Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Z390 designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900k
Graphics
MSI Rx 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @Z390HTosh,

Oh no, it looks as if your RX 580 may have a fault. If you have another motherboard, please try installing the RX 580 into that. If the same problem occurs then there's good reason to believe the GPU is bad.

To switch to Intel iGPU, we can do the following from a working Mac or Hack:
  • Edit your config.plist from the EFI/OC folder in the EFI partition using TextEdit or BBEdit.
  • Find the section DeviceProperties. It should look like this:
XML:
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Realtek ALC1220-VB</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,3/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Network controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,1/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Ethernet controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel i211 PCI Express GIgabit Ethernet</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x14,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,20,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>USB controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel PCH xHCI Host Controller</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>
  • See that first section beginning with <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>? It looks like this:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
  • Replace just this section with the following:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
  • Save the file.
  • Boot the Hackintosh with the modified config.plist.
  • You may connect monitor to either of these ports located on the rear IO panel:
    • HDMI port (using HDMI to HDMI cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 1 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 2 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
A huge thanks for your reply....
First, I am going to check my RX 580 on another motherboard. Then I will do the patch to use iGPU.
I have some doubts....
-At the moment I can't boot my hackintosh so how can I access my EFI, I can't do safe boot also. (I have a CCC back up of boot drive on another external drive, too.)
-Once I repair my RX 580, will I be able to switch back to it? Do I need to remove the patches?..

Again thanks a lot for looking into my issues!!!!
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
244
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
A huge thanks for your reply....
First, I am going to check my RX 580 on another motherboard. Then I will do the patch to use iGPU.
I have some doubts....
-At the moment I can't boot my hackintosh so how can I access my EFI, I can't do safe boot also. (I have a CCC back up of boot drive on another external drive, too.)
-Once I repair my RX 580, will I be able to switch back to it? Do I need to remove the patches?..

Again thanks a lot for looking into my issues!!!!

You can use any bootable Linux ISO on a USB to boot the computer, and then modify the EFI for IGPU only configuration. Before you modify the config.plist, you can make a copy in the same EFI folder - this will help you restore easily when your RX580 is back.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Z390 designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900k
Graphics
MSI Rx 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You can use any bootable linux ISO on a USB to boot the computer and then modify the EFI for IGPU only configuration. Before you modify the config.plist you can make a copy in the same EFI folder - this will help you restore easily when your RX580 is back.
Thanks for the reply!!!!..I didn't think of swapping back the RX 580 plist hahahaha....thank you...will try...
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Z390 designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900k
Graphics
MSI Rx 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @Z390HTosh,

Oh no, it looks as if your RX 580 may have a fault. If you have another motherboard, please try installing the RX 580 into that. If the same problem occurs then there's good reason to believe the GPU is bad.

To switch to Intel iGPU, we can do the following from a working Mac or Hack:
  • Edit your config.plist from the EFI/OC folder in the EFI partition using TextEdit or BBEdit.
  • Find the section DeviceProperties. It should look like this:
XML:
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Realtek ALC1220-VB</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,3/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Network controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,1/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Ethernet controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel i211 PCI Express GIgabit Ethernet</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x14,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,20,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>USB controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel PCH xHCI Host Controller</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>
  • See that first section beginning with <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>? It looks like this:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
  • Replace just this section with the following:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
  • Save the file.
  • Boot the Hackintosh with the modified config.plist.
  • You may connect monitor to either of these ports located on the rear IO panel:
    • HDMI port (using HDMI to HDMI cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 1 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 2 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
Hi @CaseySJ! I have managed to access my EFI through Ubuntu from a bootable USB. My config.plist is in the folder EFI/Clover. I am using Clover, not OpenCore method. I can't find any of the above line of codes in the file. What am I missing?...Do you need me to attach my config.plist?

Update: from your build guide, under "injecting audio and enabling Onboard HDMI", should I just follow those instructions? Will that be compatible?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,257
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ! I have managed to access my EFI through Ubuntu from a bootable USB. My config.plist is in the folder EFI/Clover. I am using Clover, not OpenCore method. I can't find any of the above line of codes in the file. What am I missing?...Do you need me to attach my config.plist?

Update: from your build guide, under "injecting audio and enabling Onboard HDMI", should I just follow those instructions? Will that be compatible?
Yes please try that.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Z390 designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900k
Graphics
MSI Rx 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes please try that.
Hi @CaseySJ , while trying those steps under "Injecting audio and Enabling on-board HDMI" i end up having some doubts..in my config.plist under the section <key>Devices</key>, i already have these lines :
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>16</integer>
</dict>
<key>FakeID</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IMEI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IntelGFX</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>LAN</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>NVidia</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>SATA</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>WIFI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>XHCI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
</dict>
<key>NoDefaultProperties</key>
<false/>
<key>USB</key>
<dict>
<key>FixOwnership</key>
<true/>
<key>Inject</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>UseIntelHDMI</key>
<false/>
</dict>

Do i need to completely remove these lines and add the frameBuffer patch or add inbetween?...iam confused ..also in clover configurator the guide says to make sure the graphics section is empty.....Under Graphics section i have these lines..

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<true/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
do i need to edit anything here?..So sry if iam being an idiot here...Iam running through ubuntu i don't think clover configurator is supported here..i have attached my plist here...Can you pls take a look
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    9 KB · Views: 3

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,603
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ , while trying those steps under "Injecting audio and Enabling on-board HDMI" i end up having some doubts..in my config.plist under the section <key>Devices</key>, i already have these lines :
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>16</integer>
</dict>
<key>FakeID</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IMEI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IntelGFX</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>LAN</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>NVidia</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>SATA</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>WIFI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>XHCI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
</dict>
<key>NoDefaultProperties</key>
<false/>
<key>USB</key>
<dict>
<key>FixOwnership</key>
<true/>
<key>Inject</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>UseIntelHDMI</key>
<false/>
</dict>

Do i need to completely remove these lines and add the frameBuffer patch or add inbetween?...iam confused ..also in clover configurator the guide says to make sure the graphics section is empty.....Under Graphics section i have these lines..

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<true/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
do i need to edit anything here?..So sry if iam being an idiot here...Iam running through ubuntu i don't think clover configurator is supported here..i have attached my plist here...Can you pls take a look
this should be false:
Code:
<key>Intel</key>
<true/>
 
Top