Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 15, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 - F6
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Hey, first of all thanks for the great instruction.
I did the build with the i9-9900k and the Gigabyte AMD Vega 64.

The system runs smooth as long as it runs but I am experiencing random freezes. They happen after some hours of runtime. Sometimes it doesn't wake up back from sleep, sometime it just freezes during work. (Happened by using several different apps) The picture on the screen incl cursor just freezes and the fans start to spin up. Only way to get out is a hard reset.
Sadly I'm not getting any Error Log. Anybody knows a way to narrow down the problem?

Edit: I do have a 1000 Watt Power Supply, so that should not be the problem.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Casey..
Nope still got the USB problem. Just got a boot fail, unplugged some USB sticks, restarted and then it booted.
So USB ports still causing a problem it would seem.

What did you notice in the post install that I missed? I did all the steps but it seems the miss was files being copied to the patched folder.

Only thing I can think of is to double check all the steps (entire instructions) again... unless you got any more ideas?

Thanks,
If you open your config.plist in Clover Configurator, you will see that it does not match the screenshots in “Final Steps in Post-Installation”. The settings in ACPI, Boot, Devices, SMBIOS, etc. are not configured correctly. Are you sure you’re mounting the correct EFI partition and opening the correct config.plist?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, first of all thanks for the great instruction.
I did the build with the i9-9900k and the Gigabyte AMD Vega 64.

The system runs smooth as long as it runs but I am experiencing random freezes. They happen after some hours of runtime. Sometimes it doesn't wake up back from sleep, sometime it just freezes during work. (Happened by using several different apps) The picture on the screen incl cursor just freezes and the fans start to spin up. Only way to get out is a hard reset.
Sadly I'm not getting any Error Log. Anybody knows a way to narrow down the problem?

Edit: I do have a 1000 Watt Power Supply, so that should not be the problem.
  • Was this a fresh installation of 10.14.5?
  • Was Migration Assistant used to transfer apps and settings from an older installation?
  • Are there any USB or Thunderbolt devices connected other than keyboard and mouse?
  • Do you have an NTFS driver installed?
  • Have you installed any of your apps yet, or it’s only running stock apps that come with Mojave?
  • Are your BIOS parameters configured correctly? And BIOS F6 is running?
Bad memory DIMMs can also cause random reboots. Memtest can be used to run extensive memory tests.

You may also compress and upload your CLOVER folder from EFI partition of Mojave SSD and a screenshot of /Library/Extensions folder.
 
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
35
If you open your config.plist in Clover Configurator, you will see that it does not match the screenshots in “Final Steps in Post-Installation”. The settings in ACPI, Boot, Devices, SMBIOS, etc. are not configured correctly. Are you sure you’re mounting the correct EFI partition and opening the correct config.plist?
I think so, I am mounting the EFI partition that says "Samsung SDD..." and opening the config.plist from there.
I then made the changes, it was empty. Is that correct?

I restarted the computer, everything seems ok so far --> BUT now instead of the apple white logo loading screen, I get all this ms dos system black and white text, then it logs in. Same thing happens when I shutdown.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
Messages
78
Motherboard
Z390 Designaire
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Lisa
Mobile Phone
iOS
I toasted my bootloader, and my new bootloader isn’t getting me to the OS. Super awesome is also the fact the bootloader backup is in Time machine, which I can’t access.

I’ve hit this wall many Times with other guides, but this excellent guide got me up and running first try, that was months ago though, today it seems I’m not as good.

I’m losing it at the point in the boot process where the Apple logo typically comes, right at the end. It’s loading, then the display shuts off. It doesn’t reboot, it just loses signal. My assumption is GPU related. I’ve never had trouble with this since moving to AMD GPU’s. In this case the RX580.

My system is identical to this build, aside from case and SSD manufacturer.

I will say historically I’ve always kept the bootloader active on USB, as opposed to putting it on the OS drive.

I was preparing to migrate this particular OS install, cloning it to a raid array. Note the install is on HFS+, not APFS. Mojave 10.14.5 update was running fine.

Before I cloned the install to the array, I decided to put the bootable EFI onto the OS drive. Going through with all of the MultiBeast steps. I received a weird iCloud error while MultiBeast was in process, and for the first time, this OS froze. I then lost the bootloader. And I’ve been trying to get a boot ever since.

The EFI on the Os drive appears to be in tact. I actually got it to boot once from the OS drive’s EFI, but couldn’t replicate. I even created a third bootloader and I’m having the same issues. Tried a new install, and I can’t make it to the recovery or install screen.

I triple checked my bootloader EFI, it matches identically to the reference posted.

Hopefully, I can Pull the clones bootloader from Time Machine, but I’m not counting on it.

I’ve spent too much time trying to solve this problem, so hoping someone could help me out.

-I can post whatever is needed.
-My system is identical to CaseySJ’s, aside from the NIC, SSD Brand, Case.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi All,
I updated my system to version 10.14.5:

Gigabyte Z390 Designare
Intel i9 - 9900K
Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 8 GB + UHD 630 headless mode
SMBIOS iMac 19.1
Lilu + WhatEverGreen in /CLOVER/Kexts/Other and /Library/Extensions

The update seems to be successful but the problem with connecting the monitor (Dell U2410 - DP 1.2) to RX580 with DP-DP ports remains (the screen that goes black in the second boot stage and the login screen resumes only with power cycling the monitor)

I tried, I think, anything about "RX 580 black screen" without solving the problem (before and after the update).
Only using the following settings did I get an improvement:

macOS 10.14.4
smBIOS Macmini 8.1
NO WEG + 0x3E980003 in Graphics -> ig-platform-id

With these settings the boot became a bit slow, sometimes with white-red-green flashes. After upgrading to 10.14.5 either these settings do not work.

The HEVC codec does not seem to be supported with every configuration tested
VideoProc.png

Returning to using a DVI-to-DVI connection and using the green rear motherboard port I no longer have audio now.

What could I do to have a working system, at least DVI-to-DVI + HEVC + Audio?

Thanks in advance for Your help
 

Attachments

Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
4,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think so, I am mounting the EFI partition that says "Samsung SDD..." and opening the config.plist from there.
I then made the changes, it was empty. Is that correct?

I restarted the computer, everything seems ok so far --> BUT now instead of the apple white logo loading screen, I get all this ms dos system black and white text, then it logs in. Same thing happens when I shutdown.
That's actually a good thing! This "MSDOS" stuff is the startup log and shutdown log that is appearing because we added "-v" to Boot Arguments. You can now delete that line using Clover Configurator.

Screen Shot 2019-05-24 at 8.19.45 AM.png

If the original problem (unable to boot with USB devices attached) persists, please let me know.
 
Top