Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 24, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i5BEH
CPU
Intel Core i5 8259U
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
The Apple Thunderbolt Display is a very problematic device on Hackintosh. Most people are content with using it only as a monitor and not worrying about the on-board devices. Unfortunately we are not aware of any solution to the problems you described. Because that monitor is a Thunderbolt 1 device, it presents extra problems on a Hackintosh. So for this specific monitor it is better to either (a) use the monitor as a display devices only or (b) try connecting it through a Belkin Thunderbolt 3 Express Dock HD. Option (b) is a bit pricey, however.

As mentioned yesterday, in nearly all cases the problems we see with Thunderbolt behavior are what they are. Some devices and some motherboards do not work together as reliably as others.
Well, the display is actually Thunderbolt2 and I'm using it via Apple Thunderbolt3->Thunderbolt2 adapter (https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MMEL2AM/A/thunderbolt-3-usb-c-to-thunderbolt-2-adapter). When it works, it's rock solid... But it might take a few reboots until it's recognized. Looks like there's some race condition during the boot process.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, the display is actually Thunderbolt2 and I'm using it via Apple Thunderbolt3->Thunderbolt2 adapter (https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MMEL2AM/A/thunderbolt-3-usb-c-to-thunderbolt-2-adapter). When it works, it's rock solid... But it might take a few reboots until it's recognized. Looks like there's some race condition during the boot process.
  • Apple Thunderbolt Display was first sold in July 2011.
  • The first ever Thunderbolt product was sold in February 2011.
  • Thunderbolt 2 was released in June 2013.
  • Thunderbolt 1 is simply called Thunderbolt.
  • Thunderbolt 1 and Thunderbolt 2 use the same connector (mini-DP).
Ergo:
  • Apple Thunderbolt Display is a Thunderbolt 1 device.


Screen Shot 2020-10-04 at 3.38.58 PM.png


Screen Shot 2020-10-04 at 3.38.41 PM.png


Screen Shot 2020-10-04 at 3.40.55 PM.png
 
Joined
May 24, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i5BEH
CPU
Intel Core i5 8259U
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  • Apple Thunderbolt Display was first sold in July 2011.
  • The first ever Thunderbolt product was sold in February 2011.
  • Thunderbolt 2 was released in June 2013.
  • Thunderbolt 1 is simply called Thunderbolt.
  • Thunderbolt 1 and Thunderbolt 2 use the same connector (mini-DP).
Ergo:
  • Apple Thunderbolt Display is a Thunderbolt 1 device.


View attachment 490614

View attachment 490613

View attachment 490615
I was under impression it's Thunderbolt 2, but I was wrong :)
I have additional Thunderbolt 3 hardware that I can test it with (CalDigit TS3 docking Station), and perhaps I can source some additional TB3 devices from my work place.
Where should I start? What's your recommendation on troubleshooting this?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks! I will try and let you know how it went
Very good. I just fixed an error and uploaded a new version of the ZIP in the same previous post.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was under impression it's Thunderbolt 2, but I was wrong :)
I have additional Thunderbolt 3 hardware that I can test it with (CalDigit TS3 docking Station), and perhaps I can source some additional TB3 devices from my work place.
Where should I start? What's your recommendation on troubleshooting this?
It is best to characterize the performance of Thunderbolt on your NUC with Thunderbolt 3 devices. Test:
  • Connectivity on cold boot
  • Connectivity on warm boot
  • Connectivity on hot plug
  • Connectivity on wake-from-sleep
On the Designare Z390 with flashed NVM 33, all of the above work well with Thunderbolt 3 devices.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
34
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
We had to take my Z490 Vision D build and use it elsewhere, so I grabbed my i7-9700K cpu and built a new system. I started with BeQuiet! Pure Base 500DX case, a new Gigabyte Designare Z390 MB, and a Samsung EVO NVMe M.2 1TB.
I used OC to boot and reused my 2 Samsung EVO drives and my Radeon VII. Working great and my Fenvi FV-T919 is working great. Thanks so much for both the Z390 and Z490 build posts as I gleaned from them to have the working system.

Hi Macak, Would you mind helping me understand what you did to get your Radeon VII stable. Are you in Catalina or Mojave?

I am in Mojove and my Radeon VII is doing strange mouse drags and then crashing. I have the same MB as you and a similar setup just with a 8700k.

May I ask your process for installation or updating? Are you on Clover or OpenCore?

Thank you so much!!!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello! I got a (dual) boot problem, which I guess got introduced a while back will installing Big Sur, using OpenCore (0.6.1.).

So, when I choose to start my SSD which contains OpenCore, I can choose between Windows 10 and Big Sur.
When choosing Windows 10 it boots until I see the Windows 10 loader circle, for 2 seconds and then it reboots again.

Booting from the Windows 10 SSD directly causes no issues.

Any suggestions on how to fix this? Please let me know if you need more information.

See here a video on what I mean:

 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @Kooza25,

Some things to check:
  • Are you able to boot into Safe Mode?
    • In Clover, press <space bar> and you'll see Safe Mode (3rd item in the list).
    • Press <space> to toggle it on
    • Press <Esc> to return to main menu and boot macOS
  • If Safe Mode works, go to System Preferences --> Users & Groups --> Login Items and grab a screenshot or disable all of them.
I've read that this is a common problem with Mojave itself. Btw, still I cannot use the 2.0 ports on the mobo
 
Top