Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The EFI configuration looks fine. Does Big Sur boot if you disable the Thunderbolt SSDT in config.plist?

Right now my suspicion is that you may be missing a SSDT that is necessary for Big Sur, but is unrelated to Thunderbolt.
No. I tried booting with Thunderbolt disabled in the BIOS and booting without the TB SSDT. No luck.

Perhaps it is something else.

Just tried booting again and it stopped here.
 

Attachments

  • 0AB0D135-53EB-4977-8F4F-2A7D3FF061AE.jpeg
    0AB0D135-53EB-4977-8F4F-2A7D3FF061AE.jpeg
    3.6 MB · Views: 7
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
50
Motherboard
WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mother of jesus and lord almighty @CaseySJ, you F did it. It flawlessly work, I tried a Thunderbolt hard drive and it mounts and also network with another hacktintosh using a Titan Ridge and it works!

I get the same speed as using the 10Gb Ethernet that I was using before, but anyway it works! You son of Thor!!!

Edit: Thank you very much
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,945
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No. I tried booting with Thunderbolt disabled in the BIOS and booting without the TB SSDT. No luck.

Perhaps it is something else.

Just tried booting again and it stopped here.
I think you're missing the attached SSDT, which fixes the problem shown below:

Screen Shot 2021-01-03 at 5.23.02 PM.png


Please add the attached SSDT to OC/ACPI folder and to config.plist and try booting once again.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-RTC0-RANGE.aml
    206 bytes · Views: 5

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,945
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mother of jesus and lord almighty @CaseySJ, you F did it. It flawlessly work, I tried a Thunderbolt hard drive and it mounts and also network with another hacktintosh using a Titan Ridge and it works!

I get the same speed as using the 10Gb Ethernet that I was using before, but anyway it works! You son of Thor!!!

Edit: Thank you very much
Awesome, glad to hear it!! :) Will add this to the Alpine Ridge Repository.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
50
Motherboard
WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Awesome, glad to hear it!! :) Will add this to the Alpine Ridge Repository.
just to make sure and I don't know if makes a difference, you named the file that you sent me GA-X99-SLI, but the motherboard I am using is a GA-X99P-SLI (note the P), seem this one has the Thunderbolt chip onboard and the one without the P has the pin header to connect a PCI Thunderbolt card. I am not sure if that matters.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,945
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
just to make sure and I don't know if makes a difference, you named the file that you sent me GA-X99-SLI, but the motherboard I am using is a GA-X99P-SLI (note the P), seem this one has the Thunderbolt chip onboard and the one without the P has the pin header to connect a PCI Thunderbolt card. I am not sure if that matters.
Thanks for pointing this out. I've made the changes to the Alpine Ridge Repository. It affects the name only, but not functionality.

Screen Shot 2021-01-03 at 5.32.53 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,945
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think you're missing the attached SSDT, which fixes the problem shown below:

View attachment 503766

Please add the attached SSDT to OC/ACPI folder and to config.plist and try booting once again.
@imcalledandy

If Big Sur still fails to boot, please replace the previous SSDT-RTC0-RANGE.aml with the modified version attached here. Because your DSDT already contains a RTC._STA method, the previous version may not work.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-RTC0-RANGE.aml
    172 bytes · Views: 4
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
50
Motherboard
WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hey @CaseySJ,
just one last thing, I can't find any information about the specific settings for Thunderbolt on this BIOS, but so far I found similar names, but the question is, do you happen to know if I have to increase the Reserved Memory (now at 256) or the Prefetchable Memory (now at 32)?
Also for future reference if someone is reading this to add it in their systems if I change the PCIe Cache-line Size to other that 32 it does not work.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@imcalledandy

If Big Sur still fails to boot, please replace the previous SSDT-RTC0-RANGE.aml with the modified version attached here. Because your DSDT already contains a RTC._STA method, the previous version may not work.
@CaseySJ it failed to boot so trying this now - thank you for your continued help and patience!
 
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Glad to hear it. Welcome to the cutting edge... :)

Not sure if it's confirmation bias, just me, or what...but Big Sur seems snappier than Catalina did. And the graphics (well, the text on screen) are just a bit sharper. I'm going with confirmation bias ;)
 
Top