Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 18, 2012
Messages
80
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi to All.
I have a strange problem with my MSI RX 560. (but not with UHD 630).
Tried with 2 Video Board (ASUS ROG Strix RX 560 and the Gigabyte RX 560).
In Safari-Firefox, when I click on web link the mouse change from arrow to hand, but without transiction.
(never seen this on Hackintosh).
I have tried every combination (SMBIOS, with WEG-Lilu- without Weg-Lilu, Radeon Init etc... every every..).
The 2 (with UHD 630 or with Radeon 560) methods are from Casey guide. I think it's RX 560 problem.
My question is:
With RX 580 you have problem like this?

Thank you
Max
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
I am using an Apollo Twin Mk II Quad sound card.

I read the article @CaseySJ and installed it from start to finish. The sound card is in normal use and is very stable. Plugins can also be used normally.
I followed his guide precisely. I'm on Mo
Hi there, I am also a UAD user -Apollo 8 Quad TB2. I have to power-on the device a good 10 seconds before powering-up my Z370/Alpine Ridge computer (see build), or the UAD driver won't connect.

Are you using a USB-connected Twin or the Thunderbolt 2 version? Please see this post.
@CaseySJ & @ZHENGQINLONG, thanks for your answers. I'm using the TB2 version with an Apple TB2/TB3 dongle. Apollo Twin Mk2.
Even if I have the Apollo unplugged the UAD software gives me the driver error. Usually it should say something like "no device connected" i think... I'll go through the whole installation process one by one again and see if I messed up something...
I'll see if I can test other ThunderBolt devices to make sure that is running correctly or if it's the UAD software.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Casey, in the spirit of giving back to your superb build guide, I wrote up a short procedure to run the NZXT liquidctl script automatically at login. Maybe it's a bit too specific and edge-case but please feel free to add it to your guide if you think it's useful.

Configuring the liquidctl script to run on startup (for all users). Copy the liquidctl.sh script to a shared directory and create a short .plist file in /Library/LaunchAgents:

  1. Copy the liquidctl.sh script to /Users/Shared.
  2. Create a new liquidctl.plist file in /Library/LaunchAgents.
  3. Edit the liquidctl.plist file with admin privileges and paste in the example below. Either use vi or a text editor with admin privileges: sudo vi /Library/LaunchAgents/liquidctl.plist. Remove the #Explanation: sections from the example below:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Label</key>
<string>liquidctl.sh</string> #Explanation: This is a verbose label for your login script. Name it something unique and identifiable. I just named mine the same as the script itself
<key>ProgramArguments</key>
<array>
<string>/Users/Shared/liquidctl.sh</string> #Explanation: This is the absolute path to the liquidctl.sh script
</array>
<key>RunAtLoad</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</plist>


4. Change ownership of the liquidctl.plist file so that root owns it:
sudo chown root /Library/LaunchAgents/liquidctl.plist
5. Check that you've done everything correctly by attempting to load the .plist manually:
sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchAgents/liquidctl.plist
If this command returns anything other than a blank line, go back and check your steps.

Done! Now, even if another operating system has messed with your NZXT Kraken, every time you boot back into Mac OS your Kraken will configure itself automatically no matter what settings might try to persist from other operating system instances.

Caveat: the liquidctl.sh script unloads IOUSBHostHIDDevice. This is necessary to avoid [Errno 13] Access denied (insufficient permissions) that you might encounter when running liquidctl commands. However, this can result in temporary disabling/resetting of your USB devices. My Logitech wireless receiver sometimes loses connection with my wireless mouse or keyboard after running the script. Simply unplug and plug back in the unifying receiver. I don't know what happens with other USB devices, but I suspect unplugging and plugging them back in will work to bring them back online.
Getting the "(kernel) Can't remove kext com.apple.driver.usb.IOUSBHostHIDDevice; services failed to terminate - 0xdc008018." error followed by the "usb.core.USBError: [Errno 13] Access denied (insufficient permissions)" errors for every liquidctl command.

Ideas for addressing this??

Thanks!

Tom
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,586
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I followed his guide precisely. I'm on Mo


@CaseySJ @ZHENGQINLONG thanks for your answers. I'm using the TB2 version with an apple tb2/tb3 dongle. apollo twin mk2.
Even if I have the apollo unplugged the UAD software gives me the driver error. Usually it should say something like "no device connected" i think... I'll go through the whole installation process one by one again and see if i messed up something...
I'll see if i can test other thundebolt devices to make sure that is running correctly or if it's the uad software.
That's a good idea. Also check that "SSDT-DTPG.aml" is copied to CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder. The Thunderbolt SSDT will not function properly without it.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,586
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
In Safari-Firefox, when I click on web link the mouse change from arrow to hand, but without transiction.
(never seen this on Hackintosh).
Not sure I understand the problem. Can you post a screenshot of that?
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ha! :) I did much the same with portions of @kgp's iMacPro thread that has ballooned to over 1200 pages. I was in desperate search for Thunderbolt answers, and found a lively discussion on hot-plug SSDT development buried there.


What is the make and model of the RX 580?

While I haven't encountered this specific problem, some general tips might be as follows:
  • Ensure that you're not using CLOVER to inject graphics properties. This means all of the following must be turned off or left blank:
    • Devices: IntelGFX (leave it as 0x0)
    • Graphics: Everything turned off or left blank
  • Use latest Lilu and WhateverGreen. Install all third-party kexts to /Library/Extensions per jaymonkey's guide. In particular, see Step 7. In your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, keep only the following:
    • FakeSMC.kext
    • Lilu.kext
    • WhateverGreen.kext
  • In System Parameters section of Clover Configurator, set "Inject Kexts" to Detect.
  • If you do not plan to use the on-board UHD 630 to drive a display monitor, try switching to the headless Platform ID such as 0x3E920003 or 0x3E910003. In this case you may delete all the FrameBuffer connector patches, if any.
Double checked all you mentioned above but still have that phantom display...

I'm running a PowerColor VGA - AXRX 580 8GBD5-3DH/OC connected to an LG UltraFine 5k which is connected to the motherboard TB out...
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
77
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Fortunately this motherboard has Thunderbolt 3. Instead of installing 6 or 8 SATA drives internally, you have the option of using an external Thunderbolt 3 enclosure such as:
  • OWC ThunderBay 6 (which has 6 drive bays and a PCIe x2 NVMe slot)
  • OWC ThunderBay 4 (which has 4 drive bays but no NVMe slot)
  • These enclosures support daisy-chaining, so you can connect up to six of them together and still occupy only 1 Thunderbolt port from the motherboard.
Absolutely agree. I just needed SATA card for old dudes like DVD ROM and for a couple of old HDDs which does not make sense for them to go to Thuderbolt bay
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
291
Motherboard
ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I followed his guide precisely. I'm on Mo


@CaseySJ & @ZHENGQINLONG, thanks for your answers. I'm using the TB2 version with an Apple TB2/TB3 dongle. Apollo Twin Mk2.
Even if I have the Apollo unplugged the UAD software gives me the driver error. Usually it should say something like "no device connected" i think... I'll go through the whole installation process one by one again and see if I messed up something...
I'll see if I can test other ThunderBolt devices to make sure that is running correctly or if it's the UAD software.
I use latest UAD drivers with my Apollo X6. I have no problems (in fact, I use the Apollo as my only speaker source, driving my desk monitors: no Apollo, no sound). It will auto boot up just fine if Apollo already turned on. If Apollo is off and I turn it on, the drivers recognize it and load within 10 seconds or so.

Once in a while, they won't connect. Then, I simply un-plug and re-plug one or both of the TB cables in the Plugable Thunderbolt 3 Docking Station (here) and the drivers auto-load and all is working again in just a few seconds. (I see this same behavior when I dual boot into Win 10 with the same hardware, so maybe not so much an OS issue.)
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
That's a good idea. Also check that "SSDT-DTPG.aml" is copied to CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder. The Thunderbolt SSDT will not function properly without it.
I use latest UAD drivers with my Apollo X6. I have no problems (in fact, I use the Apollo as my only speaker source, driving my desk monitors: no Apollo, no sound). It will auto boot up just fine if Apollo already turned on. If Apollo is off and I turn it on, the drivers recognize it and load within 10 seconds or so.

Once in a while, they won't connect. Then, I simply un-plug and re-plug one or both of the TB cables in the Plugable Thunderbolt 3 Docking Station (here) and the drivers auto-load and all is working again in just a few seconds. (I see this same behavior when I dual boot into Win 10 with the same hardware, so maybe not so much an OS issue.)
Thanks a lot for your reply. I’ll mess around with everything more tonight. I just realized i have a silver face apollo twin, so thunderbolt 1, i think that could be it
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,586
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Absolutely agree. I just needed SATA card for old dudes like DVD ROM and for a couple of old HDDs which does not make sense for them to go to Thuderbolt bay
For this a x1 PCIe 2.0 card with 4 SATA ports will work well.
 
Top