Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi!

Is there any option on how to make a clean Big Sur installation with OpenCore?

Can I just add all the kexts, and other files from post #1 and use then in clean OpenCore installation?

I'm struggling after migrating from Cclover to OpenCore with bluebottle issues and now my hackintosh wont even boot. So I think that it will be better to just format my main drive and install it from scratch?

Thanks!

EDIT: NWM I found everyting i needed. THANKS for your awesome work @CaseySJ!
Where did you find everything that you needed? I am having the same problem as you described. Did you find a guide somewhere for OpenCore that works for our platform?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,286
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Where did you find everything that you needed? I am having the same problem as you described. Did you find a guide somewhere for OpenCore that works for our platform?
There's a prebuilt OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI for Z390 Designare located in the link below (can also be referenced from Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1). This EFI does not contain serial numbers, so it's meant for upgrades in which existing serial numbers are copied to the new config.plist.
We also use the HackinDROM App, which can perform both (a) OpenCore upgrades from old version of OC to new version of OC, and (b) OpenCore first-time installation in which new serial numbers are generated by the app. A link to HackinDROM is also present in the above post.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi there guys! I executed a Big Sur install patcher on my Hackintosh trying to create a bootable install USB for an older laptop. It caused my Hackintosh to no longer boot. I'm guessing it somehow changed the EFI partition, or perhaps something else? I used the EFIclone tool to try and copy the EFI partition from my CCcloner backup drive back to my internal SSD (which failed to help). But now, even the CCcloner backup drive quit booting as well. As a last resort, I removed the internal SSD and managed to boot it up in my MacBook Pro and did a TimeMachine backup just to make sure I don't lose all my data (I hadn't backed up in longer than I had hoped). My solution was going to be reinstall fresh, and then migrate all my data after I have a working system. But I would like to go ahead and upgrade to Big Sur if possible.

However, the first page in this post doesn't really mention anything about Big Sur, and on top of that, it sounds like a lot of people are using OpenCore now. I have tried OpenCore today following a video very closely, but the installer hangs up on IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0.

My end goal is just to have an operational Hackintosh running again as soon as possible. I'm OK with trying to restore the existing internal SSD, which should be mostly intact except for EFI partition (not sure what else the patcher could have changed?). But I'm also OK with fully reinstalling and starting fresh. I just don't know how to proceed because I lack adequate experience to know HOW to proceed, which leaves me feeling very frustrated. I'm hoping someone knows where to point me for help. Thanks in advance for all you guys do! I wouldn't have been enjoying this hackintosh for the last few years without all the documentation and questions answered by ya'll here on this forum. :)

@CaseySJ Thanks for the reply on the prior post. I will try the link you provided, and HackinDROM as well, to see if I can get my build going again. Much appreciated! I will come back and post results after some work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
201
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there guys, I executed a Big Sur install patcher on my Hackintosh trying to create a bootable install USB for an older laptop. It caused my Hackintosh to no longer boot. I'm guessing it somehow changed the EFI partition, or perhaps something else? I used the EFIclone tool to try and copy the EFI partition from my CCcloner backup drive back to my internal SSD (which failed to help), but now, even the CCcloner backup drive quit booting as well. As a last resort,

@Talloth

If you have restored your working EFI and it doesn't boot, I'm pretty confident the patcher has modified kexts in your hack's macOS which are not compatible with your hack.

Also check the BIOS boot priority to make sure it is booting from the correct EFI.

I would suggest you create a USB installer with your current macOS, and install over your currently not booting macOS drive. This will keep your data, but replace the macOS which will then hopefully boot again.

Or if you have a current clone of the hack's drive, use it to clone back from the working clone to replace the non-booting macOS.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
There's a prebuilt OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI for Z390 Designare located in the link below (can also be referenced from Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1). This EFI does not contain serial numbers, so it's meant for upgrades in which existing serial numbers are copied to the new config.plist.
We also use the HackinDROM App, which can perform both (a) OpenCore upgrades from old version of OC to new version of OC, and (b) OpenCore first-time installation in which new serial numbers are generated by the app. A link to HackinDROM is also present in the above post.
@CaseySJ Thanks for the info above. Ok, I used the prebuilt OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI and manually configured the config.plist to include the platform identifiers. Now I at least get to the picker GUI. As soon as I choose the boot disk and hit enter, it doesn't get very far (see screenshot). My system specs are Designare (BIOS F8), i9-9900k, RX5700 XT.
 

Attachments

  • locked.png
    locked.png
    977 KB · Views: 20
  • EFI.zip
    5.8 MB · Views: 4
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
51
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I tried to upgrade from opencore 0.6.7 to 0.7.3 with mojave but I keep getting this message about apple boot security. Any ideas ?
I set securebootmodel to j137.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0574.jpg
    IMG_0574.jpg
    299.5 KB · Views: 10

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,655
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I tried to upgrade from opencore 0.6.7 to 0.7.3 with mojave but I keep getting this message about apple boot security. Any ideas ?
I set securebootmodel to j137.
compare your config.plist with the sample.plist
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
127
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Good morning, I don't know if it's the place, but I'm downloading the new Monterey beta, is it possible to run with the current 0.73, or I would have to make some change. If the subject cannot be discussed here, I apologize and you can delete. Thanks
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,655
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
201
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone having problems installing Monterey public beta 7 on this Designare Z390 build? Until beta 7 I have had no problems installing updates via Software Update.

The update was downloaded (via Content Casing where beta 7 had been downloaded and cached to an iMac). Software update went through the 30 minute preparation stage, then did a brief display of the Apple logo and progress bar, then rebooted to the OC picker, and OC pre-selected the Install HD (or whatever it was named.) Then the Apple logo and progress bar were displayed doing about 10 minutes of processing.

Then another reboot to the OC picker. In previous installs the Install HD icon in the picker disappeared and the Monterey drive was pre-selected for additional processing. With beta 7 the Install HD remained displayed, but the Monterey drive was pre-selected and booted.

However the hack was booted back to the Monterey desktop and the drive was not updated.

I have tried doing the update using csr settings of E7030000, 67000000, and 00000000 without success.

It looks like I should try doing a straight download from Apple servers and try again unless someone has other suggestions.
 
Top