Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
First: thanks for this brilliant build-guide. I was able to setup a dream hackintosh.

Unfortunately I got a problem: I use the PowerColor Radeon RX 580 Red Dragon V2 Card and I would like to drive 2 4k Displays. No problem as the card has 3 Displayport-Outputs. But connecting 2 Displays via Displayport does not work. When the Display has DP1.2 enabled MacOS show 3 Displays (although I just have two connected) and just one Display shows anything - the other one is just black. When I disable DP1.2 everything seems to work, but the non-DP1.2 Display just has 30Hz instead of the 60Hz I want. Whats wrong here? Did I forgot some settings/patching?
When I connect the second Display to HDMI of the builtin iGFX MacOS freezes.
Another question: the PowerColor is pretty loud. Can someone recommend a silent RX580? I don't need graphics performance, I just want to drive 2 4k Displays ...

Thanks a lot!
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I keep thinking of dark energy and gravitational waves coalescing into a darkwave phenomenon. These eerie thoughts hound me and I wonder whether I am half asleep or half awake. Maybe I am in a state of darkwake... :)
In the first moment I was quite startled when I read this and thought I might actually really have "darkwave" in the config.plist o_O
But luckily it’s darkwake and it works with 10 (and PluginType activated) ;-) After the computer has been completely asleep for about half an hour (or longer) the fans and case lights are activated again while the screen is still off (that’s what the darkwake value 10 is for). Then in the background it does the Power Nap stuff (Time Machine Backup, checking for emails and all that stuff) and when it’s done it goes back to real sleep again (fans and lights off). Perfect!
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-01 um 11.31.47.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-01 um 11.31.47.png
    116.5 KB · Views: 41
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you google for 'RX580 fan speed control VBIOS' you'll see a few people who've done what you want. I've never done a VBIOS edit myself, but it's pretty easy, but also easy to screw something up ;)

Seems to be an issue with 10.14.4 and hopefully it gets solved with 10.14.5. I didn't notice this behaviour in previous versions.

There is a threat dealing with this topic
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Seems to be an issue with 10.14.4 and hopefully it gets solved with 10.14.5. I didn't notice this behaviour in previous versions.

There is a threat dealing with this topic

Good to know.
I flashed my VBIOS the same day I updated to 10.14.4 and thought I messed up something. Re-flashed back to original VBIOS with no change. This could explain why my Sapphire RX580 Pulse went from very quite fans rarely spinning to loud boot up, wake and fans spinning up frequently even at idle.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,473
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@shubckin,

There is no indication of a systemic problem with firmware F6 on the Designare Z390. We have to be careful before rushing to judgment from a single data point. Your post does not provide any direct evidence to support the assertion. The boot failures you encountered could likely have been cleared by performing a full power shutdown (i.e. removing power cable for a few seconds), resetting CMOS (shorting two CMOS pins together on motherboard), or re-flashing the same F6 BIOS. Modern motherboard are complex devices with complex firmware that maintains numerous parameters in CMOS. CMOS can become corrupted with frequent hard boots and hard shutdowns. CMOS can also become corrupted when installing or removing NVMe and PCIe devices, especially if power is not fully disconnected.

The phrase direct evidence is important. If you upgrade to F6 now and re-configure BIOS parameters, it is likely that your system will function properly. But if you can demonstrate that switching to F6 fails to boot, but switching to F4 or F5 works and you can repeat this 3 out of 3 times -- with no other changes made -- then that would constitute direct evidence.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,473
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In the first moment I was quite startled when I read this and thought I might actually really have "darkwave" in the config.plist o_O
But luckily it’s darkwake and it works with 10 (and PluginType activated) ;-) After the computer has been completely asleep for about half an hour (or longer) the fans and case lights are activated again while the screen is still off (that’s what the darkwake value 10 is for). Then in the background it does the Power Nap stuff (Time Machine Backup, checking for emails and all that stuff) and when it’s done it goes back to real sleep again (fans and lights off). Perfect!
I removed darkwake entirely from my system about two or three months ago. (I am happy to press 2 keys to wake from sleep -- doesn't bother me in the least.) A few weekends ago after returning home from a long lunch break I believe I noticed PowerNap doing something. I didn't pay much attention at the time so I'll double check over the next few days.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,473
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...Unfortunately I got a problem: I use the PowerColor Radeon RX 580 Red Dragon V2 Card and I would like to drive 2 4k Displays. No problem as the card has 3 Displayport-Outputs. But connecting 2 Displays via Displayport does not work. When the Display has DP1.2 enabled MacOS show 3 Displays (although I just have two connected) and just one Display shows anything - the other one is just black. When I disable DP1.2 everything seems to work, but the non-DP1.2 Display just has 30Hz instead of the 60Hz I want. Whats wrong here? Did I forgot some settings/patching?
You should keep DP 1.2 enabled, but if your monitor has a toggle option for MST or daisy-chaining, it should be turned off.
When I connect the second Display to HDMI of the builtin iGFX MacOS freezes.
Are you booting the system with HDMI already connected to motherboard? Or you're connecting HDMI after Mojave has been booted and logged into? Feel free to upload your config.plist with serial numbers redacted.
Another question: the PowerColor is pretty loud. Can someone recommend a silent RX580? I don't need graphics performance, I just want to drive 2 4k Displays ...
From the last few posts it seems MSI and Sapphire RX 580s have fan-stop firmware. Fans don't spin until temperature approaches 60C.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey,

I can't get iMessage and FaceTime working .... I log into iCloud on Mac, and then I activate iMessage with Apple ID and password but that window doesn't close.... its also not telling me that's password is wrong ... I can't get further .... if I type in wrong password there then I get a message that it is wrong...
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-01 um 18.16.16.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-01 um 18.16.16.png
    205.9 KB · Views: 31
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
113
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So another update. GTX 780 with the headless platform ID worked pretty well as a temp bandaid but playback and renders of the timeline were pretty unusable in premiere. I mean I could get decent 1/8 playback of 4K Amira and RED footage but not really usable. Rendering the timeline produced green glitches and unwatchable previews.

Just installed beta 4 and popped in a Radeon VII all booted fine. Will update on performance soon
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2019-05-01 at 1.54.56 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-05-01 at 1.54.56 PM.png
    198.6 KB · Views: 42
Top