Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
520
Motherboard
GA-Z390-AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
PowerColor RX590 Red Devil
- the monitor have loudspeaker. They work, but I can't adjust the volume (is this related with Audio Layout 16?)
I have checked if some driver where available, but there's none for Mac
As casey said, audio is conveyed to the monitor via HDMI. Audio controls for HDMI audio are always on the display/TV device. Unfortunately, most monitors rely on the monitor setup menu to show the volume level control. For a couple more dollars they could easily put vol up, down, and mute as discrete buttons somewhere on the monitor, but whatever...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
Upon reboot, initially only the DP screen would function, the HDMI screen black, even though two monitors are detected by the system. Then the glitch as the DP screen would black out and the HDMI would turn on, but looking like a heavily redacted Mueller report. (Do I need a shikigva=?)
Alas even a subpoena from the oversight committee might not reveal the graphic nature of this interference. This is a common problem with the IGPU — it seems to have trouble managing a multi-monitor setup when HDMI is used. A discrete graphics card such as AMD RX 570 or RX 580 is very cost effective and can provide a robust solution.

Nevertheless, it seems your config.plist has several issues that should be corrected first:
  • Inject Intel should be disabled because WhateverGreen is managing iGPU
  • ig-platform-id in Clover Configurator —> Graphics should be blanked out
  • ACPI section: Change IGFX to IGPU should be removed
  • ACPI section: Change PEGP to PEG0 should be removed
  • SMBIOS section is incomplete — you can use the pop-up menu from right side of SMBIOS section to select iMac18,1. That will populate all of the fields in SMBIOS — it will also change serial numbers
  • Mojave 10.14.x USB port limit patch in Kernel and Kext Patches should be Disabled if you have copied the USB SSDT into CLOVER/ACPI/patched.
Turning off, booting with only the DP monitor, and then hot-plugging the HDMI monitor works. I would appreciate if you could take a look at my config_IGPU.plist (attached). I still use SMBIOS iMac18,1 because using Macmini8,1 makes no difference. I also attach my EFI screenshot for you to check if I have all the needed kexts. I have nothing installed in L/E.
I really recommend installing all third party Kexts into /Library/Extensions and running Kext Utility to rebuild kernel caches. Then we should set Clover Configurator —> System Parameters —> Inject Kexts —> Detect. And keep only the following in CLOVER/kexts/Other:
  • FakeSMC
  • Lilu
  • WhateverGreen
  • IntelMausiEthernet (optional)
By the way, you are missing SmallTreeIntel82576.kext.

By the way, while it indeed works, your ACPI patch for disabling the dGPU needs to be deleted everytime I would like to boot High Sierra (which happily uses GTX 1080), and reinstalled everytime I would like to boot Mojave. Is it possible to simply hot patch this in a config.plist? In my case, this would enable me to simply boot High Sierra with config.plist and boot Mojave with config_IGPU.plist.
Not sure about this.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi! Yeah, your first solution sounds great, and that was my thought, too. To remove the macOS SSD, and so I did...
I made a bootable USB drive with Windows, but I got an error when the installation was about to begin the first step. I could choose region language etc. But, when the first phase started, I got an error. I think that my bootable Windows USB is crappy.

What's the best solution to make a bootable USB with Windows when I'm on macOS? I Googled several solutions, but can't get it to work correctly.
If you saw an error just when the installation was about to begin, the solution I believe is:
  • BIOS —> Windows 8/10 Features —> Windows WHQL (or something like that) instead of “Other”
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
For the Z390 and the RX580-- does this use that tech where I should be plugging the DP out from my RX580 card into my Designare Z390's DP video in?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
For the Z390 and the RX580-- does this use that tech where I should be plugging the DP out from my RX580 card into my Designare Z390's DP video in?
This feature is available on the Designare Z390, but it's used only for the following purpose:
  • To connect a Thunderbolt 3 monitor from the RX 580. The RX 580 does not have a Thunderbolt 3 port, but we can connect its DisplayPort output to the DP-In port on the Designare, which has the effect of routing the RX 580’s DisplayPort signal through one of the Thunderbolt 3 ports on the rear IO panel.
Note that the Intel UHD 630 (iGPU) can drive the following Thunderbolt 3 monitors:
  • Two 4K Thunderbolt 3 monitors, one from each of the two Thunderbolt 3 ports.
  • One 5K Thunderbolt 3 monitor.
However, the RX 580 can drive the following:
  • One 4K or one 5K or one 8K Thunderbolt 3 monitor (via the single DP-In port).
  • If rumors about Apple’s upcoming 6K Thunderbolt 3 monitor are true, then the IGPU will not drive it, but the RX 580 should be able to.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Ok.
Side note, I'm having a huge problem. I've got the Z390 and a 580, and I was successfully playing Fortnite and Counterstrike for the first few days. Now, however, games keep crashing out randomly and freezing my computer. I'm forced to restart -- no idea what I could've changed that makes this happen now, but it's driving me ABSOLUTELY NUTS
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok.
Side note, I'm having a huge problem. I've got the Z390 and a 580, and I was successfully playing Fortnite and Counterstrike for the first few days. Now, however, games keep crashing out randomly and freezing my computer. I'm forced to restart -- no idea what I could've changed that makes this happen now, but it's driving me ABSOLUTELY NUTS
Have you tried deleting and reinstalling the games?
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
yes, same thing. Happens on two different games I have installed as well -- same issue. Just boots me out / freezes the computer.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
yes, same thing. Happens on two different games I have installed as well -- same issue. Just boots me out / freezes the computer.
Do you have a backup of the system from the time the games were initially installed or before the games were installed?
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
No, I don't.
I'm also noticing something else I'm going to make a post about, which has been happening since the beginning but causing no real problems.

When I have the Epic Games launcher running (and, also, certain other video or animated video/image types but I'm not sure which, on web pages, etc.) on a secondary display... and when I do NOT have THAT display currently active, the image stutters and is slow, as if it were running on a shitty computer. Not sure why this is happening, either.
 
Top