Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
145
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EXII
CPU
9900 XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ, I've been running a Gigabyte Designare EX x299 for some time and pretty stable but never got hotplug to work.

Searching about the topic I stumbled on this post which was a godsend so I started experimenting with the AML you provided there for this motherboard. I'm somewhat puzzled because the results are "random"... sometimes everything appears properly under the thunderbolt tab in the system report and sometimes it doesn't (and this hotplug works or not).

Why ? I don't know...

Looking at the AML (without touching it) and trying to compile it, it's giving me the following error :

"Method local is set but never used (Local1)"

I feel we're almost there... if you could have a look or give me any hint I would greatly appreciate it. I've attached to this post my EFI folder and IOReg of the current config.

Thank you for all the hard work and advances made in this post.

P.S: I'm not running the PCI0 rename, so all my AMLs have that renamed to PC00, for unknown reasons renaming to PCI0 messes up something and the system gets unstable.
 

Attachments

  • iMacPro.ioreg
    10.3 MB · Views: 9
  • OC.zip
    18.8 MB · Views: 7
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi CaseySJ,
is it possible to do CCC (carbon copy) with Big Sur?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,935
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CaseySJ,
is it possible to do CCC (carbon copy) with Big Sur?
Yes it's possible, but there are some issues to be aware of:
  • Use the latest version of CCC.
  • Allow CCC to erase the Destination disk when asked.
  • The first time you clone a particular version of macOS, CCC may erase the destination disk and copy both the System and User volumes.
    • CCC will use Apple's APFS Replication tool, which will take a LONG time.
  • The next time you clone the same version of macOS, CCC will only clone the User volume. This will take relatively little time.
  • When a future update of macOS is installed, CCC may do one of the following:
    • It may erase the Destination and clone everything from scratch again.
    • It may only clone the User volume, which means the System volume will still be the previous macOS version.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,935
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ, I've been running a Gigabyte Designare EX x299 for some time and pretty stable but never got hotplug to work.

Searching about the topic I stumbled on this post which was a godsend so I started experimenting with the AML you provided there for this motherboard. I'm somewhat puzzled because the results are "random"... sometimes everything appears properly under the thunderbolt tab in the system report and sometimes it doesn't (and this hotplug works or not).

Why ? I don't know...
Hello @arkanis,

This SSDT enables Thunderbolt Bus on Alpine Ridge systems. You have configured your config.plist correctly, but IOReg does not show Thunderbolt Bus. This might mean that IOReg you posted was generated with the previous SSDT (SSDT-X299-TB3HP).

What happens when you enable SSDT-TbtOnPch-Designare-X299-EX? It would be good to post the following two files are booting the system with this SSDT:
  • IOReg file
  • System DSDT (MaciASL --> File --> New from ACPI --> System DSDT)
Looking at the AML (without touching it) and trying to compile it, it's giving me the following error :

"Method local is set but never used (Local1)"
"Method local is set but never used (Local1)" is perfectly fine and can safely be ignored. It simply means that the local variable Local1 was assigned a value that was not subsequently used.

I feel we're almost there... if you could have a look or give me any hint I would greatly appreciate it. I've attached to this post my EFI folder and IOReg of the current config.

Thank you for all the hard work and advances made in this post.

P.S: I'm not running the PCI0 rename, so all my AMLs have that renamed to PC00, for unknown reasons renaming to PCI0 messes up something and the system gets unstable.
Your PCI base path is \_SB.PC00 instead of \_SB.PCI0, so the former is required and the latter will not work.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
145
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EXII
CPU
9900 XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @arkanis,

This SSDT enables Thunderbolt Bus on Alpine Ridge systems. You have configured your config.plist correctly, but IOReg does not show Thunderbolt Bus. This might mean that IOReg you posted was generated with the previous SSDT (SSDT-X299-TB3HP).

What happens when you enable SSDT-TbtOnPch-Designare-X299-EX? It would be good to post the following two files are booting the system with this SSDT:
  • IOReg file
  • System DSDT (MaciASL --> File --> New from ACPI --> System DSDT)

"Method local is set but never used (Local1)" is perfectly fine and can safely be ignored. It simply means that the local variable Local1 was assigned a value that was not subsequently used.


Your PCI base path is \_SB.PC00 instead of \_SB.PCI0, so the former is required and the latter will not work.

@CaseySJ thank you for replying, really appreciated.

Please find attached two extracted DSDT's and two IORegs, one when things work as they should and the other when they don't.

Using the TBH3 SSDT of course doesn't give me hotplug BUT on the other hand is "reliable", in the sense that every time I turn on my computer, hardware is detected and shows up. (in the PCI tab in system report and on the own hardware driver tab).

Now using the SSDT provided in this thread loads maybe once or twice, but otherwise fails in both scenarios (showing up under the Thunderbolt tab AND PCI, and the hardware isn't detected at all and is unusable). I also have to power reboot the TB3 Hardware (Blackmagic Design Ultra Studio 4K Mini).

Really puzzled about the "randomness" of it if I can call it like that but I'm no expert.

Thank you for helping me!
 

Attachments

  • iMacPro_TB3_failed.ioreg
    9.5 MB · Views: 3
  • iMacPro_TB3_success.ioreg
    10 MB · Views: 3
  • System DSDT (failed load).dsl
    1 MB · Views: 4
  • System DSDT (success load).dsl
    1 MB · Views: 5
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
100
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Try this in Terminal:
Bash:
launchctl list | grep -v apple

Thank you. I actually managed to get rid of a few things that weren’t needed anymore. However, problem persists. I did notice that if I let the login screen linger for some time and the log in, the taskbar loads immediately. So it’s probably nothing connected to my specific user.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
120
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580 & WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I need some help.
I successfully switched to OpenCore from Clover, but I'm having a difficult time with iMessages.
I log in, then it shows a blank message, then goes back to the sign in screen.
I've attached my OC folder and the NVRAM check results.
I made sure the list appears in Everyman lookup, and negative response on apple coverage, but still doesn't work.
Any help would be great.
Thank you in advance
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-03-03 at 6.50.18 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-03 at 6.50.18 PM.png
    761.3 KB · Views: 5
  • Screen Shot 2021-03-03 at 6.52.29 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-03 at 6.52.29 PM.png
    372.9 KB · Views: 5

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,935
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I need some help.
I successfully switched to OpenCore from Clover, but I'm having a difficult time with iMessages.
I log in, then it shows a blank message, then goes back to the sign in screen.
I've attached my OC folder and the NVRAM check results.
I made sure the list appears in Everyman lookup, and negative response on apple coverage, but still doesn't work.
Any help would be great.
Thank you in advance
Couple of suggestions:
  • Run Hackintool and scroll the default System window that appears until you see iMessage Keys. There will be 5 keys. Check the Value column to see if there are any question marks or other strange characters. The keys should be hexadecimal strings (0..9 and A..F).
  • Reset NVRAM from the OpenCore Picker by pressing space bar and selecting Reset NVRAM. This will also reset the Startup Disk so if you have multiple operating systems, go to System Preferences --> Startup Disk and select the default boot disk again.
  • If problem persists, try the suggestions here:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,935
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ thank you for replying, really appreciated.

Please find attached two extracted DSDT's and two IORegs, one when things work as they should and the other when they don't.

Using the TBH3 SSDT of course doesn't give me hotplug BUT on the other hand is "reliable", in the sense that every time I turn on my computer, hardware is detected and shows up. (in the PCI tab in system report and on the own hardware driver tab).

Now using the SSDT provided in this thread loads maybe once or twice, but otherwise fails in both scenarios (showing up under the Thunderbolt tab AND PCI, and the hardware isn't detected at all and is unusable). I also have to power reboot the TB3 Hardware (Blackmagic Design Ultra Studio 4K Mini).

Really puzzled about the "randomness" of it if I can call it like that but I'm no expert.

Thank you for helping me!
When using the TbtOnPCH Thunderbolt SSDT:
  • Does Thunderbolt Bus appear consistently on a cold start?
    • Cold Start = Shutdown the computer, flip power switch on PSU to off for 10 seconds, then power up.
  • Does Thunderbolt Bus appear consistently on a warm start?
    • Warm Start = From a shutdown state, power up the computer and log into macOS. Then select Restart from the Apple menu. Then log back into macOS.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
120
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580 & WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Couple of suggestions:
  • Run Hackintool and scroll the default System window that appears until you see iMessage Keys. There will be 5 keys. Check the Value column to see if there are any question marks or other strange characters. The keys should be hexadecimal strings (0..9 and A..F).
  • Reset NVRAM from the OpenCore Picker by pressing space bar and selecting Reset NVRAM. This will also reset the Startup Disk so if you have multiple operating systems, go to System Preferences --> Startup Disk and select the default boot disk again.
  • If problem persists, try the suggestions here:

The iMessage keys are hexadecimal. They look fine to me, I can post it here if it's not hazardous to me.
Reset NVRAM, issue persisted.
Followed steps in the link, and still same issue :/
 
Top