Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,859
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
<screenshot>
  • Is your MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) unlocked?
  • Are you running BIOS F9g? (Click here to download the file.)
    • If not, try installing BIOS F9g (BIOS Update)
      • CFG-Lock is already unlocked in F9g!
    • Then configure all BIOS parameters starting always with Save & Exit --> Load Optimized Defaults (do not skip this)
  • Also delete the following kexts from CLOVER/kexts/Other:
    • SMCLightSensor.kext
    • SMCBatteryManager.kext
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68-UD3H
CPU
i7
Graphics
HD 6850
  • Is your MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) unlocked?
  • Are you running BIOS F9g? (Click hereto download the file.)
    • If not, try installing BIOS F9g (BIOS Update)
      • CFG-Lock is already unlocked in F9g!
    • Then configure all BIOS parameters starting always with Save & Exit --> Load Optimized Defaults (do not skip this)
  • Also delete the following kexts from CLOVER/kexts/Other:
    • SMCLightSensor.kext
    • SMCBatteryManager.kext

yes, last this worked bios was unlocked.
little nervous running a bios not from gigabyte site
can i just try deleting the kexts? if yes how do i do this if i cant log into the drive?

btw, really appreciate the help. you are definitely a patient person
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
261
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The on-board Thunderbolt on your Gigabyte Z170X UD5 is present, of course, on RP05. But there's no trace of the GC-Alpine Ridge.
  • Was the GC-Alpine Ridge purchased new?
  • Is it running the original Thunderbolt firmware (i.e. it was not flashed)?
  • If you enter BIOS Setup and go to the System Info page, is there a PCIe Deviceoption that lists all devices installed in PCIe slots?
    • If so, does the GC-Alpine Ridge appear in the list?
  • How did you jump Pins 1 and 3? Can you post a photo (remove EXIF GPS Location info from the photo before posting)?

1. Yes it was purchased new.
2. Yes, running original NVM21. Only flashed once with the official firmware.
3. No, there isnt any. (I dont think any Gigabyte bios shows PCI info..)
 

Attachments

  • pins.png
    pins.png
    290.6 KB · Views: 32
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
260
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-11900K
Graphics
GT 710
@zk2004mb @CaseySJ I don't know if you're using the 2019 version of the LG UltraFine but I've had nothing but trouble with mine. I do not have a flashed Thunderbolt controller.

I do not have issues with the USB/Audio most of the time (not that I've ever tested the audio, it's just never been missing for me). Sometimes, on a hard power off/reset, the USB doesn't work but shutting off and starting again (I can tell preboot because my keyboard is plugged inth the USB-C hub so if I don't get any lights and/or can't move around in OpenCanopy I know).

Sometimes the monitor won't come on and I have to unplug the power cord and plug back in. This is generally only if I shut down and cold booted, and doesn't always happen.

More annoyingly, I absolutely cannot boot with iGPU enabled (maybe turning iGPU off will help you). If I boot a 27 inch LG 4K monitor (non-TB, DP) I can boot with iGPU enabled no problem. Oddly, I can force the boot by booting into a different OS and warm rebooting, but when the PC goes to sleep, it will freeze on wake.

None of these issues occur without the UltraFine for me.

I've actually been having a lot of hard freezes, getting worse over time to the point (several per hour now to the point of being unusable) I am going to reinstall. I replaced my Samsung 970 Evo Plus with a Sabrent Rocket 4.0 but I got the freezes even if I boot my Samsung 860 Evo CCC backup (this was before the replacement, time will tell if my recent changes fixed the problem).

I'm actually testing now with no UltraFine 5K or Samsung 970 Evo Plus to see if I get the freezes, and am working off my backup (I have made additional backups in case something goes wrong here), but I started with CaseySJ's OC 0.6.0 and made a few changes to start fresh. I couldn't even boot the Catalina Installer with iGPU on without disconnecting the UltraFine (I have for awhile using iMacPro1,1+iGPU Off reluctantly, because months of trying to resolve this has been a failure.

I hope my freezes+KP are a result of the monitor as that means at least my install isn't ruined. That being said, that also means my UltraFine is a plague to my system that might not have a solution. Hoping I can run off my backup (if stable long enough I will restore to my new Sabrent Rocket 4.0), because I don't want to have to start from scratch on Catalina with Big Sur this close (I was going to clean install that anyway).
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Mater
CPU
Intel 9900k
Graphics
RTX2080
@zk2004mb @CaseySJ I don't know if you're using the 2019 version of the LG UltraFine but I've had nothing but trouble with mine. I do not have a flashed Thunderbolt controller.

I do not have issues with the USB/Audio most of the time (not that I've ever tested the audio, it's just never been missing for me). Sometimes, on a hard power off/reset, the USB doesn't work but shutting off and starting again (I can tell preboot because my keyboard is plugged inth the USB-C hub so if I don't get any lights and/or can't move around in OpenCanopy I know).

Sometimes the monitor won't come on and I have to unplug the power cord and plug back in. This is generally only if I shut down and cold booted, and doesn't always happen.

More annoyingly, I absolutely cannot boot with iGPU enabled (maybe turning iGPU off will help you). If I boot a 27 inch LG 4K monitor (non-TB, DP) I can boot with iGPU enabled no problem. Oddly, I can force the boot by booting into a different OS and warm rebooting, but when the PC goes to sleep, it will freeze on wake.

None of these issues occur without the UltraFine for me.

I've actually been having a lot of hard freezes, getting worse over time to the point (several per hour now to the point of being unusable) I am going to reinstall. I replaced my Samsung 970 Evo Plus with a Sabrent Rocket 4.0 but I got the freezes even if I boot my Samsung 860 Evo CCC backup (this was before the replacement, time will tell if my recent changes fixed the problem).

I'm actually testing now with no UltraFine 5K or Samsung 970 Evo Plus to see if I get the freezes, and am working off my backup (I have made additional backups in case something goes wrong here), but I started with CaseySJ's OC 0.6.0 and made a few changes to start fresh. I couldn't even boot the Catalina Installer with iGPU on without disconnecting the UltraFine (I have for awhile using iMacPro1,1+iGPU Off reluctantly, because months of trying to resolve this has been a failure.

I hope my freezes+KP are a result of the monitor as that means at least my install isn't ruined. That being said, that also means my UltraFine is a plague to my system that might not have a solution. Hoping I can run off my backup (if stable long enough I will restore to my new Sabrent Rocket 4.0), because I don't want to have to start from scratch on Catalina with Big Sur this close (I was going to clean install that anyway).

Since the ultrafine 5K is not your only monitor, I highly recommend you set it aside until you successfully configured your OC 0.6.0 and fully tested it. Essentially the TR card and Ultrafine 5k are just add-on devices. If I were you, I won't touch those two until I'm absolutely sure my OC EFI is solid as a rock.

I don't have any iGPU so my case may not apply to yours. But let me tell you where I am now.

1. For me, before I flashed any customer firmware, I used the v50 firmware out of box, I have display in both windows/macos but no audio/camera/usb. The hotplug is always working, sometimes if the Ultrafine 5k is not lit up, all I need to do is replug it and the display will be turned on.

2. I recommend you do the flashing because the customer ROMs are definitely better than the factory one. Now I'm using "GC-TITAN-RIDGE_rev50_Elias64Fr.bin", you can find it at the bottom of the 2145 page in this thread.

3. With this ROM and drivers from Gigabyte, Ultrafine 5k is fully working in Windows. All you need to do is cold boot into MacOS and then warm reboot into Windows. After that everything works seamlessly.

4. For MacOS, I'm still working on it, right now I can't have display and other devices work in the same time. It's either no display but have audio/camera/usb or just having display. I guess I need to test other firmware but I have no idea if there is any better approach.

5. Maybe disable the iGPU can be a solution. I have no iGPU, but the only thing that I'm missing is the sidecar. Other than that, my EFI is nearly perfect.

Hope it can help

P.S. I never have any freezing issue or KP while using my build. Hibernation is not working but it's a known issue due to the Chipset with or without the Ultrafine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
We're quickly reaching the end of Process of Elimination -- not much more to eliminate. Have you examined the Fenvi card physically for these factors:
  • Modem itself (the small Broadcom module) is properly inserted into the mini-PCI socket on the card?
  • Are you able to gently wiggle the Broadcom module into place?
  • You might find two small wires connecting the Broadcom module to tiny nubs on the main PCIe card. Are these antenna wires properly connected? You may need a magnifying glass.
It turns out that it was actually the card, itself after all!!!

I replaced it with the same exact one and sure enough, I had WiFi and Bluetooth with airdrop and everything. I can’t thank you enough. Do you do venmo or anything?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hello @Lukey1979,

Thanks for producing the channel map for AORUS Xtreme. Regarding the edge lighting:
  • Do you have Windows installed on the machine?
  • If not, do you have VMWare Fusion or Parallels with a Windows VM?
  • If so, Gigabyte's RGB Fusion app for Windows can be used to determine whether or not the upper and lower LEDs along the edge belong to two separate lighting channels. If that is the case, then we may need to install and run Wiresharkfor Windows to capture the USB traffic going to/from this additional channel. This is easy to do -- I can provide a visual screenshot guide.
    • But first let's just determine whether the edge LEDs do in fact belong to two separate lighting channels.
Hello Casey,

I have a Windows VM installed through Parallels. I have also installed Gigabyte RGB Fusion on that however it does not seem to work. I have attached an image of what I get when I open Gigabyte RGB Fusion.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 4.57.21 pm.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-19 at 4.57.21 pm.png
    337.1 KB · Views: 18
Joined
Aug 18, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Mater
CPU
Intel 9900k
Graphics
RTX2080
Do you have a second monitor with HDMI input? Some folks have found it necessary to connect a second monitor over HDMI (HDMI can be connected directly to the same AMD GPU) in order for the LG UltraFine or other Thunderbolt monitor to work more consistently.
Hi Casey, I further tested the modified V23 firmware and the Z390 Aorus Xtreme firmware and the behaviors are all the same as before. Still couldn't get both display and on-board devices working on my Ultrafine 5k under MacOS. Windows has no problems tho.
While I keep testing other firmware, I wonder if there is anything wrong with my SSDT files. Can you please have a look?
If the SSDTs are fine, what would you recommend me to try other than switching different firmware?
Thanks!


Edit:
I have tried 3 different address for the TR card.
(a) _SB_.PCI0.GPP0
(b) _SB_.PCI0.GPP0.DSB0
(c) _SB_.PCI0.GPP0.DSB0.NHI0

(a) is the "best" among three. With (a), after the warm reboot, the USB related devices are working, even though there is no display. After the replug, the display gets back to work but all USB related devices are lost.
With (b) and (c), after the warm reboot, nothing works. The replug won't change anything.

The following screenshots are all taken with (a):
0- The first cold boot into MacOS(Display yes, USB related devices no)
1- The warm reboot into MacOS(Display no, USB related devices yes)
2- Unplug the monitor after reboot
3- Plug the monitor back(Display yes, USB related devices no)


Another interesting fact: The brightness control seems related to the USB2.0 hub. But I can adjust the brightness of Ultrafine 5k by the keyboard whenever the display works, even though all the usb-related stuff are offline.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-DTPG.aml
    100 bytes · Views: 10
  • SSDT-TBOLT3.aml
    1.4 KB · Views: 12
  • pictures.zip
    1.3 MB · Views: 13
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone has managed to find a fix to the "No Volume Control" when outputting audio via HDMI or in my case DisplayPort via my Radeon RX 5700XT. I run audio through my LG Screen however I cannot control the volume.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
261
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone has managed to find a fix to the "No Volume Control" when outputting audio via HDMI or in my case DisplayPort via my Radeon RX 5700XT. I run audio through my LG Screen however I cannot control the volume.

Hi,

I have the same issue and have looked everywhere but dont seem to find a solution for that.. its treated like Digital OUT and seems to bypass the internal DAC.
 
Top