Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
I can confirm 0x5C1 for Z390 Aorus Xtreme on BIOS Version F5, too. Nice that you made a tutorial, a little late for me, but I appreciate someone helping the newer generations. We have to apply that trick on every BIOS-Update, I suppose (unless settings are not reset, but I suppose that almost never happens).
Do you remember which version of setup_var you used?
  • setup_var
  • setup_var2
  • setup_var_3
The first two return two Setup variables (one 5000+ bytes, the other just a few bytes) with the second one being followed by the warning error: offset is out of range.

The third version (setup_var_3) handles this issue by ignoring the variable that returns fewer bytes, and applies the change to the larger Setup variable.

For me both options work fine (and have worked fine even before CFG-Unlock), so I dumped the other memory fix quite early and turned to AptioMemoryFix. But without EmuVariableUefi sleep and shutdown get...let's say funny
That's what the AptioMemoryFix README promises.

Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 12.55.18 PM.png

Even on the Designare Z390, AptioMemoryFix tends to work until we install a PCIe card other than the GPU. For example, as soon as the Fenvi FV-T919 WiFi/BT card is installed, AptioMemoryFix fails, but OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 continues to work.

Do you have a WiFi/BT PCIe card installed in your system?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
328
Motherboard
ASUS Rog Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
*** Mini Guide: Using UEFITool and ifrextract to View Firmware Settings ***

Background:
The term 'BIOS' is not the technically correct term for the firmware that runs on UEFI motherboards. The proper term is simply firmware. On most motherboards, pressing DEL key during startup will launch the Firmware Setup GUI. These GUIs have evolved appreciably over the years, and they offer a rich graphical experience. Likewise, the firmware itself has evolved in response to new on-board technologies such as USB 3, integrated GPUs, built-in Thunderbolt, 10Gig Ethernet, RGB controllers, etc.

However, not all of the configuration parameters available to the firmware are available to the user via the Setup GUI. The CFG Lock parameter is probably the most well-known example. This parameter is set to 0x01 (enabled) in the Designare Z390 firmware and it is not available to view or change in the Setup GUI. It triggers a write-once lock on the 0xE2 MSR register, which interferes with AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext, thereby requiring Clover patches (Plugin Type and KernelPM) that prevent this kernel extension from touching the 0xE2 MSR register.

This mini guide is based on the AptioFixPkg README file.

Purpose of Guide:
The purpose of this guide is to demonstrate how to view the CFG Lock and other firmware parameters, but not how to modify them. Modifying the firmware is very risky and should only be done in extreme situations when no other viable solution exists for a problem you are experiencing. If this applies to you, then hopefully this mini guide will give you a head start and you can complete the task by following the final steps described in the link above.

Preparation:
Create a folder in your Documents or Downloads directory called UEFI-Check. Then download all of the following files into the UEFI-Check directory:
  • UEFI Tool
    • The only file needed is UEFITool_NE_A55_mac.zip as shown.
    • This is a GUI that we'll run directly from Finder.
      View attachment 407009
  • ifrextract
    • The only file needed is ifrextract_v0.3.6.osx.zip as shown.
    • We will run this from Terminal. It is a command-line executable.
      View attachment 407010
  • Gigabyte Designare Z390 Firmware from Gigabyte Website
    • Make sure that you download the correct version. If your motherboard is running F6, download the F6 firmware, etc.

Procedure:
  1. After downloading the three files above into the UEFI-Check folder in either the Documents or Downloads directory, start Terminal and 'cd' into that directory. If you chose the Downloads folder you would type cd ~/Downloads/UEFI-Check. If you chose the Documents folder you would type cd ~/Documents/UEFI-Check.
  2. Rename the Gigabyte firmware file.
    • If you downloaded the F6 version, the default filename will be Z390DESI.F6.
    • We need to give the file a ".bin" extension by typing mv Z390DESI.F6 Z390DESI.F6.bin.
  3. Double-click to run UEFI-Tool.
  4. Go back to the Terminal window. We're ready to convert the Setup.bin file into a readable text file.
    • Ensure you are in the UEFI-Check directory in Terminal.
    • Type ./ifrextact Setup.bin Setup.text.
    • And it's done.
  5. Now let's have a look at the result. You may open the Setup.txt file in TextEdit, BBEdit, or even "vi" or "emacs", etc. and search for "CFG Lock". If we do this directly in Terminal by using "vi" we see CFG Lock on line 7039 as shown.
    View attachment 407048
    • The text in blue tells us that this parameter is at offset 0x5C1 and has a value of 0x1. If we look immediately below that, the green box tells us that the Disabled value is 0x0 and the Enabled value is 0x1 (default).
    • So by default the CFG Lock is Enabled.
    • To disable the CFG Lock, we would need to write the value 0x0 to offset 0x5C1.
    • This is for firmware version F6 on Gigabyte Designare Z390 motherboard only.
    • If you have a different motherboard or a different firmware version, you should follow this guide to identify the correct offset value and the correct enable/disable value.

Final Comments:
This procedure is only for users who cannot install a certain device driver because of the locked 0xE2 MSR register. If your system is running properly you should not make any changes to its firmware. One careless mistake can corrupt the firmware. For this reason, the procedure to modify the firmware is excluded from this mini guide.
Reading through this guide - It would be helpful if at the end of it you included a recap of the steps newbs would need to take especially with respect NVRAM, removal of RC scripts and EmuVariableUefi. Assuming, of course, that the next logical step is to enable native VRAM (NVRAM) which now seems like a reality with Clover_v2.4k_r4919
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
I wonder if the cooling needs to be upgraded, or the water cooler in the build will be just fine?
The Raijintek Orcus AIO (designed in Germany, made in Taiwan) in my system is the 280mm version. It is available in the more common 240mm form factor as well as 360mm. It's always a good idea to search the internet for reviews.

My comments/observations on this model:
  • It does a great job of cooling the i9-9700K and I suspect it will do an equally good job on the i9-9900K.
  • It uses a molex power connector (bad) for the fan hub instead of a SATA power connector. (Not sure if they have changed it yet.)
  • The fans have addressable RGB that's compatible with Gigabyte RGB Fusion.
 
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
This might indicate a CMOS or BIOS corruption. If you hard-boot the system too many times, for example, it might lead to this. Couple of suggestions:
  • First try a full shutdown by unplugging power cable from the wall for about 10 seconds.
  • If you still get "Error allocating..." message during startup, re-flash the BIOS and set BIOS parameters again.
  • Let us know if the problem persists.
Thanks Casey, That got me through, and I installed and followed through to MultiBeast and post installation..

Afraid after reboot my SSD is no longer appearing in Clover
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks Casey, That got me through and I installed and followed through to Multibeast and post installation..

Afraid after reboot my SSD is no longer appearing in Clover
Some comments/questions:
  • Just to confirm, you're installing High Sierra version 10.13.6?
  • Are you booting from the High Sierra SSD or from the USB install disk?
  • Is the option to Boot macOS from High Sierra missing from the Clover Boot Menu?
    • Did it exist before post-installation changes were made?
    • Did you use the High Sierra version of MultiBeast (version 10.4.0)?
  • Do you have any other hard drives or operating systems installed?
    • If so, it's advisable to press F12 at the BIOS splash screen to make sure that the system is booting off the correct disk.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
70
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Do you remember which version of setup_var you used?
  • setup_var
  • setup_var2
  • setup_var_3
The first two return two Setup variables (one 5000+ bytes, the other just a few bytes) with the second one being followed by the warning error: offset is out of range.

The third version (setup_var_3) handles this issue by ignoring the variable that returns fewer bytes, and applies the change to the larger Setup variable.


That's what the AptioMemoryFix README promises.

View attachment 407373

Even on the Designare Z390, AptioMemoryFix tends to work until we install a PCIe card other than the GPU. For example, as soon as the Fenvi FV-T919 WiFi/BT card is installed, AptioMemoryFix fails, but OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 continues to work.

Do you have a WiFi/BT PCIe card installed in your system?

Hi Casey.
I use AptioMemoryFix from day 1.
I have Fenvi-T919 PCIE and UAD2 Quad PCIE installed.
Boot failure only when I set 128MB for IGPU.
Slide=0 flag on Clover config.plist.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Casey.
I use AptioMemoryFix from day 1.
I have Fenvi-T919 PCIE and UAD2 Quad PCIE installed.
Boot failure only when I set 128MB for IGPU.
Slide=0 flag on Clover config.plist.
Interesting! I’ll have to try this. Do you have MSR 0xE2 unlocked?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Reading through this guide - It would be helpful if at the end of it you included a recap of the steps newbs would need to take especially with respect NVRAM, removal of RC scripts and EmuVariableUefi. Assuming, of course, that the next logical step is to enable native VRAM (NVRAM) which now seems like a reality with Clover_v2.4k_r4919
Procedure for modifying the firmware to unlock MSR 0xE2 (or CFG Lock) has been added, along with stern warnings.

Switching to AptioMemoryFix-64.efi with and without slide=0 results in boot failure (Couldn't allocate runtime area). Maybe a different build of AptioMemoryFix might work, but for now it's best to stay with OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi.

I've unlocked MSR 0xE2 on my system now. Revised benchmarks. However, these small differences might be due to other factors such as background jobs running in the system at the time.

Benchmarks with 10.14.5_resize.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Just upgraded to a Radeon VII (replaced a RX580+1080Ti) on my Designare and it's working really well and very quietly at low loads too. I've switched integrated graphics (UHD 630) to connectorless (I'm using iMac19,1 SMBIOS) and it's detected properly in VideoProc for accelerating H264 and HEVC.

All my annoying stutters in Adobe CC apps like Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign are now all gone. Previously Adobe CC apps were defaulting to UHD 630 for GPU acceleration, instead of my RX 580. This is also a problem on Windows and certain macOS configs too, and Adobe being Adobe doesn't seem to have any plans to allow you to manually choose which GPU you want to use for acceleration tasks in multi-GPU systems. Switching to connectorless UHD 630 fixed it, but I needed a 3rd DP output that my RX580 annoyingly didn't have (damn you Asus). Thankfully the new GPU has 3x and 1x HDMI which is perfect for me.

I've read reports from others that performance of the Radeon VII is lower than expected on anything other than iMacPro1,1. I haven't done a benchmark to test just yet.
 
Last edited:
Top