Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
i have flatron e2770 and that LG 4k 60hz TV

if i unlug from onboard to 580 after booting then there is no signal on all hdmi ports on 580

i have no display ports inputs on TV and Monitor
I think we should remove Orinoco Framebuffer, Inject ATI, and Radeon DeInit from config.plist, which has been done in the attached revision.

Please rename and use this file. Then try these experiments:

Experiment #1:
  • BIOS --> IGFX --> Enabled
  • BIOS --> Initial Display Output --> PCIe 1 Slot
  • HDMI cable connected to RX 580
  • Does it work?
Experiment #2:
  • BIOS --> IGFX --> Enabled
  • BIOS --> Initial Display Output --> IGFX
  • HDMI cable connected to motherboard HDMI port
  • It should work.
  • Then switch cable to RX 580. Does it work?
Some of these problems are related to EDID issues. In particular, the GPU may not be using the correct sync frequencies. Recent monitors (with at least one DisplayPort input) tend to have much better compatibility.

Nevertheless you can also try Experiment #3: You will need a DVI-D cable.
  • BIOS --> IGFX --> Enabled
  • BIOS --> Initial Display Output --> IGFX
  • HDMI cable connected to motherboard HDMI port
  • It should work.
  • Connect a DVI-D cable between the RX 580 and the Flatron E2770v
  • Switch to DVI-D input on your monitor. Does it work?
  • Keep the DVI-D cable plugged in, switch back to HDMI input on the monitor, and run IORegistryExplorer followed by File --> Save As...
  • Upload the resulting IOReg file.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Experiment #1: not worked
Experiment #2: worked but switching to 580 not worked
Experiment #3: switching to dvi not worked

here comes the Ioreg file
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Experiment #1: not worked
Experiment #2: worked but switching to 580 not worked
Experiment #3: switching to dvi not worked

here comes the Ioreg file
The ZIP file is only 323 bytes, but should be over 1 MB...

Is BIOS --> CSM currently enabled or disabled?

Can you borrow a newer monitor from work or from a friend/family member, one that has HDMI and DisplayPort?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
sorry here it comes
Very interesting...there is no mention of the AMD graphics card in this IOReg dump. That means:
  • Card is not installed properly. Have you connected the PCI power cable(s) to the card?
  • Is the card fully seated in the long PCIe slot? If you want to remove and reseat the card make sure to flip the small level on the back of the long slot. That is a retaining clip and must be pushed downwards to allow the card to be pulled out.
  • Which slot is the card in? The top long slot, the middle long slot, the bottom long slot?
    • Looks like there's an ATI (AMD) device in the middle long slot (vendor ID 0x1002), but it's only the HD audio. No GPU.
Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 12.46.34 PM.png

EDIT: I believe you may have copied the SSDT that disables a GPU in Slot 2 (SSDT-Designare-Z390-Disable-Slot-2-GPU.aml), and then plugged in the AMD GPU into Slot 2. What does your CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder contain?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is BIOS --> CSM currently enabled or disabled?
Can you borrow a newer monitor from work or from a friend/family member, one that has HDMI and DisplayPort?
CSM was disabled
i can borrow one tomorrow

  • Card is not installed properly. Have you connected the PCI power cable(s) to the card?
  • Is the card fully seated in the long PCIe slot? If you want to remove and reseat the card make sure to flip the small level on the back of the long slot. That is a retaining clip and must be pushed downwards to allow the card to be pulled out.
  • Which slot is the card in? The top long slot, the middle long slot, the bottom long slot?
    • Looks like there's an ATI (AMD) device in the middle long slot (vendor ID 0x1002), but it's only the HD audio. No GPU.
yes i think power cable to 580 was disabled due to testing... i have connected it again and will upload new reg file

its in pci port 2 - middle slot
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,060
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
CSM was disabled
i can borrow one tomorrow



yes i think power cable to 580 was disabled due to testing... i have connected it again and will upload new reg file

its in pci port 2 - middle slot
It looks like you might have SSDT-Designare-Z390-Disable-Slot-2-GPU.aml in your CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder. If so, please remove it for now.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
yes i am using SSDT-Designare-Z390-Disable-Slot-2-GPU.aml

here is new reg file ( with SSDT-Designare-Z390-Disable-Slot-2-GPU.aml )

just remove it and dont put the normal one in instead ?
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
by the way when booting now with hdmi in 580 it gets stuck at gIOScreenlockstate 3, hs 0 .....
and when i then swicht hadmi cable to onboard hdmi then im in mojave... but only with onboard hdmi
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
now its working !!!! omg .... thanks so much casey
 
Top