Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Thunderbolt is currently the only advantage we have come across, but note that all Macs have this enabled all the time. If you update to OpenCore 0.7.2, all of the changes are already made for you. You'll only need to enable VT-d in BIOS.
Hi @CaseySJ thanks for your reply. The changes through the OC 0.7.2 mini guide clearly didn’t apply as in your mini guide notes it states disableIOmapper = disabled however after update my disableIOmapper still had a blue tick in it..

Either way, I unticked disableIOmapper, removed dart=0 from boot args, and enabled VT-D in bios and booted back up to find my WiFi no longer worked. Is there a work around for the wifi issue or have others come across the same issue?

p.s. thanks for your help and quick responses
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ thanks for your reply. The changes through the OC 0.7.2 mini guide clearly didn’t apply as in your mini guide notes it states disableIOmapper = disabled however after update my disableIOmapper still had a blue tick in it..

Either way, I unticked disableIOmapper, removed dart=0 from boot args, and enabled VT-D in bios and booted back up to find my WiFi no longer worked. Is there a work around for the wifi issue or have others come across the same issue?

p.s. thanks for your help and quick responses
I think something is amiss. If you are used HackinDROM 1.4.9 to build your EFI or @CaseySJ OC0.7.2 then you would already have DisableIOMapper unchecked as below.

1628208469683.png


I just completely recreated my OC0.7.2 EFI with HackinDROM 1.4.9 to be sure, and the above image is from that recreation. I'm not trying to be a jerk, but are you sure you're mounting the correct volume for your EFI?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
165
Motherboard
GA Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have an overclocking question with this Z390 with an Noctua air-cooled setup:
5GHz all cores, vcore =1.28V, RAM = 2666 MHz 1.2V

I'm aiming for a balance of stability, performance, and system longevity. Is general processor stress determined of both package temperature and cpu vcore? Or is it all about package temperature?
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,115
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I think something is amiss. If you are used HackinDROM 1.4.9 to build your EFI or @CaseySJ OC0.7.2 then you would already have DisableIOMapper unchecked as below.

View attachment 526387

I just completely recreated my OC0.7.2 EFI with HackinDROM 1.4.9 to be sure, and the above image is from that recreation. I'm not trying to be a jerk, but are you sure you're mounting the correct volume for your EFI?
Additional Note:
When we use Create EFI, Casey's or other admin's configuration is used to generate the config.plist
When we use Update OC then our own configuration is ported to the new config.plist
ex:
If you have DisableIOMapper checked in OC 0.7.1 it will be checked too in OC 0.7.2 after the update
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
165
Motherboard
GA Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Overclocking is not recommended for Macs (and even less for Hackintoshes)
If you still decide to overclock so my recommendation is to always control highest indicated temperature (here Package Temperature)

CPU will still work fine even at 95 degrees if it stays stable, but not sur if your OS will stay stable.
As you can see Apple Intel based Macs CPU's has always a little bit less frequency than OEM equivalent CPUs and I think there's probably a reason for that
Overclocked CPU, RAM, IGPU and GPU here. All working.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,790
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Additional Note:
When we use Create EFI, Casey's or other admin's configuration is used to generate the config.plist
When we use Update OC then our own configuration is ported to the new config.plist
ex:
If you have DisableIOMapper checked in OC 0.7.1 it will be checked too in OC 0.7.2 after the update
I’ll update the 0.7.2 mini-guides soon with this information.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I think something is amiss. If you are used HackinDROM 1.4.9 to build your EFI or @CaseySJ OC0.7.2 then you would already have DisableIOMapper unchecked as below.

View attachment 526387

I just completely recreated my OC0.7.2 EFI with HackinDROM 1.4.9 to be sure, and the above image is from that recreation. I'm not trying to be a jerk, but are you sure you're mounting the correct volume for your EFI?
Absolutely, the same one I’ve used for the last several OC updates and in fact the only EFI volume. I am quite familiar with the HackinDROM update process
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Additional Note:
When we use Create EFI, Casey's or other admin's configuration is used to generate the config.plist
When we use Update OC then our own configuration is ported to the new config.plist
ex:
If you have DisableIOMapper checked in OC 0.7.1 it will be checked too in OC 0.7.2 after the update
Thankyou @Inqnuam for that explanation, makes sense. Either way, I disabled 'DisableIOMapper', removed dart=0 from boot args, enabled VTD in bios and then rebooted, first boot into BigSur and everything was playing up, for example, top menu bar was only showing if I opened an application, Shutdown was not working, restart was not working and I had to manually power of the system. I turned power off to the PSU for about 5 mins and then powered the machine back up and all worked fine....... except...... my wifi indicator in the top menu bar had a line through it and I could not enable wifi.. Will this be caused by the AppleVTD or the corresponding settings?

I would really like to enable AppleVTD however not at the expense of wifi :)

Hopefully there is a simple solution to this :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,790
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thankyou @Inqnuam for that explanation, makes sense. Either way, I disabled 'DisableIOMapper', removed dart=0 from boot args, enabled VTD in bios and then rebooted, first boot into BigSur and everything was playing up, for example, top menu bar was only showing if I opened an application, Shutdown was not working, restart was not working and I had to manually power of the system. I turned power off to the PSU for about 5 mins and then powered the machine back up and all worked fine....... except...... my wifi indicator in the top menu bar had a line through it and I could not enable wifi.. Will this be caused by the AppleVTD or the corresponding settings?

I would really like to enable AppleVTD however not at the expense of wifi :)

Hopefully there is a simple solution to this :)
There are five things to check that are listed in the first 5 bullets of this post:
 
Top