Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
296
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Maybe I am missing something, but I don't understand this issue about 2 DP 1.2 connections. The LG UltraFine 5K has only one Thunderbolt port, which is used for video and audio input, and for sending FaceTime camera stream back to the Mac. If the Mac is a laptop, that cable can charge the laptop as well.

So it is impossible to connect 2 DP cables.

However, the reason why Designare Z390 cannot drive two LG UltraFine 5K monitors is because it has only one DP 1.4 input, as you already pointed out.

But there are other 5K monitors on the market that have DP 1.4 connectors instead of Thunderbolt (some have both). Because AMD RX580 and Vega have 2 DP 1.4 connectors, you should be able to drive two 5K monitors using two DP 1.4 cables.

Some additional information from Apple regarding the LG UltraFine:
Oh wait! is there new 5k displays on the market? Last time I checked there was one from Dell (ugly as hell) then got out of the market hehe
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
I9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
This is a very good tutorial. Thanks for sharing such a good tutorial. I followed the steps to toss for a few days, and the system was basically perfect.

However, I have encountered a problem, please see the screenshot, I think the RX580 has been driven successfully. But it seems that the UHD 630 cannot be driven. I played 8K video UHD 630 is not working, the playback process is very stuck (previously tried not stuck). Opening Final Cut Pro is very smooth, but the UHD 630 still doesn't work. I can't detect the presence of UHD 630 with Geekbench.

My cpu is 9900K and the motherboard is Gigabyte Designare Z390. I strictly followed the steps of "For Final Cut Pro X (FCPX) and iMovie Users". What is the problem? Can you help me see what is wrong with my EFI file? thank!

394236


View attachment 394234
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
12,432
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is a very good tutorial. Thanks for sharing such a good tutorial. I followed the steps to toss for a few days, and the system was basically perfect.

However, I have encountered a problem, please see the screenshot, I think the RX580 has been driven successfully. But it seems that the UHD 630 cannot be driven. I played 8K video UHD 630 is not working, the playback process is very stuck (previously tried not stuck). Opening Final Cut Pro is very smooth, but the UHD 630 still doesn't work. I can't detect the presence of UHD 630 with Geekbench.

My cpu is 9900K and the motherboard is Gigabyte Designare Z390. I strictly followed the steps of "For Final Cut Pro X (FCPX) and iMovie Users". What is the problem? Can you help me see what is wrong with my EFI file? thank!

View attachment 394236

View attachment 394234
Please try this config.plist.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've spent the last week reading this entire post. It's been like a good book and can't put it down!!
Ha! :) I did much the same with portions of @kgp's iMacPro thread that has ballooned to over 1200 pages. I was in desperate search for Thunderbolt answers, and found a lively discussion on hot-plug SSDT development buried there.

I've been struggling with what I'll call the "phantom display" as also mentioned in post #810. For some reason I'm showing to have two identical LG UltraFine displays. Not a big deal other than my dock sometimes moving to this phantom display.

LG UltraFine 5k is connected to the Thunderbolt port and the RX580 DisplayPort out is obviously going to the motherboards DisplayPort in.

Any recommendations???
What is the make and model of the RX 580?

While I haven't encountered this specific problem, some general tips might be as follows:
  • Ensure that you're not using CLOVER to inject graphics properties. This means all of the following must be turned off or left blank:
    • Devices: IntelGFX (leave it as 0x0)
    • Graphics: Everything turned off or left blank
  • Use latest Lilu and WhateverGreen. Install all third-party kexts to /Library/Extensions per jaymonkey's guide. In particular, see Step 7. In your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, keep only the following:
    • FakeSMC.kext
    • Lilu.kext
    • WhateverGreen.kext
  • In System Parameters section of Clover Configurator, set "Inject Kexts" to Detect.
  • If you do not plan to use the on-board UHD 630 to drive a display monitor, try switching to the headless Platform ID such as 0x3E920003 or 0x3E910003. In this case you may delete all the FrameBuffer connector patches, if any.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
A few things are still not working for me though.
- the HDMI port on the motherboard. (I applied the FrameBuffer patches. and it shows in system report.)
- Thunderbolt-to-DisplayPort adapter. (Active TB adapter from club3d; I need that 4K 60p.) It says something like "Display Alt ..., 12mbps speed" in system report. (I think this means it has detected as an USB device and not a TB device.)
- Sleep and wake seems to be working, but chrome and all electron based apps refuse to open. They hang if I try to start them after sleeping. Apps that are active keep working, but closing them and opening them again won't work. Also logging out does not work. (The rolling ball keeps rolling to infinity.)

This seems to vindicate my warning against simply moving an existing Mojave installation from Hackintosh A to Hackintosh B! There are a lot of successful build stories scattered throughout this thread and nearly all of them are fresh installations.

That being said, let's see if we can help you recover. Please post the following:
  • Compressed (zipped) CLOVER folder from EFI partition of the Mojave SSD. You may mask out/remove serial numbers from SMBIOS section of config.plist.
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As... Upload the saved file.
  • A screenshot of your /Library/Extensions folder.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Oh wait! is there new 5k displays on the market? Last time I checked there was one from Dell (ugly as hell) then got out of the market hehe
At least one person in this thread has posted a good review of the Planar IX2790 that has a DisplayPort 1.4 input and can therefore be driven directly from the Vega or RX 580 over a DP 1.4 cable. If you buy two of these monitors, use two DP 1.4 cables -- connected to each of the two DP 1.4 ports on a single Vega or RX 580. Despite the low rating on Amazon, @tdcam posted pretty good feedback here:
Currently about $773 on Amazon.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is a very good tutorial. Thanks for sharing such a good tutorial. I followed the steps to toss for a few days, and the system was basically perfect.

However, I have encountered a problem, please see the screenshot, I think the RX580 has been driven successfully. But it seems that the UHD 630 cannot be driven. I played 8K video UHD 630 is not working, the playback process is very stuck (previously tried not stuck). Opening Final Cut Pro is very smooth, but the UHD 630 still doesn't work. I can't detect the presence of UHD 630 with Geekbench.

My cpu is 9900K and the motherboard is Gigabyte Designare Z390. I strictly followed the steps of "For Final Cut Pro X (FCPX) and iMovie Users". What is the problem? Can you help me see what is wrong with my EFI file? thank!

View attachment 394234
Please try this config.plist.
@ZHENGQINLONG

Please try the config.plist provided by PastryChef above. You may also try the version attached here, which adds a few additional fixes. Your ACPI settings were slightly incorrect. And because you have the USB SSDT installed, I've disabled the USB port limit patch.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
This seems to vindicate my warning against simply moving an existing Mojave installation from Hackintosh A to Hackintosh B! There are a lot of successful build stories scattered throughout this thread and nearly all of them are fresh installations.

That being said, let's see if we can help you recover. Please post the following:
  • Compressed (zipped) CLOVER folder from EFI partition of the Mojave SSD. You may mask out/remove serial numbers from SMBIOS section of config.plist.
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As... Upload the saved file.
  • A screenshot of your /Library/Extensions folder.
Yeah, my bad. HeHe. Just is so much work to set it all up again, I feel.
Thx for wanting to take a look at it.

BTW, I see you are into 5K monitors, there are 5K monitors like mine for fairly good prices on eBay usually.
(Dell UP2715K although the 2x DisplayPort cable is a bummer)

This monitor also works with a single DP 1.4 cable, iiyama prolite xub2792qsu-b1.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
6,601
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah my bad hehe. Just is so much work to set it all up again i feel.
Thx for wanting to take a look at it.

Btw i see you are into 5k monitors, there are 5k monitors like mine for fairly good prices on ebay usually.
(Dell up2715k although the 2x displayport cable is a bummer)

This monitor also works with a single dp 1.4 cable, iiyama prolite xub2792qsu-b1.
Several questions / comments:
  • Are you running High Sierra? If so, is it 10.13.6?
  • You have the USB SSDT and USBInjectAll.kext, but your IORegistry shows only the first 15 ports. This indicates that the USB SSDT has not been activated. Please run Hackintool, select the Installed tab, scroll until you see USBInjectAll and post a screenshot.
    Screen Shot 2019-03-20 at 7.30.47 PM.png
  • Your Bluetooth firmware is 20703. Is the WiFi/BT card plugged into a x1 slot or into one of the 3 long slots?
    Screen Shot 2019-03-20 at 7.22.21 PM.png
  • The attached config.plist assumes you have High Sierra. It sets ig-platform-id to 0x59120000 and graphics device-id to 0x5912. Because I am not too familiar with High Sierra, these settings may or may not enable your UHD630 and HDMI ports. You may test it out (be sure to put serial number back into the SMBIOS section).
  • Your /Library/Extensions folder has a number of kexts that I'm not familiar with:
    • realtekALC.kext (you don't need this because you have AppleALC.kext)
    • tap.kext ??
    • tun.kext ??
    • TrimEnabler.kext (you don't need this because you've already added the Trim Enabler kext patch in Clover)
    • YamDisplayDriver.kext ??
  • Please note that whenever we add or delete files from the /Library/Extensions folder, we have to rebuild the kernel cache. This can be done easily by running Kext Utility. See Step 7 in JayMonkey's guide.
 

Attachments

Top