Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,384
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey all,

I just upgraded from Catalina to Big Sur. In Catalina, I had 3 Monitors (2 DP and 1 HDMI) running off my RX 5700XT. Upon upgrade, the DP connections no longer work. I've moved 1 DP over to HDMI and it works fine so HDMI is working great. But DisplayPort seems to be wonky.

Any ideas? Thanks.

iMac 19,1 | Z390 Gigabyte Designare | i7-9700K | Radeon RX 5700 XT
If anyone has encountered this problem and found a solution or workaround, please let us know!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,384
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello, tell me is there a way to run windows in macos? systems are on different disks, parallel and vmware cannot run
Both of those virtualization apps support Windows on macOS. Just check if you have latest version. If Windows is already installed, you should be able to create a VM based on the existing Windows installation. Just check the Help page or website of those apps to find the procedure. A Google search can also be done.

If you have already tried this and are encountering some problem, please try searching for an answer or describe the problem (and the error message) clearly here.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Both of those virtualization apps support Windows on macOS. Just check if you have latest version. If Windows is already installed, you should be able to create a VM based on the existing Windows installation. Just check the Help page or website of those apps to find the procedure. A Google search can also be done.

If you have already tried this and are encountering some problem, please try searching for an answer or describe the problem (and the error message) clearly here.
For what it's worth, I'm running VMware Fusion, Parallels, and Virtual Box on my Hackintosh without issue. One change I made to @CaseySJ BIOS settings for the Z390 Designare was to turn VTd back on as it improved VM performance.
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please check if SecureBootModel is set to Disabled (not Default).
@CaseySJ

Yes it was disable. See the screen ...but no work !!!
Imagem.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
17
Motherboard
NUC9i9QNB
CPU
i9-9980HK
Graphics
UHD 630
Or saved you from heartache! ;)
@CaseySJ despite all my motivation I unfortunately did not succeed in backing up the firmware.

indeed, I was expecting to have a Winbond chipset on my nuc9i9qnb Mobo, but in reality I have a macronix mx25v8035f which for the moment is incompatible with flashrom.

I'm actually using the following dogle.

and here is the message displayed by flashroom.

Capture d’écran 2020-12-04 à 23.34.25.png


any idea or workaround are welcome.

thanks a lot.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,384
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ despite all my motivation I unfortunately did not succeed in backing up the firmware.

indeed, I was expecting to have a Winbond chipset on my nuc9i9qnb Mobo, but in reality I have a macronix mx25v8035f which for the moment is incompatible with flashrom.

I'm actually using the following dogle.

and here is the message displayed by flashroom.

View attachment 499830

any idea or workaround are welcome.

thanks a lot.
Some comments/questions:
  • What is the exact flashrom command that you are using?
  • If you run that command multiple times, do you get the same reply?
  • Have you seen this guide?
  • According to flashrom -L device MX25V8005 is supported. Your device (MX25V8035F) may be a compatible variant.
    • Have you tried adding this argument to flashrom?
      • --chip MX25V8005
Screen Shot 2020-12-04 at 2.55.33 PM.png
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
121
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hello @CaseySJ Just wondering, might be a silly question. If I have a Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 XT OC 8GB, do I still need to run WEG? I believe the 5700 GPUs are now supported with MacOS. Or is this not as simple as that?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
17
Motherboard
NUC9i9QNB
CPU
i9-9980HK
Graphics
UHD 630
Some comments/questions:
  • What is the exact flashrom command that you are using?
  • If you run that command multiple times, do you get the same reply?
  • Have you seen this guide?
  • According to flashrom -L device MX25V8005 is supported. Your device (MX25V8035F) may be a compatible variant.
    • Have you tried adding this argument to flashrom?
      • --chip MX25V8005
View attachment 499831
@CaseySJ
  • two commands where used
    • sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi : to check if the chip was detected by the flashrom tool,​
    • sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -r mx25v8035f-down-orig-1.bin : to read and Back-up chip memory​
  • same replay if we run the commas several times,
  • yes i read the guide and followed the instructions,
  • yes I also tried overwriting the chip id ... even if it mentioned that mx25v8005 is supported, I do not think that is the case :| ! please find attached CLI output when I try to overload the chip ID.
    Capture d’écran 2020-12-05 à 11.21.42.png
the chip is part of the list when i type 'flashrom -L'

BTW on the MODO I have another chip (25L25673G) and with that one I can make a backup ! for this one, the binary is about 32M :lol:o_O
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
261
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
HD 630HD + RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Hello @CaseySJ Just wondering, might be a silly question. If I have a Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 XT OC 8GB, do I still need to run WEG? I believe the 5700 GPUs are now supported with MacOS. Or is this not as simple as that?
FYI- I am running three monitors over TB3 (AIC) via 3 DP and and 1 USB-c to HDMI dongle on Big Sur. I have always needed WEG to get all three working on my Radeon VII.
 

slr

Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Z370P D3 (rev. 1.0) GIGABYTE
CPU
Intel Core i5-8400
Graphics
PULSE RX 5700 8G GDDR6
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @CaseySJ Sorry for posting in this Designare Z390 topic, but I don't know how to find any help on my problem.
I have a fully working build on Gigabyte Z370P D3 board except USB 3.0 drives that are showing 480 Mb/s speed only after cold boot. But after I remove them and plug in again - 5Gb/s speed and everything is ok.

If I don't reconnect the drive it leads to few immediate wake ups (2 or 3 times) before PC goes to sleep. After that I see a warning about disconnected (reconnected in fact) drive and everything works as it should from this point.

I enclose my USBMap.kext and SSDT-USBX.aml that I use. Nothing else related to USB... I hope you could give me an idea of how to solve this issue.

P.S. GB Titan Ridge is on the way to me, but my motherboard doesn't support thunderbolt cards officially. Is there any chance that it might work with shortened pins on GB Titan Ridge card?
Снимок экрана 2020-12-05 в 17.15.08.pngСнимок экрана 2020-12-05 в 17.12.29.png
 

Attachments

  • USBMap.kext.zip
    1.9 KB · Views: 14
  • SSDT-USBX.aml
    189 bytes · Views: 11
Top