Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 5700 XT / RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@docfiru and @jlehy2

Did you reset NVRAM? (Space bar at openCore boot). Remember that after this reset the default boot disk may have changed! In this case do not forget to select it and at OC boot and then in system preferences -> boot disk.
After reinstalling 0.6.7 and resetting NVRAM, HackIntool normally recognizes the change to 0.6.7
Yes, I did definitely reset NVRAM. Always do. I even re-installed 0.6.7 again, just to be sure, still reports as 0.6.6.

‍*shrug*
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,413
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just want to share my solution to my Sidecar's issue.

Issue:
Sidecar while using Logic Pro X. Sidecar's taking up almost 100% of my CPU thread (1 out of 16 threads) that causing the System Overload error and some display issue.

Solution:
Changed
ig-platform-id: from 07009B3E to 0300923E
Hello @nasgier,

You changed iGPU to headless mode in which it no longer outputs video through HDMI or DisplayPort, but can be used for GPU-compute tasks. We can use either 03000923E or 0300983E for this.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,413
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After updating from OC 0.6.6 to 0.6.7 my metal benchmark has increased by 3 to 4 thousand points to over 77000. Big Sur 11.2.1.

What have they done?
Interesting. My RX580 on Z490 Vision D has increased by 1000 points in Metal. This isn't much, but is probably due to continuous improvements Apple makes to their graphics drivers.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600k
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hell @CaseySJ, I always forgot to ask how to fix the issue with the Preview app, particularly jpg files. (This also happens on the Finder Quick Look.) I tried the NoVPAJpeg.kext, but it didn't work. To make it clear, I moved the NoVPAJpeg.kext into my macOS-library-extensions
I would appreciate any help with this because, from time to time, this issue is really frustrating. :) Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,413
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hell @CaseySJ, I always forgot to ask how to fix the issue with the preview app, particularly jpg files (this also happens on the Finder quick look). I tried the NoVPAJpeg.kext, but it didn't work. To make it clear, I moved the NoVPAJpeg.kext into my macOS-library-extensions
I would appreciate any help with this because from time to time, this issue is really frustrating. :) Thanks.
Hello @memomemonline,

Some background questions:
  • Are you running Mojave, Catalina, or Big Sur?
  • Are you using Clover or OpenCore?
  • What Platform ID are you using? This is available from the front page of Hackintool.
  • What SMBIOS name are you using? iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 or ...?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
288
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was wondering the same thing, but updated from their actual release package and... got the same result. Wondering if it's just a mislabeled version, or.... perhaps it wasn't packaged correctly?
I seem to be having the same issue. NVRAM does not appear to be able to reset and though OC 0.6.7 is installed, Hackintool sees the correct kext versions, but it thinks OpenCore is still set to 0.6.6.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600k
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @memomemonline,

Some background questions:
  • Are you running Mojave, Catalina, or Big Sur?
  • Are you using Clover or OpenCore?
  • What Platform ID are you using? This is available from the front page of Hackintool.
  • What SMBIOS name are you using? iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 or ...?
Hello @CaseySJ, I am using your build:
1) Mojave
2) Clover
3) 0x00000000
4) iMac19,1

Thank you so much!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,413
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @CaseySJ, I am using your build:
1) Mojave
2) Clover
3) 0x00000000
4) iMac19,1

Thank you so much!
Platform ID is not right. Can you please post your config.plist with serial numbers removed from SMBIOS section?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel > Need version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi @CaseySJ i did fresh installation for big sur and i have 3 issues

1) no signal after wake even after only monitor turns off (IGPU) hdmi.
2) sometimes copying files from or to usb devices is very slow.
3) facetime and messages can't login
 
Top