Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 19, 2019
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If any daring hackintosher out there would try to get a AMD 6800 GPU working on a hackintosh they would be my hero. Sadly I think my liquid Vega Frontier Edition is starting to kick the bucket.

I heard the 5700 XT series are actually worse in temps and lower GPU benchmark points than the Vega Frontier liquid cooled. The 5700 XT had so many things wrong with all from the start of the launch. But I think we have to wait for at least a year or two till apple decides to make a move and integrate them in a future Mac OS update that supports these return of the Big Navi 6800 GPU series :((( :banghead:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
754
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If any daring hackintosher out there would try to get a AMD 6800 GPU working on a hackintosh they would be my hero. Sadly I think my liquid Vega Frontier Edition is starting to kick the bucket.

I heard the 5700 XT series are actually worse in temps and lower GPU benchmark points than the Vega Frontier liquid cooled. The 5700 XT had so many things wrong with all from the start of the launch. But I think we have to wait for at least a year or two till apple decides to make a move and integrate them in a future Mac OS update that supports these return of the Big Navi 6800 GPU series :((( :banghead:

A few already are.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/failed-radeon-rx-6800-xt-big-sur.306736/page-6#post-2204512
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
281
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If any daring hackintosher out there would try to get a AMD 6800 GPU working on a hackintosh they would be my hero. Sadly I think my liquid Vega Frontier Edition is starting to kick the bucket.

I heard the 5700 XT series are actually worse in temps and lower GPU benchmark points than the Vega Frontier liquid cooled. The 5700 XT had so many things wrong with all from the start of the launch. But I think we have to wait for at least a year or two till apple decides to make a move and integrate them in a future Mac OS update that supports these return of the Big Navi 6800 GPU series :((( :banghead:
My Saphire Pulse 5700 XT runs great on my Hackintosh! No problems at all. GPU benchmark not too shabby either:

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 2.04.38 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,805
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** OpenCore 0.6.4 EFI for Designare Z390 **
Supports Mojave, Catalina, and Big Sur
Please do not quote this post in its entirely. Use a link instead.

Requires OpenCore Configurator 2.18.1.0 or Newer
(this version has not yet been released so use HackinDROM as described below)

The formal release of OpenCore 0.6.4 has arrived, along with an update of VirtualSMC, Lilu, WhateverGreen, and AppleALC.

This EFI contains the following changes:

Bootloader / Kexts:
All of the items listed below are official builds.
  • OpenCore 0.6.4
  • VirtualSMC 1.1.9
  • Lilu 1.5.0
  • WhateverGreen 1.4.5
  • AppleALC 1.5.5
config.plist Changes:
  • UEFI --> Audio --> PlayChime --> Auto (this allows System Preferences --> Sound to control the boot chime)Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.15.49 AM.png
  • Misc --> Security --> SecureBootModel --> Disabled (change to Default for OpenIntelWireless)
How to Use:
  1. Find a USB flash disk with an EFI partition, or format the USB flash disk in Disk Utility with Scheme = GUID Partition Map and Format = MacOS Extended (Journaled).
  2. Mount EFI partition of the USB flash disk.
  3. Download the attached ZIP into the top level of the EFI partition of the USB flash disk. When the file is unzipped, there will be a folder called OC-064-DESIGNARE-Z390.
  4. Rename this folder to EFI, otherwise the system will not boot.
  5. Use HackinDROM to transfer PlatformInfo from existing OpenCore config.plist to new version. Please follow the guide by clicking here and referring to the screenshot below.
Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 11.10.08 AM.png
After the modified config.plist has been copied to the EFI/OC folder of the USB flash disk, proceed as follows:
  1. Reboot and press F12 at the BIOS Splash Screen. When the BIOS Boot Menu (not OpenCore Picker) appears, select the USB flash disk.
  2. Warning: It is necessary to reset NVRAM one time prior to booting macOS. This can be done by pressing spacebar at the OpenCore Picker and choosing Reset NVRAM. On multi-boot systems, select the default startup disk in System Preferences --> Startup Disk.
  3. At the OpenCore 0.6.4 Picker menu, select and boot the internal macOS disk.
  4. If everything works correctly, copy the new OpenCore EFI folder from the USB flash disk to the EFI partition of the main macOS SSD.
CAUTION:
  • If you are using a custom Thunderbolt SSDT or any other custom SSDTs or Kexts, please update your config.plist accordingly.
 

Attachments

  • OC-064-DESIGNARE-Z390.zip
    4 MB · Views: 479
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
RX 580
Hi @CaseySJ

Sorry for the double post but I posted last week and I think my post was missed due to not tagging you.

I've build a rig a while back and have a good setup going on Catalina, though haven't followed the thread as much recently. I was on Clover but recently switched to Opencore following your guides. However, I now seem to have trouble booting at times. During the boot process in verbose mode, everything goes through until it tries to jump to the Catalina login screen. At that point, the screen goes blank afterwards and it doesn't proceed to the Catalina login screen. I have tried resetting the CMOS/BIOS and that didn't help but then I disabled internal graphics in the BIOS settings which seems to work, but this goes against what your recommended BIOS settings are. Do you have any thoughts about this? Are there any other settings I need to change to enable internal graphics?

I'm not sure if this is the problem, but I recall I set the platform ID to headless when I initially installed Catalina with Clover, though now it is just 0x00000000 on Hackintool. Are there different directions to set it to headless on Opencore?

Thank you very much!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,805
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

Sorry for the double post but I posted last week and I think my post was missed due to not tagging you.

I've build a rig a while back and have a good setup going on Catalina, though haven't followed the thread as much recently. I was on Clover but recently switched to Opencore following your guides. However, I now seem to have trouble booting at times. During the boot process in verbose mode, everything goes through until it tries to jump to the Catalina login screen. At that point, the screen goes blank afterwards and it doesn't proceed to the Catalina login screen. I have tried resetting the CMOS/BIOS and that didn't help but then I disabled internal graphics in the BIOS settings which seems to work, but this goes against what your recommended BIOS settings are. Do you have any thoughts about this? Are there any other settings I need to change to enable internal graphics?

I'm not sure if this is the problem, but I recall I set the platform ID to headless when I initially installed Catalina with Clover, though now it is just 0x00000000 on Hackintool. Are there different directions to set it to headless on Opencore?

Thank you very much!
First thing to check is whether BIOS Setup --> Internal Graphics is set to Enabled (not Auto).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,805
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it was Enabled but would only boot up about 50% of the time.
If Platform ID is reported as 0x00000000, it may indicate a problem with device properties in config.plist. Feel free to post a copy of your config.plist with serial numbers removed from PlatformInfo section.
 
Top