Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
247
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
To everyone using the plug and play 802.11ac Fenvi card for WiFI and Bluetooth who has been experiencing slow downs, disconnects, etc. with Apple Magic Mouse 2 and the like, I have a suggestion in addition to the previous suggestion to disable the 2.4Ghz Wifi network on your router. Disabling the 2.4 Ghz network helped but didn't solve the problem I was having. What has solved the issue for me is that I uninstalled the Fenvi card and reinstalled it into the PCI slot right next to the Graphics card in PCIe slot 1 instead of in the slot that was next to my quad Sata card at the far other end of the board. Since I've moved the card, I have almost 100% less drop outs and mouse freezes these last few days since. In fact, I am using the antennae that came with the card rather than the extra separate one that I got to try to fix my issue and it's been working extremely well. So you may have to move your card to an alternate position for the issues to dissipate.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2020
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
9700k
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
I would recommend OpenCore now for new Mojave installations. It's perfectly okay if Clover was used to build the USB install disk. But for post-installation we can do the following:
  • If you haven't used MultiBeast so far for post-installation, we can instead switch to OpenCore 0.6.0.
    • This requires unlocking MSR 0xE2, which is easy to do now with the new OpenCore 0.6.0 package.
    • Because this is a new installation, no serial numbers have yet been assigned. And you have not yet signed into iCloud.
    • So we can follow the OpenCore 0.6.0 Official guide posted earlier this morning, but instead of copying and pasting serial numbers from an existing installation, we can use OpenCore Configurator itself to generate new numbers:
    • View attachment 482810View attachment 482811
    • If you'd like to try OpenCore and have any questions, feel free to ask.
I am circling back to this. I didn't have time until now to work on it. I have my mac running and it seems to be running smoothly with the Updated Mojave guide you pointed me to a week ago. I know you probably don't remember, and that's ok. I did, however, complete my post-installation with Clover Configurator since that is what I am familiar with and I needed to get up and running so I could get to work.

My questions are:
  • Can I still follow these instructions and copy and paste the number from the clover configurator into Open Core Configurator?
  • Would that be the way to do it?
  • Will that get NVRAM working for me?
  • Is that something I should do?
Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
751
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
My questions are:
  • Can I still follow these instructions and copy and paste the number from the clover configurator into Open Core Configurator?
  • Would that be the way to do it?
  • Will that get NVRAM working for me?
  • Is that something I should do?
Thanks in advance.
Personally, I'm using the BIOS version F9h, OC 0.6.0 from the "OC-0.6.0-DESIGNARE-Z390" posted earlier by @CaseySJ. But I'm configuring the config with PlistEdit Pro using the Dortania guide for my setup. I now have dual boot (Windows 10 + Mojave) on 2 SSD's. I had to remove a lot of "Clover junk" to make it work.

Full SIP.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
350
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
To everyone using the plug and play 802.11ac Fenvi card for WiFI and Bluetooth who has been experiencing slow downs, disconnects, etc. with Apple Magic Mouse 2 and the like, I have a suggestion in addition to the previous suggestion to disable the 2.4Ghz Wifi network on your router. Disabling the 2.4 Ghz network helped but didn't solve the problem I was having. What has solved the issue for me is that I uninstalled the Fenvi card and reinstalled it into the PCI slot right next to the Graphics card in PCIe slot 1 instead of in the slot that was next to my quad Sata card at the far other end of the board. Since I've moved the card, I have almost 100% less drop outs and mouse freezes these last few days since. In fact, I am using the antennae that came with the card rather than the extra separate one that I got to try to fix my issue and it's been working extremely well. So you may have to move your card to an alternate position for the issues to dissipate.
Thank you very much for the info!
Your Fenvi is installed on the board with 5700 XT or with the RX 570?
What I want to know is if there's enough place for the Fenvi with 5700 XT installed on the board

EDIT: Just opened the case

IMG_1004.JPG


Can I install it there?


EDIT2:
WOOOOW ITS WORKING!!!!
IMG_1006.JPG

Fenvi installed on PCIeX4
No freezes anymore!!!
I can listen music with my AirPods Pro 15 meters away the Hackintosh!!
Fenvi on PCIeX1_2 3 meters was the limit and with freezes!!


In my house I have maybe more than 50 Bluetooth accessories and no interferences! 2.4 Ghz is on
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
350
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
a quick question:
AMD Freesync on Display should be activated or not with the Hackintosh? does the Hackin supports that?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am circling back to this. I didn't have time until now to work on it. I have my mac running and it seems to be running smoothly with the Updated Mojave guide you pointed me to a week ago. I know you probably don't remember, and that's ok. I did, however, complete my post-installation with Clover Configurator since that is what I am familiar with and I needed to get up and running so I could get to work.

My questions are:
  • Can I still follow these instructions and copy and paste the number from the clover configurator into Open Core Configurator?
  • Would that be the way to do it?
  • Will that get NVRAM working for me?
  • Is that something I should do?
Thanks in advance.
To answer your questions:
  1. Yes you can still copy/paste serial numbers and System UUID from Clover (or from Hackintool) into OpenCore.Screen Shot 2020-08-10 at 6.36.46 AM.png
  2. If you use the EFI ZIP provided in the OpenCore 0.6.0 Mini-Guide and unlock MSR 0xE2 (easy method described in the bottom of the same mini-guide), then native NVRAM will work.
  3. Enabling native NVRAM is highly recommended. But it may be necessary to Reset NVRAM (from the OpenCore Picker menu) when changing Boot Arguments.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
a quick question:
AMD Freesync on Display should be activated or not with the Hackintosh? does the Hackin supports that?
Unfortunatley, FreeSync is not supported in macOS.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK
CPU
Intel Core i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Embedded graphics
Your configuration screenshots look good, but some questions and comments:
  • You're using an Akitio Node Lite that provides external PCIe slots and a DisplayPort connector.
  • What device(s) are installed inside the Node Lite?
  • Is the Thunderbolt header cable connected?
  • Have you tried warm-booting the system with devices pre-connected?
Problem is solved. This particular board is working fine under NVM26. My mistake was in the typo opencore aml path that I previously missed. Thank you!
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Vega 64 Nitro+
Mac
iMac
I hate to say this, but perhaps it’s time to consider a fresh install? I would start right away with OpenCore 0.6.0. That mini guide has instructions for Mojave. Just create the OC 0.6.0 EFI folder, copy it to the EFI partition of the Mojave installation flash disk, and run a new install. Be sure to unlock MSR 0xE2 first. Instructions are at the bottom of the OC 0.6.0 mini guide.
I actually fixed the problem, but I'm still interested in OpenCore for stability reasons if I'm able to run Mojave. Can you link the guide? Cheers
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I actually fixed the problem, but I'm still interested in OpenCore for stability reasons if I'm able to run Mojave. Can you link the guide? Cheers
Sure, please click the indicated link from the Quick Reference spoiler in Post 1:
Screen Shot 2020-08-10 at 10.16.21 AM.png
 
Top