Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
355
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@jjsenecal :

As CaseySJ said: with an Hackintosh, nothing is lost if MacOS doesn’t work for you. You still have a good powerful PC. Hey, it’s a tool, nothing else ;)

**Soundblaster, old memories of an ISA AWE-64 (crap gaming high SN ratio card) and Live (crap gaming card high SN ratio and 48kHz but lot of fun in the old days...).

Next card was an Echo Mia, still have it in an old PC. Stellar improvement. I didn’t know that Creative was still active in the audio field.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@jjsenecal :

As CaseySJ said: with an Hackintosh, nothing is lost if MacOS doesn’t work for you. You still have a good powerful PC. Hey, it’s a tool, nothing else ;)

**Soundblaster, old memories of an ISA AWE-64 (crap gaming high SN ratio card) and Live (crap gaming card high SN ratio and 48kHz but lot of fun in the old days...).

Next card was an Echo Mia, still have it in an old PC. Stellar improvement. I didn’t know that Creative was still active in the audio field.
Yeah, Creative actually still make some really good sounds cards with external interfaces. Most folks go with onboard audio because it's good enough and free, but a dedicated card is still the best way to eliminate electronic interference and noise when running good sound system/speakers. I always had a background hiss in my Bose setup with the onboard audio. Annoying as hell. :mad:
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2020
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Ati rx 580 nitro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I looked at the link, the description about the led backlight, and I have an LCD display, can I make it display the temperature in macOS.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2021_04_17_19_22_17_5921426644624494935061.jpg
    IMG_2021_04_17_19_22_17_5921426644624494935061.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 19
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
355
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Yeah, Creative actually still make some really good sounds cards with external interfaces. Most folks go with onboard audio because it's good enough and free, but a dedicated card is still the best way to eliminate electronic interference and noise when running good sound system/speakers. I always had a background hiss in my Bose setup with the onboard audio. Annoying as hell. :mad:
They came a long way from the Live 5.1, amazing!

I guess they have at least an ASIO driver with this thing?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I looked at the link, the description about the led backlight, and I have an LCD display, can I make it display the temperature in macOS.
That link is part of the solution. Simply follow that link to install (a) Homebrew and (b) liquidctl. Then configure the NZXT Z73 using these instructions:

 
Joined
Sep 6, 2020
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Ati rx 580 nitro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
That link is part of the solution. Simply follow that link to install (a) Homebrew and (b) liquidctl. Then configure the NZXT Z73 using these instructions:

thank you very much, I will try
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,013
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've tried to update my OC test SSD(worked, though somehow my sysdef/credentials are not the same according to Apple) to 0.6.8 using the provided EFI in this thread and, for the first time, a hackindrom generated config.plist with my Hack's credentials. Easy enough.
I can boot, but whatever mac version(Mojave, Catalina) I choose to load, I get the Apple logo and nothing.
Going back to Clover, everything works as expected.

How do I activate verbose mode in OC picker?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've tried to update my OC test SSD(worked, though somehow my sysdef/credentials are not the same according to Apple) to 0.6.8 using the provided EFI in this thread and, for the first time, a hackindrom generated config.plist with my Hack's credentials. Easy enough.
I can boot, but whatever mac version(Mojave, Catalina) I choose to load, I get the Apple logo and nothing.
Going back to Clover, everything works as expected.

How do I activate verbose mode in OC picker?
The OpenCore EFI requires CFG-Lock to be disabled in BIOS. We’ve also enabled SIP since 0.6.7, which may cause some issues with third party kernel extensions. SIP can be disabled by setting the NVRAM variable ‘csr-active-config’ back to E7030000. This is mentioned in the mini guide for 0.6.7.

Verbose mode is activated by pressing CMD-V at OpenCore Picker before clicking on the boot disk.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hm. My AMD RX 480 is not in the first slot. (My Noctua is too big.) Would this make a difference?
This should not matter. Is this the first time you're migrating to OpenCore or you've been using a previous version of it?

Some additional info about OpenCanopy:
 
Last edited:
Top