Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,259
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
99
Motherboard
Alienware m15 R1
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
Intel HD 630/GTX 1070
Alright, please try the following two different experiments.

Experiment #1:
  • Flash the attached Alienware-M15-TB3-FW-MOD-4-Casey.bin to the Thunderbolt firmware chip.
  • Use the same Thunderbolt SSDT from the previous test (SSDT-TB-HackinDROM.aml).
  • Perform a cold boot with and without TB3 device connected. Check hot-plug as well.
  • Do your Thunderbolt devices connect and operate?
  • If problems persist, try the next experiment.
Experiment #2:
  • Flash the original Thunderbolt firmware back to the chip.
  • We will use an SSDT to enable Thunderbolt Bus. This SSDT requires the original Thunderbolt firmware.
  • Download the new SSDT: SSDT-TbtOnPch-Alientware-M15.aml
  • Copy it to the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder and remove any previous Thunderbolt SSDT.
  • Copy the attached config.plist to the CLOVER folder. This version simply adds a new ACPI rename, which you may disable if the experiment fails. View attachment 492679
  • Perform a cold boot with and without TB3 device connected. Check hot-plug as well.
  • Do your Thunderbolt devices connect and operate?
Thanks for the help again. For experiment 1, it shows the same result as before. Hot plug works, but egpu is not detected w/wo cool boot. However, USB-C hot plug works.

without tb egpu device:
exp1_1.png

with tb egpu device:
exp1_2.png

For experiment 2, it is also the same as I have with just the original rom. Hot plug doesn't work, but egpu is detected with cold boot. Thunderbolt chip is only detected with cool boot.
exp2.png

No bus is shown with this exp2 either w/wo cool boot.


I wonder if it has something to do with the bios. I also attached a Setup dump from my bios. I only change the thunderbolt security level to No Security.
 

Attachments

  • exp1.ioreg
    34.5 MB · Views: 1
  • exp2.ioreg
    34.7 MB · Views: 2
  • Setup.txt
    1.9 MB · Views: 2
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
780
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Quadra
  7. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the help again. For experiment 1, it shows the same result as before. Hot plug works, but egpu is not detected w/wo cool boot. However, USB-C hot plug works.

without tb egpu device:
View attachment 492713

with tb egpu device:
View attachment 492711

For experiment 2, it is also the same as I have with just the original rom. Hot plug doesn't work, but egpu is detected with cold boot. Thunderbolt chip is only detected with cool boot.
View attachment 492715

No bus is shown with this exp2 either w/wo cool boot.


I wonder if it has something to do with the bios. I also attached a Setup dump from my bios. I only change the thunderbolt security level to No Security.

Your NVIDIA setup.png
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
You can also try using the on-board HDMI port or the two on-board Thunderbolt ports to connect your monitor. In this case we would need to do the following:
  • Try a different video cable. Always preferable to use a certified HDMI 2.0 or DP 1.2/1.4 cable.
  • If that does not help, then we could do the following:
    • Set Platform ID to 0x3E9B0007 and add HDMI black screen patches. It's much easier to use a USB-C to DisplayPort cable or a USB-C to HDMI cable instead of HDMI-to-HDMI.
      • If you want to try this, I can modify your config.plist (but remove serial number from SMBIOS section before sending).
    • In BIOS, we would set Initial Display Output to IGFX.
    • We would physically remove the AMD GPU.
    • Now we can check if graphics look normal.
    • If so, then AMD GPU is bad.
Hi @CaseySJ, it's been a very long time since I visited this forum, so I'm sure you already forgot the issue I had. Basically, at one point my hackintosh stopped being to able to wake from sleep (even though it worked seamlessly for about 6 months). Among your numerous suggestions, you proposed to try USB C to HDMI cable (I was using HDMI to HDMI) but I didn't have it. I finally got two of those, but unfortunately, monitors don't seem to be connected when I simply connect any of my monitors (the monitor indicators just keep on blinking). So my question might sound really dumb, but do I need to do anything else apart from just connecting the monitor (HDMI) to the video card (USB C)? I was under the impression that it's just plug and play.
By the way, it doesn't work on Windows too, which is installed on a separate SSD, meaning when I turn on the machine from a completely shut down state, nothing appears on the screen(s). Does that mean my Radeon RX580 is busted or something is configured incorrectly in BIOS?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Are you using a WiFi/BT card such as Fenvi FV-T919?
  • Are there any other PCIe cards in the system?
  • Are there any Thunderbolt devices connected?
  • Is the Corsair H115i connected to the internal F_USB header?
It would be best to follow the process of elimination by disconnecting certain devices as follows:
  • Remove the WiFi/BT card and see if the problem persists.
  • Remove all PCIe cards except AMD RX 580 and see if the problem persists.
  • Disconnect all Thunderbolt devices and see if the problem persists.
  • Disconnect all USB devices except keyboard and mouse, then see if the problem persists.
Also, are you using a Thunderbolt monitor or a standard HDMI/DisplayPort monitor?
Hello,

  • Are you using a WiFi/BT card such as Fenvi FV-T919? Yes, the FV-HB1200
  • Are there any other PCIe cards in the system? No
  • Are there any Thunderbolt devices connected? No
  • Is the Corsair H115i connected to the internal F_USB header? Yes
  • are you using a Thunderbolt monitor or a standard HDMI/DisplayPort monitor? 2 4K DisplayPort monitors
I've disconnected every usb device in my system, besides the mouse and the keyboard, including the Fenvi Card and the Corsair H115i, and the problem is reproduced at every reboot...

It seems weird that I'm the only one having this problem, with two motherboards!

It's worth mentioning that this problem wasn't happening every time at the beginning, but now it is!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
It would be best to perform a clean installation on a spare SATA SSD mounted in an external USB 3 enclosure or internally to an available SATA port.

@CaseySJ - so I built a new Install USB, config.plist and trying to install Catalina 10.15.7 on to an external drive. I get OC to boot, get to MacOS installer, format drive as GUID / APFS - but then when I get to Select the Disk for install all drives are greyed out and I get a message -

"Your mac needs a firmware update to install on this volume. Please select a Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume instead."

IMG_7890.jpeg

Have you seen this before?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
70
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Mr Casey !!

Don't you think that it would be useful to specify in the tutorial for the installation of 10.15.4 and following not to use Clover beyond its version 5122 with this guide ? Or am I wrong ? :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,259
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Mr Casey !!

Don't you think that it would be useful to specify in the tutorial for the installation of 10.15.4 and following not to use Clover beyond its version 5122 with this guide ? Or am I wrong ? :)
Agreed. Will add a statement to that effect.

Edit: Done.

Screen Shot 2020-10-22 at 4.48.45 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi CaseySJ I have iPad Pro 2020 connected through the right pro cable Thunderbolt*, I can see iPad but screen always black. Some time ago I read in this forum that you have to reactivate Handoff, or something like that. Can you give me a hand? Thanks
Taegan

shikigva is =80

 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-10-22 at 14.01.25.png
    Screenshot 2020-10-22 at 14.01.25.png
    268.3 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:
Top