachment 409820
Hello @hitch21,

Several questions to better understand your situation:
  • When you switched to iMac19,1 did you use the pop-up menu in SMBIOS shown in the image below?
  • Did you subsequently use the new serial numbers provided by Clover Configurator or paste the old serial numbers back in? (It's better to use the new numbers.)
    Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 8.43.44 AM.png
  • Did you also copy the new Board Serial Number into the RtVariables --> MLB field?
  • If you switch back to Macmini8,1 now, does it boot up?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
99
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580 & WX7100
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm having some issues after the BIOS settings change. My macOS drive won't appear in boot manager. I tried making a usb installer to access disk utility to see if i could repair the drive. I tried repairing it, said fixed, then I reboot, and it still won't show. It appears greyed out in the disk utility and I have to mount it every time.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,541
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm having some issues after the BIOS settings change. My macOS drive won't appear in boot manager. I tried making a usb installer to access disk utility to see if i could repair the drive. I tried repairing it, said fixed, then I reboot, and it still won't show. It appears greyed out in the disk utility and I have to mount it every time.
If you boot with the USB flash disk (F12 at splash screen), do you see an option called "Boot macOS from Mojave"? If so, does it work?

There are at least 3 probable causes for this problem:
  • Windows. When Windows installs a big feature update (quarterly or bi-annually?) it can create an EFI/WINDOWS folder in the EFI System Partition (ESP) of your Mojave SSD. Then Clover will not run because your motherboard's BIOS will prioritize the Windows boot.efi.
  • Corrupted CMOS. Under some situations the CMOS settings on motherboard may become corrupted. One can short the two CMOS reset pins with a screwdriver (which I don't like to do) or turn power off and unplug power cable for 10 seconds. If that fails, re-flashing the BIOS and configuring the BIOS parameters once again will usually fix the problem.
  • Corrupted EFI. Clover installation in the ESP may be corrupted. In this case we can boot from USB flash disk, select "Boot macOS from Mojave", then mount EFI partition, check the Clover installation, and reinstall Clover if needed (just re-do the steps in build guide: "Final Steps in Post-Installation").
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming v1.0
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX-570
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @hitch21,

Several questions to better understand your situation:
  • When you switched to iMac19,1 did you use the pop-up menu in SMBIOS shown in the image below?
  • Did you subsequently use the new serial numbers provided by Clover Configurator or paste the old serial numbers back in? (It's better to use the new numbers.)
    View attachment 409837
  • Did you also copy the new Board Serial Number into the RtVariables --> MLB field?
  • If you switch back to Macmini8,1 now, does it boot up?
Yes, to all the questions.
I can zip up the EFI and attach here if that would help.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,541
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, to all the questions.
I can zip up the EFI and attach here if that would help.
If you're running 10.14.5 then yes, the zipped CLOVER folder will help.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming v1.0
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX-570
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you're running 10.14.5 then yes, the zipped CLOVER folder will help.
Yes, running 10.14.5. I tried re-installing the combo 10.14.5 update yesterday again to see if that would help, but no luck.
I'll post the EFI folder when I get back home.
Just bit more background on what I did.
Back in end of March I build my first Hackintosh (I've been using Mac for 15 years...) and followed your guide very carefully to clean install 10.14.4. Thanks to your awesome guide it went quite smoothly. I did few modifications here and there as I don't have exactly same hardware. Also I'm using VirtualSMC instead of FakeSMC. Everything was working fine. The only thing I did not have time to do is to properly enable/disable USB ports and define all PCI devices so they show up in system report. But again, everything was working fine :)
Then I installed the 10.14.5 update (updating clover, lilu, WEG first). Again, everything was fine after update.
Then I tried to follow your recommendation of using iMac19,1. I used clover configurator to change it, generated new serial, copied the motherboard serial over to MLB field. After reboot I got kernel panic. So in clover EFi on boot up I manually changed back to iMacPro1,1 (which was the system name I settled on). Booted and everything was fine again with iMacPro1,1.
Then I tried playing with Device settings, removing some SSDTs or changing from VirtualSMC back to FakeSMC kexts etc. I detached my dock and all external USB devices including bluetooth dongle to see if that would help. Again no luck. Everything works fine with iMacPro1,1 and iMac18,3 (and I think I tried MacMini8,1 couple times too).
Maybe the question I should be asking, should I even bother changing from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 if everything is running fine for me?

Here's list of my hardware:
Fractal Design Define Mini C Black Mini Tower Computer Case
Gigabyte S1151 MicroATX Z390M GAMING Motherboard
Saphire Pulse RX570 4GB Video Card
Intel S1151 Core i5 9600K 3.7GHz 6 Core 9MB Cache CPU
16GB DDR4 (2x8GB) G.Skill 3000MHz Trident Z RAM
500GB WD Black PCIe M.2 SSD Drive (OS X system disk, APFS)
Crucial BX500 120GB 3D NAND SATA III (Windows 10 system disk, NTFS)
Samsung 860 QVO 2TB SATA III (Data disk, exFAT)
TP-Link Archer T9E Wireless-AC1900 PCIe Network Card
Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge (Titan Ridge Thunderbolt 3 PCIe Card Component)
Noctua NH-U12S CPU Heatsink and Fan
Bluetooth USB (unknown brand)
750 Watt Corsair RM750i 80 PLUS Gold Modular Power Supply
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,541
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@hitch21,

Based on the background information you provided, here are some additional comments while we wait for the compressed Clover folder:
  • Should you bother changing to iMac19,1?
    • If everything is working with your current sys-def, then there's not much reason to change.
    • However, we have recently discovered that VDA Decoder does not work with sys-def MacMini8,1 if headless platform ID is used. But it does work when iMac19,1 is used. So that might be a reason to consider the change. But if you don't routinely work with H.264 files then there's not much point.
  • Have you tried iMac19,2 instead?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
4
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS ULTRA
CPU
i7 7800
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello, I have followed your instructions on os 10.13.6. Currently my computer everything works including wifi. Bluetooth and sound do not work. I use Gigabyte Aorus z390 Ultra graphics card, i7-8700 and GTX 980 Ti. I use the card BCM94360CD. Sorry, my English is not very good.
..............
Ps: The sound has been activated by adding kext AppleALC.kext.
Only the remaining Bluetooth does not work.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
There is no need to remove and reinstall your Mac and Windows drives when dual-booting.

What happens when you either a) install Windows on its own drive after you've installed macOS on its own drive, or b) received or run a major Windows update (such as the upcoming Spring '19 update) is that windows adds a folder to your EFI folder on the macOS drive. The folder is called Microsoft and is placed at the root level along with /Boot and /Clover.

Inside /Microsoft is a folder called Boot, and in that is the offending file. It is called bootmgfw.efi. You will know this has happened if you start up your hack, and it boots to windows instead of to Clover.

The fix is simple. Boot from your USB installer, and ,at the Clover screen, select your Mac drive. When at the Desktop, mount the EFi partition. Now open EFI/Microsoft/Boot, and change the name of bootmgfw.efi to something creative like bootmgfw-orig.efi. I suppose you could just delete it, but the guide I followed, when I did my first dual boot, suggested renaming it.

Note: on the attached screen shot (which is from a different Hackintosh) there are two bootmgfw.efi renamed files. I have updated Windows twice on this machine so have done the rename trick twice.

After you do this, you will still have Windows boot options on your Clover screen.

View attachment 403809
Hi,
I'm trying to build a multiboot system on my new build based on the Gigabyte Z390 Designare.
I have already installed macOS Mojave on a NVMe PCIe SSD (Samsung 870 EVO 500GB) on the M.2 M2P connector
Later I tried to install Windows 10 PRO on a second nvme pcie SSD (Samsung 970 PRO 512GB) on the M.2 M2M:

- both SSDs NVMe PCIe connected
- UEFI BIOS: Windows 8/10 Features -> Windows 8/10, CSM Support -> Enabled
- created a Windows 10 USB installer with Rufus according to this guide:
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-create-windows-10-usb-bootable-media-uefi
support#create_windows10_uefi_rufus

- initialized the target NVMe PCIe SSD (970 PRO) using disk utility (GPT/HFS + journaled) in macOS Mojave
- After boot from the Windows 10 USB installer, I deleted the HFS+ partition previously created by disk utility in Mojave (preserving the EFI partition)
- selected for Windows 10 installation the unallocated space

Unfortunately, after the first stage, the installation process was interrupted with the error message:

"Windows could not prepare the computer to boot into the next phase of installation. To install Windows, restart the installation"

Restarting the installation process there are the following partition on the target drive:

Unit 0 Partition 1: EFI
Unit 0 Partition 2: Recovery
Unit 0 Partition 3:
Unit 0 Partition 4: MSR (Reserved)
Unit 0 Partition 2: Primary

but it is not impossible to resume the installation trying to format the Primary Partition :

"Setup was unable to create a new system partition or locate an existing partition"

How can i solve this problem?
Thanks in advance for Your help
 
Last edited:
Top