Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Are you ready for some bad news?? :(

Your ghost display problem triggered an old memory about a similar phantom display problem with someone's PowerColor AX RX 580. When I say "old memory" I mean March 23, but it seems so distant.

@tholstro first reported this problem. At this time we didn't know the source, but after some experimentation we determined it was the RX 580. Because he was within his return window, he replaced the card with one from Apple's recommended list (perhaps Sapphire Pulse RX 580).

The culmination of the saga is described here.

Here are my suggestions:
  • You may either exchange the card for a Sapphire Pulse or try the following experiment (requires purchase of 2 cables).
Experiment:
  • Physically remove the RX 580. Be sure to fully power down the system (pull power cable from the wall) and flip the plastic retaining clip from behind the long PCIe slot.
  • Use two USB-C to DisplayPort cables (such as this one). Connect the cables to each of the two Thunderbolt ports on the Designare, and the other ends to your two monitors.
    • The Intel UHD 630 IGPU can easily drive two 4K monitors at 60Hz through the two USB-C (Thunderbolt) ports.
  • Do you see ghost or phantom displays?
  • Then disconnect the USB-C cables, install RX 580, connect monitors through RX 580, and see whether phantom displays come back. (They should come back.)
    • This will confirm that macOS itself is okay, but the RX 580 may be the problem.

Thanks again! I got some news regarding this issue: I ordered the Sapphire Pulse RX 580, but the issue was the same with this card. So I replaced the second 4k Display with non-Dell brand (LG) and voila - 2 Displays, both 4k, both at 60Hz and no ghosts anymore - even with the PowerColor Card. So it looks like this is a software problem (as the Dell-Displays are running perfectly well when I boot windows).

I got two small little questions: my mouse gets jerky after waking from sleep. I use a Logitech MX Master with its unifying dongle. When I hot-unplug the dongle and plug it in everything is fine again. Is there anything I can do to prevent this?
The second issue: sometimes sleep is not working. The displays goes off but the computer still is running - as I am not able to wake him up anymore I have to do a hard reset. Is there a logfile I can investigate the problem?

Thanks!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,579
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
...
My question is, will following these instructions work for me on my MB? (Gigabyte H370M D3H)
There's a good chance that the instructions will work for the H370M D3H, with the following exceptions:
  • Your board has the Realtek ALC892, so audio Layout 16 that we're using on Designare may need to be changed. Some possibilities are:
    • 1, 12, 15, 16
  • You may use SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-NO-CNVW.aml to disable the built-in CNVi WiFi/BT module, but the other SSDTs do notapply:
    • SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V6.aml <-- USB SSDT is specific to Designare
    • SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP.aml <-- This is for Thunderbolt
    • SSDT-DTPG.aml <-- This is a helper SSDT used by Thunderbolt
    • SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-RX580-V2.aml <-- You can use this only if you have RX580 in Slot-1
  • Hackintool has a built-in framebuffer connector patch to enable accelerated HDMI on your motherboard: Screen Shot 2019-05-04 at 11.51.21 AM.png
    • You may follow the instructions here. If you need further assistance on this particular item, just post your question in that thread.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,579
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks again! I got some news regarding this issue: I ordered the Sapphire Pulse RX 580, but the issue was the same with this card. So I replaced the second 4k Display with non-Dell brand (LG) and voila - 2 Displays, both 4k, both at 60Hz and no ghosts anymore - even with the PowerColor Card. So it looks like this is a software problem (as the Dell-Displays are running perfectly well when I boot windows).
Good to know. This might indicate an EDID issue with the Dell or quirky firmware on the Dell. What is the Dell model number?
I got two small little questions: my mouse gets jerky after waking from sleep. I use a Logitech MX Master with its unifying dongle. When I hot-unplug the dongle and plug it in everything is fine again. Is there anything I can do to prevent this?
I'm using a Logitech Unifying Receiver as well on a black USB 2 port and have not encountered this problem after wake from sleep. But you might try checking on High Current.
Screen Shot 2019-05-04 at 11.58.02 AM.png
The second issue: sometimes sleep is not working. The displays goes off but the computer still is running - as I am not able to wake him up anymore I have to do a hard reset. Is there a logfile I can investigate the problem?
Couple of suggestions to try first:
  • The procedure listed in this spoiler should be carried out.
  • Then we always suggest disconnecting all USB devices, both internal and external, except keyboard and mouse. If sleep and wake are okay, then reconnect one USB device at a time until the culprit can be identified.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
731
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
it is my imagination or did 5 or so pages disappear? I thought we were on about page 413 or 414 but now the highest page is 409.
 

ModBot

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,345
Motherboard
01010
CPU
10101
Graphics
01010
@faithie999, a banned user's posts were removed from this thread.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,579
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone with this build have a blu-ray writer working with it? My LG is not working at all...wondering if blu-ray drives need special drivers/hacks. Thanks!
My LG Blu Ray burner is currently attached to the old 2008 Mac Pro. Will move it across and test it later today.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
731
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
Anyone with this build have a blu-ray writer working with it? My LG is not working at all...wondering if blu-ray drives need special drivers/hacks. Thanks!
I did some experimentation using a USB Blu-ray drive. I have no reason to believe an internal drive would not behave the same way but I don't have one handy.

you can write to the BD disc using the finder. you can read the contents of the BD disc if it is anything other than a blu-ray movie. for my test I burned an mp4 movie and opened it in QuickTime.

thanks to Steve Jobs' aversion to blu-ray, there is no embedded blu-ray player in Mac OS. seems that some years ago I found a free player but I don't remember what the name was and I didn't take the time for a google search.

as for creating BD movies--you'll need an authoring app such as Toast with the BD add-in. perhaps iMovie will create a BD movie but I have no experience there.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
4
total newb humbly requesting help. Making dual boot. Gigabyte z390 Designare, 9900k, RTX2080. First thing I'm try to decide is which OSX version to use for everything to work (like no problems with wifi etc). Saw the video of guy building one vs mac mini, so I'm thinking I should go for 10.13 (high sierra), but am seeking all THAT OSX version selection ADVISE PLEASE and please give links to instructions. I know this is going to be a long dif thing for me but I want to try. I 'm going to go ahead and order another m.2, probably a WD Black 1TB (same as I have win10 on), unless there is some problem with that (I don't think so). If I get macos running well, I'm thinking of using m.2 ribbon cable to make it faster and easier to swap drives and be putting wear on ribbon connectors not the drives or my mb. I did the research about disabling m.2 via bios which is no a thing, etc.. still looking for ways to do that. Thanks for all the great help you give with these things !
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,579
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
total newb humbly requesting help. Making dual boot. Gigabyte z390 Designare, 9900k, RTX2080. First thing I'm try to decide is which OSX version to use for everything to work (like no problems with wifi etc). Saw the video of guy building one vs mac mini, so I'm thinking I should go for 10.13 (high sierra), but am seeking all THAT OSX version selection ADVISE PLEASE and please give links to instructions. I know this is going to be a long dif thing for me but I want to try. I 'm going to go ahead and order another m.2, probably a WD Black 1TB (same as I have win10 on), unless there is some problem with that (I don't think so). If I get macos running well, I'm thinking of using m.2 ribbon cable to make it faster and easier to swap drives and be putting wear on ribbon connectors not the drives or my mb. I did the research about disabling m.2 via bios which is no a thing, etc.. still looking for ways to do that. Thanks for all the great help you give with these things !
Several comments:
  • The RTX2080 will not work under Mojave. For this you have 2 options:
    • You can install an SSDT that renders the Nvidia GPU invisible to Mojave and use either the internal iGPU or purchase an AMD GPU that can be installed alongside the Nvidia. Windows will be able to use both GPUs.
    • Install High Sierra instead of Mojave and use the Nvidia Web Driver for the RTX2080.
  • Dual boot with MacOS and Windows can cause the following issue:
    • When Windows installs a big feature update (not a security update), it will most likely install a Windows EFI Boot folder on the Clover EFI partition. When this happens, the Designare motherboard will always choose to run Windows from that partition instead of Clover.
    • So before Windows performs one of these big feature updates, we should remove or disconnect the disk containing Clover.
 
Top