Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have to slowly study where I made a mistake. I also need to learn more in tonymacx86.

Thank you very much for your patience.
I really like @jaymonkey's kext installation guide. It takes only a few minutes to read, and it might help you understand why you had problems with changing device-id. (Of course, when you use WhateverGreen, you should not use "InjectIntel" at the same time.)
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Casey, thanks so much for making my introduction into the world of hackintosh this smooth...

Thanks to this whole forum on which I've spent countless hours before committing :)

The one and only thing I just can't figure out is my Apollo Twin... The problem i'm having (i think) has nothing to do with the apollo itself, but moreso with the UAD software... I get a "Driver Not Installed Correctly" error when trying to open the UAD Software. What I've found is that after installing the software and a restart you should be able to grant permission in Security & Privacy to the UAD software. That should solve the problem... unfortunately that granting of permission never shows up for me. UAD says reinstalling and rebooting should solve the issue which it doesn't for me.

Did anybody get their UAD software running on Mojave 10.14.3?
Welcome to the forum! UAD devices have been quite reliable on this system as you can see from the Thunderbolt 3 Experiences section. Are you using the Apollo Twin or Apollo Twin Mk2?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
28
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
I9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
I really like @jaymonkey's kext installation guide. It takes only a few minutes to read, and it might help you understand why you had problems with changing device-id.
I will read your recommended article!

Thank you for your patience. I have benefited from reading your article. Thank you for sharing. Because you and I have implemented an almost perfect Mac system.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm back with a fully operational Hackintosh! (No iCloud, Bluetooth/Airport and not put in case yet)
...
Thanks again to this amazing forum and especially all the people making the Hackintosh possible (and I'm not thinking of Tim now…).
Cute! :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes the dreaded sleep wake problem, everything else checks out and works fine new power supply all drives show everything is fine. fcpx works in headless mode but this computer just decides it doesnt want to wake up at times and sometimes gets stuck in the clover boot menu. i think i need to check my memory as thats all i can think of as i cant even install windows it fails during the installation.

OK I did the memtest and it froze but I got this

I also ran the test again
Ouch, we cannot escape the laws of statistics. There'll be a defective DIMM every so often. If you are within your return/exchange window, please do so.

Edit: Just to confirm: did you run Memtest with just a single DIMM installed at a time?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks, really curious if it's in fact PCIe 3.0 X1. According to Marvell 88SE9215 product brief and datasheet, I'm not holding my breath. Everything points to PCIe 2.0 X1 or X2 capability...

Datasheet
Product Brief

Fingers crossed!
Thank you so much for looking it up! I can see now a couple of questions on that right on the product page. Now have to think again what to do with it ...
Fortunately this motherboard has Thunderbolt 3. Instead of installing 6 or 8 SATA drives internally, you have the option of using an external Thunderbolt 3 enclosure such as:
  • OWC ThunderBay 6 (which has 6 drive bays and a PCIe x2 NVMe slot)
  • OWC ThunderBay 4 (which has 4 drive bays but no NVMe slot)
  • These enclosures support daisy-chaining, so you can connect up to six of them together and still occupy only 1 Thunderbolt port from the motherboard.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
50
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Ph-Gam ITX
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@rj510,
WiFi/Bluetooth Card
This is interesting, but consistent with the Designare Z390, which also seems to dislike having these cards in x1 slots. Because your Vantec FireWire x1 card works in a x1 slot, it's rather puzzling why the Fenvi and OSXWiFi Broadcom cards are failing in those slots. The Broadcom card and PCIe adapter listed in the Components section of this guide work flawlessly in a x1 slot on the Designare.
This is a late reply from p240 to answer your question about the Vantec FireWire x1 card oddly working in x1 slot. Well, it doesn't.

While momentarily off-topic, for the past 1 to 2 weeks, I've been working on making the Hackintosh build into a dual boot with Windows 10 (there are a few SACD ripping issues that still seem to be easier on Windows). I've had a heck of time getting things to work in terms of Win 10 stability. I finally tracked it down to the Vantec FireWire being in x1 slot (as well as Win 10 requiring legacy Firewire drivers). Once I moved the Vantec card to a large slot (#2 in my build, still leaving the Broadcom in the large slot #3), Windows 10 worked just fine, and dual booting through Clover is easy (Windows is on it's own drive).

Meanwhile, back on the Hackintosh side, it too works well with the Vantec FireWire card in the larger slot.

Bottom line, I now don't trust nor use any of the x1 slots.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is a late reply from p240 to answer your question about the Vantec FireWire x1 card oddly working in x1 slot. Well, it doesn't.
Aha.

While momentarily off-topic, for the past 1 to 2 weeks, I've been working on making the Hackintosh build into a dual boot with Windows 10 (there are a few SACD ripping issues that still seem to be easier on Windows). I've had a heck of time getting things to work in terms of Win 10 stability. I finally tracked it down to the Vantec FireWire being in x1 slot (as well as Win 10 requiring legacy Firewire drivers). Once I moved the Vantec card to a large slot (#2 in my build, still leaving the Broadcom in the large slot #3), Windows 10 worked just fine, and dual booting through Clover is easy (Windows is on it's own drive).
Funny you should mention this. I've been using my Oppo Blu Ray player to rip my collection of SACDs as well, but on a dedicated Windows desktop. I copy the special firmware onto a USB stick, boot the Oppo from it, then use the Windows/Java software to rip SACDs over the network from the Oppo. Works surprising well and surprisingly quickly! Only a few Oppo models have the requisite chipset. So although I have a newer Oppo as well (without the requisite chipset), I'm so glad I didn't sell the old one.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
50
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Ph-Gam ITX
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Aha.

Funny you should mention this. I've been using my Oppo Blu Ray player to rip my collection of SACDs as well, but on a dedicated Windows desktop. I copy the special firmware onto a USB stick, boot the Oppo from it, then use the Windows/Java software to rip SACDs over the network from the Oppo. Works surprising well and surprisingly quickly! Only a few Oppo models have the requisite chipset. So although I have a newer Oppo as well (without the requisite chipset), I'm so glad I didn't sell the old one.
This is EXACTLY what I do to through my older Oppo!

I just wanted to keep all together in one machine. All parts work well on both builds being fairly symmetric. The only difference is on Win 10, I inactivate the Broadcom via Device Manager, while in the Hackintosh, we inactivate the Intel via USB ports.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,902
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just wanted to keep all together in one machine. All parts work well on both builds being fairly symmetric. The only difference is on Win 10, I inactivate the Broadcom via Device Manager, while in the Hackintosh, we inactivate the Intel via USB ports.
I have also installed Windows on a separate NVMe drive in the Hackintosh, but despite disabling the Broadcom WiFi/BT devices in Device Manager, the Intel CNVi WiFi cannot hold a connection to my WiFi network. It will show the SSID, begin the process of connecting, and momentarily show an established connection. The connection will then break. But this copy of Windows is just for testing Thunderbolt behavior, so c'est la vie.
 
Top