Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,375
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, so the icons on my login screen are huge. I have tried to fix this with the OpenCore output arguments, but now the OC boot icons are huge too instead of fixing the Login screen resolution.

Wiped the NVRAM, cleaned the cache, but still wrong.

How can I fix this?
This is a weakness of OpenCore at the moment. Although there are various screen resolution options in UEFI --> Output, they don't work as expected. Let's hope this gets addressed in an upcoming release. New OpenCore versions are being released on a monthly basis at this time.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,375
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone had any issues slow stuttering Bluetooth and WiFi when network activity is high with the Fenvi T919? If so is there a fix?
When this problem occurs again please have a look at the following:
  • OPTION-Click the WiFi icon on Menu Bar to reveal the statistics shown below:
Screen Shot 2021-04-19 at 9.20.46 AM.png

  • Channel shows which band you're connected to. In this case 5 GHz.
  • RSSI is the Received Signal Strength Indicator, which is the strength of the signal being seen by the Fenvi.
  • Noise is self-explanatory.
    • Lower is better.
  • Tx Rate: Data transfer rate.
For Bluetooth devices we can use HackinDROM App as follows:
Screen Shot 2021-04-19 at 9.29.52 AM.pngScreen Shot 2021-04-19 at 9.29.48 AM.png
This will show a graph of RSSI values sampled every couple of seconds. The emojis indicate whether the signal is good or bad (best use of emojis ever).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
51
Motherboard
ASRock W480 Creator
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Order of precedence:
  • We should extract and modify the native firmware first. Then observe what happens with cold boot, warm boot, wake-from-sleep, and hot plug.
    • I can modify the original for you.
  • If there are issues then we can flash a foreign firmware such as:
    • NVM33 from Z390 Designare
    • NVM50 from Z490 Vision D
But please keep the following in mind:
  • Flashing the firmware is not necessary for most Thunderbolt devices. Hot plug will work out-of-the-box.
  • Flashing the firmware incurs risk of physical and electrical damage.
    • It requires sturdy hands and excellent near-vision.
    • If you are near-sighted already and use corrective lenses to view distant objects, you must remove those corrective lenses. Your eyes will focus much more easily on nearby objects and provide far better visual clarity and far less eye fatigue.
    • Each time the 8-pin SOIC clip is attached and detached, it must be done with extreme care to avoid dislodging delicate surface mount devices that are soldered in the immediate vicinity of the flash chip.
  • So always connect and test Thunderbolt devices without flashing the firmware. If they work, then there's no need to flash.
On my way to test the W480, I seem to have encountered a problem installing macOS, where I get stuck near "IOConsoleUsers":
https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore...r-ioconsoleusers-gioscreenlock-giolockstate-3
IMG_2120.jpg

The usual solutions (per Dortania guide), namely:
  • CSM disabled in the BIOS
  • ig-platform-id ("PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)" "00009B3E") and device-id ("PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0xIC,0x4)" "F2150000") are set as per recommendations
  • Added boot arguments of "-igfxmlr" and "igfxonln=1" to no avail.
# Disabled
Fast Boot
Secure Boot
Serial/COM Port
Parallel Port
VT-d (can be enabled if you set DisableIoMapper to YES)
CSM
Thunderbolt(For initial install, as Thunderbolt can cause issues if not setup correctly)
Intel SGX
Intel Platform Trust
CFG Lock
Security Device Support
RGB LED
Deep Sleep

# Enabled
VT-x ("Intel Virtualization Technology")
Above 4G decoding
Hyper-Threading
EHCI/XHCI Hand-off
SATA Mode: AHCI
iGPU Multi-Monitor

#Other UEFI Settings
Primary Graphics Adapter: iGPU
Share Memory: 64M
Any ideas on what might be wrong here?
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    26.7 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, so the icons on my login screen are huge. I have tried to fix this with the OpenCore output arguments, but now the OC boot icons are huge too instead of fixing the Login screen resolution.

Wiped the NVRAM, cleaned the cache, but still wrong.

How can I fix this?
I had the same problem with my 4K monitor and too small a display. Maybe it helps to make settings on the following parameters in the OCC (Opencore Configurator):
UEFI -> Outpout -> Text Renderer "BuiltinGraphics" and Resolution "Max" (see attached picture)

It is also helpful to try out the following parameters in the NVRAM menu:
NVRAM -> UUID 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14 -> UIScale 01 (default) (see attached picture)

I changed the value UIScale to "02" because otherwise the display on my LG 4K monitor is too small for me.
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-20 um 12.02.15.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-20 um 12.02.15.png
    670.1 KB · Views: 9
  • Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-20 um 12.02.39.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-20 um 12.02.39.png
    642.7 KB · Views: 9

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,375
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On my way to test the W480, I seem to have encountered a problem installing macOS, where I get stuck near "IOConsoleUsers":
https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore...r-ioconsoleusers-gioscreenlock-giolockstate-3

The usual solutions (per Dortania guide), namely:
  • CSM disabled in the BIOS
  • ig-platform-id ("PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)" "00009B3E") and device-id ("PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0xIC,0x4)" "F2150000") are set as per recommendations
  • Added boot arguments of "-igfxmlr" and "igfxonln=1" to no avail.

Any ideas on what might be wrong here?
Some suggestions:
  • Change Platform ID to 07009B3E.
  • Do not use on-board HDMI port. It won't work without a Framebuffer patch.
  • Instead, use either a USB-C to DisplayPort or USB-C to HDMI cable connected to one of the two Thunderbolt 3 ports (marked with lightning logo).
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
51
Motherboard
ASRock W480 Creator
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Some suggestions:
  • Change Platform ID to 07009B3E.
  • Do not use on-board HDMI port. It won't work without a Framebuffer patch.
  • Instead, use either a USB-C to DisplayPort or USB-C to HDMI cable connected to one of the two Thunderbolt 3 ports (marked with lightning logo).
Thanks, will try with my Thunderbolt LG monitor connected to the TB3 (disabled in BIOS--is this OK?) later today. I had been using an older TV's (2011-vintage Samsung model) HDMI input. I understand that using TV monitors can cause a problem, but it was all I had on hand at the moment.
BTW, is the reason there is only one HDMI port and no DisplayPort because there can only be a maximum of 3 external video connections through the iGPU in total, with two being taken by the onboard TB3 ports? I thought it was strange that there was only one HDMI.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,375
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, will try with my Thunderbolt LG monitor connected to the TB3 (disabled in BIOS--is this OK?) later today.
Does your Thunderbolt monitor have a regular DisplayPort or HDMI connector? If so, I would strongly recommend using those ports. But if not, then certainly try the Thunderbolt connection on both ends.

...
BTW, is the reason there is only one HDMI port and no DisplayPort because there can only be a maximum of 3 external video connections through the iGPU in total, with two being taken by the onboard TB3 ports? I thought it was strange that there was only one HDMI.
Exactly!
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
68
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Hello all!

I am just getting starting from first time attempt with my Z390; thanks to everyone for all of your contributions! Mojave is installing now, I've already worked through all of my initial issues, so... looking good now!!

I have one question already: I WILL need to do the TB 3 Flash so I can use my Universal Audio gear. If I flash, will this cause any Thunderbolt issues when I'm switching back and using Windows 10?

Thank you!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,375
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello all!

I am just getting starting from first time attempt with my Z390; thanks to everyone for all of your contributions! Mojave is installing now, I've already worked through all of my initial issues, so... looking good now!!

I have one question already: I WILL need to do the TB 3 Flash so I can use my Universal Audio gear. If I flash, will this cause any Thunderbolt issues when I'm switching back and using Windows 10?

Thank you!
Hello @BOTMT,

It is not necessary to flash the Thunderbolt controller in order to use UAD audio gear. There may be some benefits with flashing, but one should always use the standard non-flashed controller first.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
51
Motherboard
ASRock W480 Creator
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Does your Thunderbolt monitor have a regular DisplayPort or HDMI connector? If so, I would strongly recommend using those ports. But if not, then certainly try the Thunderbolt connection on both ends.


Exactly!
So far, no luck:
  • Connecting TB3/UBS-C port to TB-3 input on LG monitor remained black throughout, regardless of whether HDMi was connected to monitor (TV)
  • Connecting TB3/UBS-C port to HDMI input via USB-C to HDMI cable (similar to above) also nothing.
  • In both cases, tried with Thunderbolt enabled and disabled in BIOS.
  • This was after having changed Platform ID to back to 07009B3E
What to try next? Am I missing something obvious?
 
Top