Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
950
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This suggests that Pins 1 and 3 might not be jumpered properly. It may also mean that the older Z170 is not compatible with the GC-Alpine Ridge for whatever reason (but this sounds less plausible).

No! That is a false conclusion.

Here's my Z490 Vision D with (a) built-in TB3 on Bus 0 and (b) flashed GC-Titan Ridge on Bus 2. Pins 1 and 3 of GC-Titan Ridge are jumpered because there's no Thunderbolt header. There are 2 ports on Bus 0 and another 2 ports on Bus 2.

There are numerous other user examples in this thread and in other threads on tonymac.
I don't think jumping the pins works on the GC-ALPINE RIDGE like it does for the GC-TITAN RIDGE because pin 3 isn't 3.3V on the GC-ALPINE RIDGE like it is on the GC-TITAN RIDGE.

So you may need to connect it to 3.3V somewhere else.
#1,047

Then even if Force Power is working, the firmware of the add-in card may be hiding the Thunderbolt controller. You can use my pciutils with pcitree.sh to show PCIe devices that are hidden that way.
https://github.com/joevt/pciutils
https://gist.github.com/joevt/e3cd4ff08aae06279134969c98ca3ab7

You can get the USB controller of the GC-ALPINE RIDGE to unhide itself and work by poking in UEFI:
#2,475

It may be that the UEFI of the hackintosh may alter behavior from what I get using my MacPro3,1 which has no Thunderbolt stuff in UEFI.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

Im thinking of switching from the "Kraken X52" to the "Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4" but Im curious if anyone knows if it fits or will it cover the first PCI slot?

Hella thanks
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,156
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@Inqnuam,

Can you please check the HackinDROM implementation for Lenovo? There may be a checksum or DROM-length issue that prevents Port 5 from activating.
Thank you! I found the problem and its affecting all DROMs.
Vendor name and Device name lengths are calculated including previous 0x00 byte, that's why we got an incorrect result.
After the hacking of the server I restored a very old version of the calculator. Ill fixing this as soon as possible!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,328
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't think jumping the pins works on the GC-ALPINE RIDGE like it does for the GC-TITAN RIDGE because pin 3 isn't 3.3V on the GC-ALPINE RIDGE like it is on the GC-TITAN RIDGE.

So you may need to connect it to 3.3V somewhere else.
#1,047
@joevt, Have you seen these posts?

@oreoapple, To double-check, you're using a GC-Alpine Ridge (not Titan Ridge)?
Then even if Force Power is working, the firmware of the add-in card may be hiding the Thunderbolt controller. You can use my pciutils with pcitree.sh to show PCIe devices that are hidden that way.
https://github.com/joevt/pciutils
https://gist.github.com/joevt/e3cd4ff08aae06279134969c98ca3ab7
Correct. But when we flash the firmware, the controller operates in non-ICM mode and unhides itself. Moreover, even if the firmware is not flashed, we can use an SSDT to unhide the controller and enable Thunderbolt Bus. We have a repository of such SSDTs located here.
You can get the USB controller of the GC-ALPINE RIDGE to unhide itself and work by poking in UEFI:
#2,475

It may be that the UEFI of the hackintosh may alter behavior from what I get using my MacPro3,1 which has no Thunderbolt stuff in UEFI.
Yes, I suspect something like this may be happening on the Gigabyte Z170X UD5. If the GC-Alpine Ridge works for @oreoapple on a more recent system (newer UEFI - Z390) then it lends credibility to this argument against the older Z170 UD5.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,328
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

Im thinking of switching from the "Kraken X52" to the "Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4" but Im curious if anyone knows if it fits or will it cover the first PCI slot?

Hella thanks
You have impeccable timing! Please see the post below from about 22 minutes ago. It uses Dark Rock Pro 4 with an AMD RX 5700 XT in Slot 1. No issues. A large photo is included.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,156
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Thank you! I found the problem and its affecting all DROMs.
Vendor name and Device name lengths are calculated including previous 0x00 byte, that's why we got an incorrect result.
After the hacking of the server I restored a very old version of the calculator. Ill fixing this as soon as possible!
I was wrong, only Lenovo is incorrect.
I think I took a wrong SSDT.aml of Lenovo from the forum as base to the calculator. So please send me a working SSDT @AndyC
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,156
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Okay I though HackinDROM generated wrong SSDTs so I checked almost every line of the code, then generated SSDT for my system and tested it, but I got No Thunderbolt Device found in System Report ...
Then, I reset NVRAM and only after that macOS recognised TB and the new SSDT
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,328
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was wrong, only Lenovo is incorrect.
I think I took a wrong SSDT.aml of Lenovo from the forum as base to the calculator. So please send me a working SSDT @AndyC
There is a fully working sample SSDT for Lenovo in the Lenovo Micro-Guide. Please see this:
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
On OpenCore 0.6.0 and Big Sur Beta (Build 20A5343j) and my onboard audio has disappeared after 11 days of working perfectly. Not a big deal, but has anyone else seen/experienced this?
Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 12.02.19 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-08-19 at 12.02.54 PM.png
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Positive: I double check it's Alpine Ridge Rev 2.0.
If I point the card (metal pins) down to the ground, I count from the top of the card. I short pin 3 and 5.
I confirm the card shows up in 'Thunderbolt' section and one findings I have is that if I don't have SSDT, the speed is 20x2, if I have SSDT, speed is 40x1. I confirm black magic mini recorder (a TB2 device) works, hotplug works.

I've read that Thunderbolt display has issues with Alpine ridge. Also USB doesn't work, I can charge my iphone but no data.

@joevt, Have you seen these posts?

@oreoapple, To double-check, you're using a GC-Alpine Ridge (not Titan Ridge)?

Correct. But when we flash the firmware, the controller operates in non-ICM mode and unhides itself. Moreover, even if the firmware is not flashed, we can use an SSDT to unhide the controller and enable Thunderbolt Bus. We have a repository of such SSDTs located here.

Yes, I suspect something like this may be happening on the Gigabyte Z170X UD5. If the GC-Alpine Ridge works for @oreoapple on a more recent system (newer UEFI - Z390) then it lends credibility to this argument against the older Z170 UD5.
 
Top