Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,955
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

Could you advise if I can modify the firmware of my HP Thunderbolt add on card? I found that it has same controller with Asrock Z490 ITX, both of which are Titan Ridge LP controller with one port. I dumped the firmware and compared with the DROM of Asrock Z490 ITX, I attached a capture below. If it is possible I can post the dumped firmware here. It is really honor to have an opportunity to test it and I will take all responsibility for any firmware damage, I have bought the same firmware chips.

I was confused that there is an "inactive" tips in this DROM of HP Thunderbolt add on card, it doesn't appear on my GC-Titan card (rev1.0).

sources:
/Users/marvin/Desktop/HPFWBCP.bin:active:v39:nvm_v39.6f00:0x4200
/Users/marvin/Desktop/HPFWBCP.bin:inactive:v39:nvm_v39.6f00:0x82200

marvin@MarvindeMac ~ % usedromnum 1
marvin@MarvindeMac ~ % dumpdrom
0x01) UID: 0x00F0000000000000
0x0d) Device ROM Revision: 1
0x10) Vendor ID: 0xF0
0x12) Device ID: 0x846D
0x14) Device Revision: 0x1
0x15) EEPROM Revision: 1
0x16) 1: 800280000000
0x1e) 2: 900180000000
0x26) - 3:
0x28) - 4:
0x2a) 5: 500000
0x2f) 6: 500000
0x34) - 7:
0x36) 8: 200100640000000000
0x41) 9: 80
0x44) - A:
0x46) - B:
0x48) 1: "HP Inc."
0x52) 2: "HP Thunderbolt Option Card"
0x6f) End
Hello @sybil,

Yes you may post the Thunderbolt firmware file for HP Thunderbolt Add-in-Card. Have you tried flashing the following modified firmware to that card? (This is located in the Thunderbolt Repository.)

Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.16.44 AM.png


Regarding the DROM, we should enable Port 7 as follows, using ThunderboltUtil:
Bash:
setport 0x07 ""
Then change the UniqueID (UID): (replace 112233445566 with six random hex numbers)
Bash:
setuid 0011223344556600
Then update checksums and create the DROM:
Bash:
repairchecksums
makedromdsl
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,955
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a designare z390 card and I flash the thunderbolt with the psyche file everything works fine but on Windows it does not work I have a 27 inch imac 2011 as a thunderbold monitor do I need to put a driver for display on Windows please help me ??
Please see this post regarding Windows compatibility with flashed Thunderbolt firmware:

 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,955
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Mini-Guide: Using HackinDROM to Transfer OpenCore PlatformInfo **
Please do not quote this guide in its entirety. Post a link instead.
Credit: @Inqnuam


Purpose:
This guide applies to OpenCore users only. OpenCore is currently being updated at the beginning of each month. The pace of software releases will likely slow down. Nevertheless, whenever a new version of OpenCore is released, we publish an updated OpenCore EFI that contains modified versions of the configuration file (config-AMD-GPU.plist and config-Intel-iGPU.plist).

The process of upgrading OpenCore requires users to transfer PlatformInfo credentials from their existing config.plist into the new config.plist. This involves the transfer of:
  • System Identifier (such as iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1)
  • System Serial Number
  • System UUID
  • Board Serial Number (MLB)
  • ROM
To make this process painless and error-free, we recommend using HackinDROM as described in the following steps.


Procedure:
  1. Point a web browser to: https://hackindrom.zapto.org/
  2. Select Copy Config from the dock.
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.29.21 AM.png
  3. Click the Browse... button and select the existing OpenCore config.plist. Then click the pop-up menu labeled Please select a config.plist as preset.
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.30.48 AM.png
  4. From the pop-up menu, carefully select the (a) correct motherboard, (b) correct version of OpenCore, and (c) correct GPU. If you have an AMD GPU, select an entry that contains "AMD GPU". If you do not have an AMD GPU, select an entry that contains "Intel iGPU".
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.32.36 AM.png
  5. HackinDROM will display the Boot Arguments that are present in the selected preset file. Please review and/or edit these arguments if necessary. When you are satisfied, click COPY as shown.
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.38.02 AM.png
  6. Finally, you will see a Disk icon. Select that to download the modified config.plist.
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.40.02 AM.png
  7. Copy the downloaded config.plist into the OpenCore OC folder. Typically, we will install new versions of OpenCore on a USB flash disk to make sure it works properly. So mount the EFI partition of the USB flash disk and copy the downloaded config.plist into the EFI/OC folder.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,955
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you're building a new Hackintosh you can use CopyConfig to generate a New SMBIOS data and insert them into selected config.plist

1. Go to https://hackindrom.zapto.org
2. Click to CopyConfig:
View attachment 494469
3.Follow next instructions:
View attachment 494470
View attachment 494471
View attachment 494472
View attachment 494473
View attachment 494474
View attachment 494476
View attachment 494479
sorry for my bad English :crazy:
That's awesome! Didn't realize we could create new configs as well.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
751
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello @sybil,

Yes you may post the Thunderbolt firmware file for HP Thunderbolt Add-in-Card. Have you tried flashing the following modified firmware to that card? (This is located in the Thunderbolt Repository.)

View attachment 494454

Regarding the DROM, we should enable Port 7 as follows, using ThunderboltUtil:
Bash:
setport 0x07 ""
Then change the UniqueID (UID): (replace 112233445566 with six random hex numbers)
Bash:
setuid 0011223344556600
Then update checksums and create the DROM:
Bash:
repairchecksums
makedromdsl
Nothing against @joevt's ThunderboltUtil but we can do that easily with HackinDROM
When find a time I will add an one-click option for that
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
197
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Can you think of anything that would prevent Catalina from recognizing an iPhone through the front USB-C port on a Fractal Design Define R6? It charges from this port, but it is not available as a device in the sidebar to update iOS or sync with.

I tried multiple cables. The phone charges and Hackintool recognizes it as an iPhone, but it never appears in the sidebar.

I can plug it into the back of my LG UltraFine 5K's USB-C ports and it works. Also, I can plug a standard USB cable into any of the front 4 USB ports on the case and it works as well.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,955
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Can you think of anything that would prevent Catalina from recognizing an iPhone through the front USB-C port on a Fractal Design Define R6? It charges from this port, but it is not available as a device in the sidebar to update iOS or sync with.

I tried multiple cables. The phone charges and Hackintool recognizes it as an iPhone, but it never appears in the sidebar.

I can plug it into the back of my LG UltraFine 5K's USB-C ports and it works. Also, I can plug a standard USB cable into any of the front 4 USB ports on the case and it works as well.
This happens because the Lightning-to-USB-C cable you are using only supports USB 2.0 protocol instead of USB 3.0. We have disabled USB 2.0 protocol on the USB-C port in order to maintain the 15-port limit.

If you use a Lightning-to-USB-A cable then the iPhone will work, but it will need to be connected to a USB Type A port.

I believe (but I could be wrong) that all Lightning cables only support USB 2.0.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
197
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This happens because the Lightning-to-USB-C cable you are using only supports USB 2.0 protocol instead of USB 3.0. We have disabled USB 2.0 protocol on the USB-C port in order to maintain the 15-port limit.

If you use a Lightning-to-USB-A cable then the iPhone will work, but it will need to be connected to a USB Type A port.

I believe (but I could be wrong) that all Lightning cables only support USB 2.0.

I actually reactivated the USB 2.0 support though with a custom SSDT-UIAC in my case, so I don't think it's that.

Since you didn't notice any issues on Vision D with enabling other ports+the Xhci quirk on OpenCore, I made a port map for Z390 and added that quirk.

I will test with an SSDT that is only 15 ports but has USB 2 enabled there, though so far I haven't noticed any issues in months with this port map.
 
Top