Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @Kooza25,

Some things to check:
  • Are you able to boot into Safe Mode?
    • In Clover, press <space bar> and you'll see Safe Mode (3rd item in the list).
    • Press <space> to toggle it on
    • Press <Esc> to return to main menu and boot macOS
  • If Safe Mode works, go to System Preferences --> Users & Groups --> Login Items and grab a screenshot or disable all of them.
I've read that this is a common problem with Mojave itself. Btw, still I cannot use the 2.0 ports on the mobo
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Still got freeze on the screen with apple logo
This might be due to a locked MSR 0xE2 register. Please do the following:
  • Download BIOS F9g from here and flash it to your motherboard. This will unlock CFG-Lock (MSR 0xE2) automatically.
  • Then configure BIOS parameters again starting with F7 (Load Optimized Defaults).
  • Finally, use the attached config.plist instead of the previous one. This version enables verbose mode.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    22.8 KB · Views: 12

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello! I got a (dual) boot problem, which I guess got introduced a while back will installing Big Sur, using OpenCore (0.6.1.).

So, when I choose to start my SSD which contains OpenCore, I can choose between Windows 10 and Big Sur.
When choosing Windows 10 it boots until I see the Windows 10 loader circle, for 2 seconds and then it reboots again.

Booting from the Windows 10 SSD directly causes no issues.

Any suggestions on how to fix this? Please let me know if you need more information.

See here a video on what I mean:

This problem is most likely due to SSDTs that are not applying themselves conditionally based on the O/S. In other words, every SSDT we use should be structured like this (or similarly):
Code:
If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
{
    // do Mac stuff
}
If you'd like me to audit/modify your SSDTs, please compress and upload just the ACPI folder.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've read that this is a common problem with Mojave itself. Btw, still I cannot use the 2.0 ports on the mobo
Please check the Kernel and Kext Patches section of Clover Configurator for any USB Port Limit patches. If you see any, disable all of them by checking the Disabled box on the right side of each row.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@vitilius,

Because there's no verbose output, please do this:
  • At the OpenCore Picker GUI, press spacebar. You will see additional menu options.
  • The option on the far right will be Reset NVRAM. Select that option.
  • When the computer reboots, press F12 to open BIOS boot menu and select the USB flash disk.
  • Now at OpenCore Picker, start macOS install again.
 
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
24
Motherboard
z390 designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Sapphire RX580 Pulse
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@vitilius,

Because there's no verbose output, please do this:
  • At the OpenCore Picker GUI, press spacebar. You will see additional menu options.
  • The option on the far right will be Reset NVRAM. Select that option.
  • When the computer reboots, press F12 to open BIOS boot menu and select the USB flash disk.
  • Now at OpenCore Picker, start macOS install again.

Nothing changed, stuck on the same screen - this is the last logs displayed from verbose mode. I also got the full video record with all logs, if it can be helpful
 

Attachments

  • Снимок экрана 2020-10-05 в 19.33.33.png
    Снимок экрана 2020-10-05 в 19.33.33.png
    7 MB · Views: 19

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Nothing changed, stuck on the same screen - this is the last logs displayed from verbose mode. I also got the full video record with all logs, if it can be helpful
Please try attached config.plist and make sure BIOS --> CSM Support is disabled.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    22.8 KB · Views: 11

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried new config, stuck at the same place but logs changed a little bit
Unfortunately there's nothing else I can suggest. At this time it might be good to consider the following:
  • Buy an AMD GPU, even a low cost RX 480 or RX 580.
  • Try a newer monitor that supports HDMI 1.4+ and DisplayPort 1.1+.
 
Top