Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,783
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm running 10.14.3 (18D109), too.

I have just tried it many times. I should overturn my reply to you.

The device-id is displayed as 923E0000. Because I did not cancel the Inject Intel in Graphics. Once I cancel it, the device-id will become 983E0000. I have to tick it to show what the picture I gave you in the last reply.

In system report, Graphics/Displays still shows AMD RX580 and INTER UHD GRAPHICS 630. I think this should not be a true headless model. It must be where I got it wrong.

Also ask you, I tried to use FCPX to export video, IGPU does not participate in work. Is this normal? IGPU seems to only participate in the decoding of the playback video.
If you are using config.plist > Devices > Properties to inject the device-id and ig-platform-id, you should not need to enable InjectIntel in config.plist > Graphics.

I don't use FCPX, but from what I've read of others' experiences, I think IGPU should be assisting with H.265 exports.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
594
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Casey, thanks so much for making my introduction into the world of hackintosh this smooth...

Thanks to this whole forum on which I've spent countless hours before committing :)

The one and only thing I just can't figure out is my Apollo Twin... The problem i'm having (i think) has nothing to do with the apollo itself, but moreso with the UAD software... I get a "Driver Not Installed Correctly" error when trying to open the UAD Software. What I've found is that after installing the software and a restart you should be able to grant permission in Security & Privacy to the UAD software. That should solve the problem... unfortunately that granting of permission never shows up for me. UAD says reinstalling and rebooting should solve the issue which it doesn't for me.

Did anybody get their UAD software running on Mojave 10.14.3?
Hi there, I am also a UAD user -Apollo 8 Quad TB2. I have to power-on the device a good 10 seconds before powering-up my Z370/Alpine Ridge computer (see build), or the UAD driver won't connect.

Are you using a USB-connected Twin or the Thunderbolt 2 version? Please see this post.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
I9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Hi there, I am also a UAD user -Apollo 8 Quad TB2. I have to power-on the device a good 10 seconds before powering-up my Z370/Alpine Ridge computer (see build), or the UAD driver won't connect.

Are you using a USB-connected Twin or the Thunderbolt 2 version? Please see this post.
I replied wrong. Sorry...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
I9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
If you are using config.plist > Devices > Properties to inject the device-id and ig-platform-id, you should not need to enable InjectIntel in config.plist > Graphics.

I don't use FCPX, but from what I've read of others' experiences, I think IGPU should be assisting with H.265 exports.
I have to slowly study where I made a mistake. I also need to learn more in tonymacx86.

Thank you very much for your patience.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
25
just ordered following parts:

- Gigabyte Z390 Designare
- Gigabyte Radeon RX 580 Gaming 8G
- Fractal Define R6 USB-C - Black (Midi Tower, Insulated)
- G.Skill Ripjaws V (2x, 16GB, DDR4-3200, DIMM 288)
- Intel Core i7-8700 (LGA 1151, 3.20GHz)
- will try the included cooler
- WD Black 3D NAND (500GB, M.2 2280)
- Seasonic Focus Plus Gold (850W)

will share my xp asap
I'm back with a fully operational Hackintosh! (No iCloud, Bluetooth/Airport and not put in case yet)

First, let me say thanks to CaseySJ for his great work. I followed exactly his guide.

Here are some thoughts about this build if anyone wants to use similar parts. Everything I'm not gonna mention particularly is just working as expected so far.

1. Gigabyte Z390 Designare is running on bios version F6
2. The 8-pin connector (ATX_12V_2X4) and the plug coming from the power supply have different pin-shapes, but they fit. Don't get confused (like me…).
3. The included CPU-fan seems to be very noisy, I will replace it with a bequiet or noctua fan (maybe someone has a tip for a quiet part?)
4. WD Black is doing great, I got up to around 2500 MB/s writes and even faster reads
wd_black_speedtest.png

5. The power supply is amazing, it's deadly silent, inexpensive and comes with a 10 year warranty. This is a must-have!

Tomorrow will arrive the case, I will report asap.

Thanks again to this amazing forum and especially all the people making the Hackintosh possible (and I'm not thinking of Tim now…).
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE-F4
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Arg, the dreaded wake-from-sleep that you've been reporting since the beginning...

Have you upgraded the power supply? Are all SATA drives working now after replacing the bad cable? Are the Vega fans under control? If you're a Final Cut user, have you switched to a headless platform ID?

If so, is wake-from-sleep the only remaining issue now?
Yes the dreaded sleep wake problem, everything else checks out and works fine new power supply all drives show everything is fine. fcpx works in headless mode but this computer just decides it doesnt want to wake up at times and sometimes gets stuck in the clover boot menu. i think i need to check my memory as thats all i can think of as i cant even install windows it fails during the installation.

OK I did the memtest and it froze but I got this


I also ran the test again
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
77
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks, really curious if it's in fact PCIe 3.0 X1. According to Marvell 88SE9215 product brief and datasheet, I'm not holding my breath. Everything points to PCIe 2.0 X1 or X2 capability...

Datasheet
Product Brief

Fingers crossed!
Thank you so much for looking it up! I can see now a couple of questions on that right on the product page. Now have to think again what to do with it ...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,177
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've tried to recreate your install to the letter.I have a Z390 M gaming but would expect it to be close to the same. I get stuck at the "final" install. I've also seen some weird bios screen as well....it's attached.

Mobo updated to F5 and everything as you prescribed. 6 days in getting demoralized......
Because you have an Nvidia GTX 770, it is very possible that you will encounter a unique set of problems that are not mentioned in this guide. For example:
  • You may need to disable IGPU in BIOS and set Initial Display Output to the slot in which the GTX resides.
  • You may have to uncheck InjectIntel and InjectNvidia.
  • You may have to install Lilu and WhateverGreen into CLOVER/kexts/Other on your USB install disk.
  • Only then it might be possible to get Mojave installed.
  • In post-installation, you'll have to ensure that Lilu and WhateverGreen are installed in /Library/Extensions.
  • Then test the system for stability.
  • If everything is okay, backup the system.
  • Then attempt to enable the IGPU. BIOS --> IGPU = Enabled. And add the UHD630 settings in "Devices --> Properties" as specified in this part of the guide.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,177
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I seem to be showing something wrong here?
Nothing wrong there. You have a smaller set of child nodes because you're running in Headless Mode. My screenshot is for non-headless mode.
 
Top