Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
41
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare-F9b
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Really frustrated, my Z390 Designare wakes up usually after 1 hour from sleep.

I'm using the OpenCore guide here, didn't touch the EFI but replace the Generic Serial.

Getting wake reason:

Wake reason: RTC XDCI CNVW USBW (User)

seems like a USB issue. I believe maybe the Broadcom Bluetooth/Wifi PCI-E card could cause this?

BRCM20702 Hub is connected to HS11

Is there a change I need to make to the builtin SSDT?

Thanks for any helpers @CaseySJ
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,547
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Really frustrated, my Z390 Designare wakes up usually after 1 hour from sleep.

I'm using the OpenCore guide here, didn't touch the EFI but replace the Generic Serial.

Getting wake reason:

Wake reason: RTC XDCI CNVW USBW (User)

seems like a USB issue. I believe maybe the Broadcom Bluetooth/Wifi PCI-E card could cause this?

BRCM20702 Hub is connected to HS11

Is there a change I need to make to the builtin SSDT?

Thanks for any helpers @CaseySJ
Please see the Consolidated List of Sleep Aids and try the various suggestions provided there. Also try the suggestions provided by @hamzab (referenced in the section Suggestions Contributed by Users).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,547
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
after watching the RTX 30xx launch, damn...... AMD better come up better so we can get that for our Hackintosh!
Or a firmware update for the 5700XT to open up more cores and raytracing :)
I have to watch independent reviews of the RTX 3000-series, but if the RTX 3070 is really faster than the 2080 Ti and costs only US$499, then all I can say is WOW!!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,547
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My apologies, the YOUBO card is installed in the bottom short slot as was the OSXWiFi card. I have two 970 Evo Plus installed in the two NVMe slots. The only other PCI card I have installed is the Gigabyte 5700 RX Radeon XT in the top slot (x16). As for the power suggestion, I just tried letting it sit unplugged entirely for 15 min and still the issue is present. Another strange thing I see is when I load the Network tab for a few seconds, it shows "<< Forced state.."
There have been reports of Samsung NVMe SSDs conflicting with PCIe devices. I know this will sound awful, but:
  • Can you physically remove one of the two Samsung NVMe SSDs and check WiFi again?
    • Keep the main macOS NVMe SSD in the system and remove the other.
  • If WiFi still fails, then move the macOS NVMe SSD to the other M.2 slot (again, only keep one NVMe in the system at a time).
    • Does WiFi work?
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the detailed explanation in your previous post — always good to see the relevant story.

Let’s do the following:
  • Perform a cold boot (shutdown system and flip power switch on PSU to off for 10 second) then power back up.
  • In BIOS, ensure that Thunderbolt Security is still set to No Security. And GPIO3 Force Pwr is set to Enabled.
  • At the OpenCore Picker, press space bar and select Reset NVRAM.
  • When system reboots in OpenCore Picker, start Mojave.
  • Post a screenshot of /Library/Extensions
  • Post a screenshot of /etc
  • With both Thunderbolt devices connected, run IORegistryExplorer and select File —> Save As..., then post the saved file.
First of all, thank you to @Inqnuam and @CaseySJ for fixing my issue. To help others who are moving from Clover to OpenCore while running Mojave and have flashed modified firmware to their Thunderbolt ROM, the steps that worked were:
  • Add the SSDT-TB3-DROM-HOTPLUG.aml generated from Inqnuam's Web GUI from the previous Clover EFI/ACPI/patched directory into the OpenCore EFI/OC/ACPI directory
  • Opened the new config.plist in OpenCore Configurator and used the ACPI Browse button to add the above .aml file
  • Disabled SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml by deselecting it in the same part of OC Configurator
  • Saved the modified config.plist
  • Cold boot by turning off the computer's power supply for a 10 seconds or so
  • Reset NVRAM by pushing the spacebar at OpenCore Picker
I hadn't done a cold reset last night but did everything else. This morning I just thought "maybe a cold boot would help" and sure enough, I had both Thunderbolt ports working with the UA Apollo on one and the CalDigit TS3+ on the other! Then I read your message.

Now my question is "why"? I thought that SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4 only affected the USB3.x operation for the Thunderbolt ports, not TB.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,547
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
Now my question is "why"? I thought that SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4 only affected the USB3.x operation for the Thunderbolt ports, not TB.
That SSDT defines the entire Thunderbolt device tree and enables Thunderbolt hot-plug. The new one generated by HackinDROM also defines the entire Thunderbolt device tree, injects a new DROM, and enables Thunderbolt hot-plug. The two are mutually exclusive.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9-9900K
Graphics
Gigabyte Raedon 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There have been reports of Samsung NVMe SSDs conflicting with PCIe devices. I know this will sound awful, but:
  • Can you physically remove one of the two Samsung NVMe SSDs and check WiFi again?
    • Keep the main macOS NVMe SSD in the system and remove the other.
  • If WiFi still fails, then move the macOS NVMe SSD to the other M.2 slot (again, only keep one NVMe in the system at a time).
    • Does WiFi work?
Ok, back to report all of the results from many different tests. I tested the macOS NVMe is both M.2 slots with no changes. I tested the PCI card in every possible slot with no changes. I even tested moving the SATA drives because I know they can be affected by the NVMes and no changes. At this point, I am about to send back the card and just keep using my OSXWiFi as it seemed to be ok.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
250
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you seen @taegan's post (click here) about the Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor not working in Catalina 10.15.6, but working in 10.15.1? The Blackmagic driver in your case is:
  • Blackmagic_Multibridge_Driver.kext
But for @taegan the driver is:
Yes, I saw that. It seems that the drivers were working/loading before but now they aren't. I suppose Apple will have to fix it in the next update. I've since started using the USB 3 based Camlink 4K. It works flawlessly!
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello CaseySJ sorry to disturb you but i have trouble till the begining with shutdown and restart that not working. Can you tell me if you have a solution.
Here's my config.plist. Thanks for your help.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    8.2 KB · Views: 3
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
The capture looks good. It shows that channel led8 is being used by Gigabyte RGB Fusion app. I though you already tried led8 to set edge lighting and it didn't work as expected. But the capture shows that only channel address 0x27 0x80 (or 'led8') is being used.
Hello Casey,

Well this is really odd. Yes Led8 is now controlling my edge lighting, however led8 never did anything with my LED lighting on any of the channels. Where you supplied my with the experimental driver last week, it was only Led9 & 10 that I tried with led10 affecting my edge lighting. I didn't even think to try led8 as it has never worked on any of my Led's. Anyways, all seems to be working brilliantly now. Led10 still seems to affect both the edge lighting and IO panel lighting which I think is a bit odd whereas the led channel I use for the IO panel only affects that. I will cease using Led10 and instead use Led8 for my edge lighting. Thankyou for your hard work :) If you require me to test anything else out on my system please let me know.

On another note: I have stumbled onto an issue with my system duel booting. I followed all your instructions for installing Windows 10 and have since placed the MacOS drives back in. MacOS is working fine and when I booted into Windows via the UEFI Bios Boot Menu, Windows boots fine and runs without issue. However, when I boot into the OpenCore Bootloader and select Windows, my system immediately blue screens with the error: ACPI-Bios-Error.
My Bios boot order is set to #1 MacOS, #2 Windows 10, #3 OpenCore. Any suggestions or ideas on what is happening here?
 
Top