Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
EDIT: found it

How could I check this?
  • In Terminal, type the following to create a temporary NVRAM entry:
Code:
sudo nvram TestVar=HelloWorld
  • Now reboot and log back in.
  • Open Terminal again and check if the that temporary entry still exists:
Code:
sudo nvram -p | grep 'TestVar'
  • If you get an empty reply then NVRAM is not working, otherwise it is working.
  • If you're running Clover, check if you have EmuVariableUEFI64.efi in the CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folder.
    • If this is present then "native" NVRAM is not set up.
    • If this is not present then everything is fine and you have native NVRAM.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2019
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does having iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 make any difference in my configplist? I still cant figure out why my fcpx is exporting kind of slowly. cpu or gpu just never cranks up at all on any export.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
ThinkPad T580
CPU
i7-8550u
Graphics
Intel(R) Graphics UHD620
Great! That means something might be wrong with the EFI partition of the internal Mojave SSD.
  • Please mount EFI partition of Mojave SSD.
  • Compress and upload the CLOVER folder. You may remove serial numbers from SMBIOS section of config.plist before compressing and uploading the CLOVER folder. Be sure to keep the original config.plist safe.
I have never understood how to repair the Thunderbolt firmware. The attachment is the Thunderbolt firmware of my ThinkPad t580 jhl6240. Can you help me fix it? If you can, please advise why this is done. Thanks a lot!
 

Attachments

  • T580.zip
    226.2 KB · Views: 6
Joined
Apr 20, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Solved!

Following your recommendations here's what I did:

- after changing SecureBootModel to DEFAULT, mac didn't boot up.

Used USB Pendrive with EFI Opencore, to make changes on Mac config.plist

- Tried option 2, (but at that time forgot to enable the created patch), mac didn't boot up.

After a couple reboots, and without any reason Bluetooth came to life! Still don't understand why.

Meanwhile noticed that still had OpenCore 0.6.2 instead of 0.6.3, so followed your mini guide "Procedure for In-Place Upgrade of OpenCore from Earlier Version to New Version"

After update to OpenCore 0.6.3, noticed that the patch for Aquantia 10Gbps Ethernet was not enabled, so after enabling it and a restart, everything works now.

Thank you!
Bom dia/good morning @ummario,& @CaseySJ,

Just to confirm that I was already using this AQC107 patch and it works great but I'm using SecureBootModel set to "Disabled" - is there an issue with this @CaseySJ ?

@ummario If you haven't done so, please update to latest xtreme BIOS F9i, it's got "CFC LOCK" option in bios (finally!) and in combination with latest Big Sur has given me a boost in Cinebench & lower idle temperatures of around 36ºC!
Captura de ecrã 2020-11-26, às 10.02.37.png
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
@CaseySJ, my build has been going strong, but lately it's taking a long time to boot up, as long as 2 minutes.
Any advise is much appreciated. thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, my build has been going strong, but lately it's taking a long time to boot up, as long as 2 minutes.
Any advise is much appreciated. thanks.
If you've installed any software that adds extensions that load at boot, that could be a contributing factor. Keep in mind that software generally won't tell you that it's doing this like Little Snitch, I believe, or drivers for some hardware. External hardware you may have attached to the system could also be a culprit.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
If Mojave was a fresh install, then an in-place upgrade to Catalina would be perfectly okay. But you would need to follow the Mojave-to-Catalina upgrade guide carefully. To unlock MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) it is strongly recommended to install BIOS F9g in which this is already done by default. To find BIOS F9g, open the Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1 and select the 9th bullet in Section 1.
Ok so I followed the update instructions, made the Boot test USB, deleted the extra kexts from /Library/Extensions and rebuilt the kext cache, then booted from the USB bootloader into my Mojave disk (which is a CCC backup). I got as far as bringing up the Catarina installer, but then it said Catarina couldn't be installed on the disk because it wasn't formatted AFPS. Turns out my CCC backups were not being formatted as APFS for some reason, and the disk was Journaled. So unable to convert the disk, I formatted it as APFS and redid the CCC backup from my main disk. I rebooted and tried to boot into the disk again but it failed. I made another USB to see if that was the problem. Then I realised I'd forgotten to delete the kexts this time. So I booted back into the disk, deleted the kexts and ran sudo kextcache. When I booted again it loaded for a bit then gave me the no-entry sign. I reformatted the disk, did the CCC clone again, deleted the kexts and ran sudo kextcache again, and when I try and boot from the USB bootloader I get the no entry sign again. I tried removing the USB and just booting from the drive and I get "error loading kernel cache".

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
100
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** OpenCore 0.6.3 EFI for Designare Z390 **
Supports Mojave, Catalina, and Big Sur
Please do not quote this post in its entirely. Use a link instead.

Requires OpenCore Configurator 2.16.1.0 or Newer

...
@CaseySJ , I'm wondering if there is a guide to properly migrate from Clover to OC? Does it simply boil down to manually rebuilding/cleaning up of the EFI folder and config.plist file? Can we reuse the config.plist that has been used with clover, or does it require creating a completely new one?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, my build has been going strong, but lately it's taking a long time to boot up, as long as 2 minutes.
Any advise is much appreciated. thanks.
Are you running Clover or OpenCore? Which version?

If running the latest version of OpenCore, try disabling AudioDxe.EFI from OpenCore Configurator —> UEFI —> Drivers.
 
Top